We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“filling buffet breakfast” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Boracay Regency Restaurant

Boracay Regency Restaurant
White Beach Manggayad, Philippines
Improve this listing
Ranked #20 of 209 Restaurants in Boracay
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Manila, Philippines
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“filling buffet breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

we had buffet breakfast here for 2 days straight as its included in our hotel package. the menu was varied and had a lot to choose from. place is kept clean and in order. during breakfast, they'd ask if you want to dine inside or near the buffet table, i suggest to dine inside as its less chaotic and a lot more quiet than near the buffet spread.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    19
    6
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Food was cold.. probably been sitting out the back.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012 via mobile

Only thing I liked was the atmosphere, looked great from the outside. Menu was inviting. And with a name like Regency, you'd expect to get decent food.

Then we sat down, chairs were hard as but didn't mind that. We ordered the chicken soup and the grilled sampler.

The grilled sampler came out pretty quick and then I realised why.. I expected a tray of sizzling meat/seafood.. what I was served was a plate of cold food, probably just sitting out the back waiting for someone to order it. We didn't eat most of it - probably 20% of what came out. The meat from the chicken soup was low grade scraps, can't believe they actually serve this stuff.

We asked for the mains to be taken away then ordered desserts, hoping this would redeem something. Ordered the turon (fried banana spring roll) and ice cream with coconut. They came out separately, the ice cream was long gone by the time the turon arrived. The turon was a huge disappointment, it was overcooked and drenched in syrup... we decided not to eat it.

With so many waiters, you'd expect them to be attentive. My glass was empty for a good 10 minutes before someone even came and asked if we needed more drinks.

I also noticed the food being served to other customers, they came out quick and cold - no signs of that steam visible with fresh cooking.

Big names doesn't always mean good food as is the case with this place. We were even asked to fill out a survey before the bill came (probably wondering why we didn't eat most of the food). No discount was offered, not that I was looking for one. I just expect to get what I paid for. Definitely not recommending this restaurant.

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cebu Island, Philippines
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
“Enjoyed Their Buffet”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012 via mobile

Ate here a couple of times with my wife, she enjoyed the food. I felt it was a bit pricey but the quality was good. A decent selection to choose from. Wasn't as hot as I would have liked but it was buffet after all. The service was typically Philippino, not here not there. The staff were well presented and pleasant.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quezon City, Philippines
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“buffet”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

buffet dinner had a lot of choices, their roast beef was spectacular and the morrocan beef tangine was utterly amazing

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Breakfast Buffet”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

Greatly improved over a year ago! Service good and plenty of variety. I paid to eat here each day as my hotel's included breakfast was real bad.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Boracay Regency Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Boracay Regency Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Boracay Regency Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.