We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pathetic mouldy hotel with ACTUAL HIDDEN charges!!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Vista Boracay Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added Grand Vista Boracay Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Vista Boracay Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Hagdan Yapak, Station 1 | Boracay Island, Malay Aklan, Philippines   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #98 of 131 hotels in Boracay
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Pathetic mouldy hotel with ACTUAL HIDDEN charges!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

My family and I stayed at this hotel for 5 nights and will never stay there again.

1. I was charged $507 despite was only quoted $447 due to the high conversion rates to PHP - WHICH WAS NEVER MENTIONED ANYWHERE where I booked. Not at all a good business practice.
2. Only two menus were only available for the rest of the restaurant asI was told the rest of the menus were distributed into the rooms. The beef caldereta (filipino dish) were very hard and the chicken was still bleeding.
3. The bathroom curtains were mouldy and the bed sheets (upon closer inspections) were also mouldy.
4. To be fair the staff were friendly, but a lot for to be desire for when it comes to training.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    11
    9
    5
    7
    9
See reviews for
4
29
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Manila, Philippines
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

The location is far from the whitebeach although they have shuttle which can bring you back and forth with their every hour shuttle service. The hotel itself has a grand facade, with the white paint, it's lovely to look at. Inside the hotel room, it has big and spacious floor area, with elegant furnitures and fixtures, although the bed, it's really 2 beds combined to make it appear as a one big bed. The balcony is very nice with great view of the beach. And it has it's own private pool, but the main problem is the water is so cold. If it's summer and the weather is very hot, it can be tolerable to take a dip. But for people who can't tolerate cold water, this may not be for you, and you can't appreciate it, maybe just for taking pictures and showing off . But over all, i enjoyed my stay here. It's kinda romantic, especially their main pool. It is huge and nice. Their restaurant, very expensive. We stayed in the white beach for 2 days enjoying the water there and activities before staying here on our last night. Just make the most out of white beach before you decide to stay here so as to enjoy their amenities and location.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2011

The hotel rooms are huge! No complaints there. There's even a jacuzzi in the balcony which was cool. The bathroom was a little odd for a resort of this caliber but still ok. It is far from the beach so expect to ride the shuttle service a lot - which is every hour anyway so not really bad. Don't eat at the hotel! The breakfast buffet is more expensive here than in any of the 4-5 star hotels in station 1. And it's not nearly as good. It's a rip off.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
the hague, holland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2011

Pool on the balcony, say no more....

Amazing views from this beautiful hotel. Amazing spacious suites light and airy with all the services you expect on a luxury holiday.

Hotel shuttle goes every hour to D'Mall. Avoid the touristy areas in Station 3 and walk up to Station 1 for beautiful white sands clear water and tourist free area with gorgeous lounge clubs with amazing prices!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marikina, Philippines
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2011

We got a 3-day/2-night stay in a honeymoon suite for like a third of the original price. (How we did it is top-secret. LOL) Though the receptionist knew it, I never felt she/they put us in the back burner even for a group of Korean guests.

The suite we got was spacious and clean; the bed was comfy and soft; and the view from the balcony was exquisite. The private pool, however, was only half full, and although a wall separated it from the adjacent room's, it shared the same water, so we never dared to take a dip (you know what couples do in private pools, right?). The building has a decent architectural design; trying to don a Roman and Greek look with a neoclassical facade. Now probably their best amenity is the main pool. It was long enough for my partner to do his lapses and well-situated enough to get my tan while enjoying the pristine view of what Boracay is best known for as backdrop. The staff was rather friendly, especially the service van driver who went out of his way to drive us to the wharf when we were leaving. (Grand Vista doesn't provide transfer service from and to the jetty port, by the way.)

Many told us we should have gone to a beachfront hotel instead since it was our first time in the island, but I never felt I missed the fun of Boracay because we were hilltop. We had more, actually. We've got the best view of the island from the top, the relaxing silence of a tropical paradise at night, and the bucolic feel of being in a Philippine province.

I'm definitely coming back.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2011

Grand Vista doesn't live up to any expectations. The Breakfast is exceptionally poor and consists of last night left overs. The hotel is located on a hill well away from the night life which can be good if you are looking for lot of peace & quite.

The transfer to the hotel by South West was appaling and dangerous. The boat was overloaded and taking on water during the trip.

The bedrooms appear clean, but the sheets are not changed for your duration and a friend next door suffered leaking air-con and bed mite bites.

The hotel on Expedia advertise a gym, which it doesnt have, an indoor pool, which it also doesn't have.

Overall very poor room service and food. Breakfast is a joke, dinner is not much better.

The beds themselves have the mattress removed and you are sleeping on the frame which has a slim foam covering. Uncomfortable and back breaking after a while.

The shower & toilet are in the same room, the problem is that there is no separation between the two, thus the toilet gets wet. This can be very dangerous as the floor is slippery when you want to use the toilet in the night or morning. The rest of the bathroom facilities are in the main room.

The Hotel is owned by Koreans and run by a local manager. The manager has a very relaxed view, hence is very poorly run. But the staff are friendly and try to accomodate you if they can.

One other important fact is that Boracay white beach has sections booked out for hotel patrons. As Grand Vista is not on the beach, there is no area set aside and thus your stay will be difficult due to this lack of allocation.

Boracay is not that cheap for shopping. Best to get quality goods from home.

Philipines airlines has a 15 kg limit and they will not put the baggage on the plane if you transfered from an international flight and your are over. It is highly possible that you will arrive at your destination minus you baggage still stuck in Makati.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2011

Stayed here last December.
Yes it is far from the beach, but they have a shuttle bus every hour, from D'mall to the hotel (vice-versa).
Lots of Koreans here, when we stayed, we're the only Filipino.
Buffet breakfast is not that great, majority of the dishes are for Koreans only.

...but in regards with their rooms, the best...

Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Vista Boracay Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Vista Boracay Resort & Spa

Address: Hagdan Yapak, Station 1 | Boracay Island, Malay Aklan, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Boracay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#19 Spa Hotel in Boracay
#22 Luxury Hotel in Boracay
#39 Top resorts Hotel in Boracay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Vista Boracay Resort & Spa 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, HotelTravel.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia and Venere so you can book your Grand Vista Boracay Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Vista Boracay Hotel Boracay
Grand Vista Boracay Resort And Spa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Vista Boracay Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.