We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“that was okay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lingganay Hotel Resort

Save Saved
You added Lingganay Hotel Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Lingganay Hotel Resort
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Tulubhan Beach, 5608, Philippines   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 131 hotels in Boracay
St. Petersburg, Russia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“that was okay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

A kinda quiet place to relax. Huge rooms and fine cleaning service. Nice infinity pool with ocean water. That was a perfect place to relax while it wasnt complitely full.
Transfers to the White Beach dont work properly for way back (it was always a trouble)
A restourant in the Hotel is awfull , but each room contains normal kitchen to cook a breakfast. And there a million of good restoraunts near White Beach.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    55
    22
    2
    2
    9
See reviews for
19
35
7
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dusseldorf, Germany
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

stayed for 10 days, basically it is not an hotel but they have many apartments all located on an hill, make sure you're fit to stay there.
Staff is extremely helpful and friendly.
reserve an apartment with sea view if you want the best.
this is not a complain, when I stayed there the only guest were from Russia and Cina, few permanent resident are from USA, retired soldier and Germany.
Quite good shuttle service.
a Place to stay if you want to avoid station 2, a real nightmare if you're looking for a peaceful vacation

Room Tip: reserve sea view villa, the view is perfect!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
320 helpful votes 320 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

A crenellated castle in Anglo-Teutonic style (Anglo: The sword Excalibur sticking out of a rock; Teutonic: Gothic stained glass windows) this is the last thing you would expect in the Philippines. But here it is: The public areas of the Lingganay Resort - even with a swim-in gothic chapel. Eurodisney has arrived on these shores!

The vast gardens of the resort are meticulously maintained. There are two large pools, one supposedly for the exclusive use of adults (ignored by some of the guests - and not enforced by the management...).

The appartments are very spacious and, obviously, the whole construction of the resort was not done on a budget - there is local marble wherever you look.

Unfortunately, this is where it ends.

The appartment I stayed in bore no resemblance to the official pictures posted on tripadvisor (p.ex. there where no paintings on the wall, no table lamps in the lounge, no curtains, etc.).

Pitty, that the bedlinen is synthetic and the pool towels (available at reception) are completely inadequate, both in size and quality.

Being fully aware that my stay is only a few months after the typhoon, I would have preferred the management to cancel my reservation as my appartment was cleary unfit for occupancy and rent: Widespread fungus and mould on the whole bathroom ceiling; lamps not working to the extent that unsecured electricity wires were sticking out of the wall, etc.

Unfortunately, just to vigorously spray heavy scents in such an environement, does not do the job. Mould is a severe health hazard. When the stench from the mould got too terrible (and also too dangerous to my respiratory system) I repeatedly asked to get moved to another unit. The request was not granted by the resort...

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
394 helpful votes 394 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014 via mobile

Lingganay is a very nice 3 star (own rating) resort, situated on the hill with views to both sides. The premises and gardens are quite beautifully kept. Not quite to my taste is the "Disco lighting" in the gardens and pool areas at night. It would all be so much classier with simple warm-white lighting.The appartments are large and roomy, with a huge balcony with views of the distant sea. Unfortunately, that's where it ends. The furnishings are colourless and boring with nothing to brighten it up, the terrace is devoid of plants or anything to ad a bit of life to the very expensive marble furniture. The bedding is synthetic and with paterns you would expect anywhere but in a resort of this magnitude. The towels are worn and the size of a postage stamp. The appartment had loads of electric plugs, but no light above the mirror in either bedroom or bathroom. There are no hairdriers. You can ask for one at reception, but we were to late, they seem to be very limited. These, unfortunately is what, to my mind, MAKES a resort. I realise that after the typhoon the resort. Has a lot to cope with, but a typhoon doesn't ruin towels and bedding.

Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

My wife and I were looking for a unique get away and decided on Boracay. I emailed Kobe and he said that our reservation was good using the "honor system" and that it would be ready when we got there. When we arrived he upgraded us to a great room and we loved it! Room was huge and had an amazing lanai overlooking the pool and ocean. Room was clean and more than we cold hope for. We had a personal driver who was on call 24 hours a day which took us wherever we wanted to go. It was the windy season so the tourist side of the island was pretty windy so our own private beach was just what we needed. Private beach is small and secluded and just right! Water is warm and clean. Kobe was pretty good to us b/c we didn't know that he didn't take credit cards and we didn't have cash :(. Our whole stay was to be paid with credit card so when we told him we didn't have access to cash we were really worried. He just told us that when we get back to the USA to just wire it to him and that would be ok....unbelievable trust he had in us. Suffice to say when we arrived home we promptly paid him and thanked him for a wonderful stay. We want to go back so bad! Enjoy this cool slice of paradise. Review date for Oct 2009.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, NL
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

If you like quiet place, far from noisy tourist districts and loud nightlife you should enjoy this resort.
Rooms are big, clean and comfortable with air condition. Towels were changed daily. Bottles of water, soap and shampoo were provided every day.
There are 2 swimming pools (both with salty water), one of them with beautiful view at the sea. There is no bar next to this pool and for some people this can be disadvantage. Hotel beach is small but only for hotel guests, so no one will bother you asking every few minutes if you want tour, sunglasses or other "crap" for tourist (which is the case at the White Beach).
There is a shuttle between the hotel and the tourist area (d-mall). It goes 24/7 and it's free. But if you'd like give a tip to the driver - it's welcome.
Staff is nice and helpful. They speak English, but some of them not so good. In the restaurant they repeat your order to make sure they got it right. Choice of the food is good, so everyone should be able to find something to eat. But nothing is perfect. For me the weakest point was breakfast: there are c.a. 10 choices for adults and 2 option for kinds. The most of them is egg+something. It's not bad, but just boring after a few days.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

Nice room very peaceful and relaxing... Pretty nice pool and wonderful view!!! Very good for photography... Reliable shuttle service for 24 hours... Average service and staff... Average food... Pretty cool place to stay overall..

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Lingganay Hotel Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lingganay Hotel Resort

Address: Tulubhan Beach, 5608, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Boracay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 131 hotels in Boracay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lingganay Hotel Resort 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the Paradise. Lingganay Boracay Hotel Resort offers you privacy and luxurious comfort infinity pool, private beach, all suites have kitchens, terraces, view of the sea, classic elegance, highest quality furniture. German Management ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Lingganay Hotel Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lingganay Hotel Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.