We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view but that's about it” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Lingganay Hotel Resort

Save Saved
You added Lingganay Hotel Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Lingganay Hotel Resort
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Tulubhan Beach, 5608, Philippines   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 131 hotels in Boracay
Reading, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Great view but that's about it”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights in May. But first of all let me tell you that it took us almost 4 hours to get to Boracay since our flight was through Kalibo so we took plane(1hr.), bus(2hrs.), ferry(1/2 hr.), and van(15 minutes) all booked with recommended South West Tours.When we first arrived I noticed this hotel was on top of a steep hill and at the front desk they were kind enough to give us welcome drinks but it took like 15-20 minutes to bring them out! All we ordered was beer.
Anyway they then loaded all our luggages in a another van and climbed a steeper hill to the very top. We then had to walk down a path then down one very steep(and dangerous especially when wet, not for the elderly or young children or people who are out if shape) flight of steps to get to room 204.
The room was very clean with a living room, 2 bath a kitchen, master bed room with king size bed and another bed room with a queen size bed. There are 2 sliding doors that opens up to a huge porch with spectacular view of the ocean.Very nice place to relax out here.
Then there are things I didn't like about the hotel and things they can improve on. One we have this huge king size bed but only 2 pillows? Why? We call the front desk couple times and they said they would bring them but never did! We called them again then they said they don't have anymore. Really? Oh, and the aircon in the master bed room broke down, it took them over an hour to fix it. I also didn't care for all marble flooring because of slip hazard especially when you coming out of the shower. And I wish they would put curtains on the sliding doors that take you in the porch. Someone with good pair of binoculars from a passing boat can see you naked especially at night. The staff are young and most seems to lack experience. Also what annoying was very weak WiFi signal.The pool at the bottom of the cliff is nice but way too hot from sun baking in it all day. The free ride to the D'Mall (White Beach) was always an adventure, driver speeds up and down the winding road full with people and animals.
This hotel needs improvments before I can give a better rating.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    55
    22
    2
    2
    9
See reviews for
19
35
7
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Istanbul, Turkey
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

The resort is very far from the center - the other side of the island. The room decoraton is kitch and the bed linen& towels were not very clean - their color were off already, turned to grey. We couldn't get extra towels or nothing finished was replaced like water and shampoo. The average age of employees was probably 15 and they didn't know what they were doing. We had to ask 5 times before we got a coffee. The brakfast was very poor - 2 options. The photos look amazing, rooms are spacious but else than that, nothing really. and we were fooled with some of the comments by others. I definitey do not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LBHR, Manager at Lingganay Hotel Resort, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
zitat:The resort is very far from the center - the other side of the island.

There is no place to be far in Boracay and before you make a booking you know already the Location of Lingganay and we have free shuttle service 24 hours provided so everything is very convenient.

zitat: We couldn't get extra towels

Extra towels is always provided, why you don't ask to the reception or to our housekeeping so that they can give you extra towels.

zitat: The average age of employees was probably 15 and

sorry maybe there is a Problem with you. All our employees here is not under age we hire older than 19 years old and above.

zitat: The photos look amazing, rooms are spacious but else than that, nothing really.

It is much better to you to make an actual photos so that everyone can see
that you are writing and commenting unreal story.

what is the truth that you make like this comment and not only one time, your friend was also blackmail Lingganay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

I dont know how this hotel got so many positive reviews. This is not a hotel. It is a few apart rooms run by bunch of kids. I definitely don't recommend this facility. Location of the hotel is also very far from the center relative to this island, where being near the center is quite important, since there is a serious transportation problem in the island.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LBHR, General Manager at Lingganay Hotel Resort, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
I dont know how this hotel got so many positive reviews.

what you want to say ????

Location of the hotel is also very far from the center relative to this island, where being near the center is quite important, yes and Noise

we are relax in Lingganay

why poor Management ???
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

This is a nice development with great views and two nice pools. The location is far from white beach, which won't suit everyone, but it's quiet. The rooms are very large, but the old rooms are not as good asthe new rooms.

The problem wits this hotel is the manager and his wife. They ruin the relaxing atmosphere by being so negative and treating the guests like they are always making problems. They make you pay in advance for the room when you arrive. This is not normal, and I guess they do it because they have many unhappy guests who argue about the bill later. These people should not be in the service industry. The building of the rooms and pool is hood, but they need to get a professional to tun the hotel.

They do small things badly, like they don't leave enough towels in the room, you always need to ask for more.

But the worst thing is the manager, he spooled our time there and we won't go back because of his attitude.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LBHR, Manager at Lingganay Hotel Resort, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Please let me know,if when you stayed here in Lingganay,and what you are
exactly complaint about me and my wife.

Why you want to be anonymous?
Unfortunately your profile name and address no nationality

i know you are the Friend of Steve W.
and you have a double Posting
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

If the reviews allowed negative scores I would give service and overall rating -5.

It was our second stay at this hotel, but I will not make the same mistake again. We were tempted back by the views and the peaceful/quiet location, 10 mins drive away from white beach crowds.

Last time I heard about the poor management, but didn't come into contact with the boss and his wife. This time we did. It's a long story, but don't stay here. The management run it like a prison or private medieval Kingdom, and they think they are king of the castle. They operate under the belief that the customer is always WRONG. This attitude is also brushing off on the local staff.

Don't be tempted by the good reviews about nice rooms and pools, if anything goes wrong you will regret choosing to stay here.

Keep looking on the Web sites, there are other better choices in Boracay. Whether you are looking for beachfront or peace and quiet, whatever you do, stay away from Lingganay.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LBHR, Manager at Lingganay Hotel Resort, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Thank you for staying two times in Lingganay
But sorry to tell you that your booking is just for two Person only
You may bring visitors but limited number of Persons and Time only.
I cannot allow in the Hotel for bringing some Friends (not stay in the Hotel) 8 Adults
and 6 children in a 1 bedroom suite to Party living and cooking and play kart all day
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boracay, Philippines
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

By far, the best resort we have ever stayed at on Boracay. With the addition of the new restaurant and main office facilities, this resort keeps getting better and better. Soon to be completed is an indoor gym to join the two wonderful infinity pools.

The apartments are huge. Fully furnished with cable tv, WIFI and nicely furnished kitchens for cooking you own meals if the mood should arise. Each apartment has it own private patio area that is large enough to make an outdoor living/dining area!

Walking around the gardens is a treat in itself. Beautifully maintained walking trails and a beautiful, private beach area. The roof top patio areas are perfect for watching the sunrise with your morning coffee or enjoying the sunset with a nice beverage of choice.

The owner and staff are incredible! Whatever you need, just inquire and you will be assisted. Laundry service is fast and does an outstanding job. The shuttle service is great. Nice, new minivan with airconditioning on all the time.

Room Tip: All rooms are wonderful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

I stayed here with my sister from California, her daughter and her mother in law for 4 nights. Stayed in a 2 bedroom suite, huge rooms, huge bathrooms and very clean in and out. Amazing views 360 degrees, wrapped around balcony, the infinity pool is awesome. The resort has a private beach, warm water and very secluded. The staff were very friendly and had the opportunity to meet the owner..Shuttle is available 24 hours to go to Station 1 and 2, no problem at all. The drivers will take you anywhere you want to go for a small amount of tip as a sign of appreciation..We will stay again in this resort next time we plan a trip to Boracay... Thanks a million to the friendly staff and the owner...

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Lingganay Hotel Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lingganay Hotel Resort

Address: Tulubhan Beach, 5608, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Boracay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 131 hotels in Boracay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lingganay Hotel Resort 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the Paradise. Lingganay Boracay Hotel Resort offers you privacy and luxurious comfort infinity pool, private beach, all suites have kitchens, terraces, view of the sea, classic elegance, highest quality furniture. German Management ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Lingganay Hotel Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lingganay Hotel Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.