We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad management spoiled my holiday” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Lingganay Hotel Resort

Save Saved
You added Lingganay Hotel Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Lingganay Hotel Resort
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Tulubhan Beach, 5608, Philippines   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 131 hotels in Boracay
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Bad management spoiled my holiday”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

This is a nice development with great views and two nice pools. The location is far from white beach, which won't suit everyone, but it's quiet. The rooms are very large, but the old rooms are not as good asthe new rooms.

The problem wits this hotel is the manager and his wife. They ruin the relaxing atmosphere by being so negative and treating the guests like they are always making problems. They make you pay in advance for the room when you arrive. This is not normal, and I guess they do it because they have many unhappy guests who argue about the bill later. These people should not be in the service industry. The building of the rooms and pool is hood, but they need to get a professional to tun the hotel.

They do small things badly, like they don't leave enough towels in the room, you always need to ask for more.

But the worst thing is the manager, he spooled our time there and we won't go back because of his attitude.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LBHR, Manager at Lingganay Hotel Resort, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Please let me know,if when you stayed here in Lingganay,and what you are
exactly complaint about me and my wife.

Why you want to be anonymous?
Unfortunately your profile name and address no nationality

i know you are the Friend of Steve W.
and you have a double Posting
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    55
    22
    2
    2
    9
See reviews for
19
35
7
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

If the reviews allowed negative scores I would give service and overall rating -5.

It was our second stay at this hotel, but I will not make the same mistake again. We were tempted back by the views and the peaceful/quiet location, 10 mins drive away from white beach crowds.

Last time I heard about the poor management, but didn't come into contact with the boss and his wife. This time we did. It's a long story, but don't stay here. The management run it like a prison or private medieval Kingdom, and they think they are king of the castle. They operate under the belief that the customer is always WRONG. This attitude is also brushing off on the local staff.

Don't be tempted by the good reviews about nice rooms and pools, if anything goes wrong you will regret choosing to stay here.

Keep looking on the Web sites, there are other better choices in Boracay. Whether you are looking for beachfront or peace and quiet, whatever you do, stay away from Lingganay.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LBHR, Manager at Lingganay Hotel Resort, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Thank you for staying two times in Lingganay
But sorry to tell you that your booking is just for two Person only
You may bring visitors but limited number of Persons and Time only.
I cannot allow in the Hotel for bringing some Friends (not stay in the Hotel) 8 Adults
and 6 children in a 1 bedroom suite to Party living and cooking and play kart all day
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boracay, Philippines
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

By far, the best resort we have ever stayed at on Boracay. With the addition of the new restaurant and main office facilities, this resort keeps getting better and better. Soon to be completed is an indoor gym to join the two wonderful infinity pools.

The apartments are huge. Fully furnished with cable tv, WIFI and nicely furnished kitchens for cooking you own meals if the mood should arise. Each apartment has it own private patio area that is large enough to make an outdoor living/dining area!

Walking around the gardens is a treat in itself. Beautifully maintained walking trails and a beautiful, private beach area. The roof top patio areas are perfect for watching the sunrise with your morning coffee or enjoying the sunset with a nice beverage of choice.

The owner and staff are incredible! Whatever you need, just inquire and you will be assisted. Laundry service is fast and does an outstanding job. The shuttle service is great. Nice, new minivan with airconditioning on all the time.

Room Tip: All rooms are wonderful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

I stayed here with my sister from California, her daughter and her mother in law for 4 nights. Stayed in a 2 bedroom suite, huge rooms, huge bathrooms and very clean in and out. Amazing views 360 degrees, wrapped around balcony, the infinity pool is awesome. The resort has a private beach, warm water and very secluded. The staff were very friendly and had the opportunity to meet the owner..Shuttle is available 24 hours to go to Station 1 and 2, no problem at all. The drivers will take you anywhere you want to go for a small amount of tip as a sign of appreciation..We will stay again in this resort next time we plan a trip to Boracay... Thanks a million to the friendly staff and the owner...

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brighton
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

I stayed here with a friend for three nights and we had a wonderful time. The pools are both fantastic, the views amazing and the place was super chilled out. The 24 hour shuttle to D Mall was really useful and the room was lovely and a great size with a breezy balcony.

Room Tip: one bedroom suites are spacious and fine for a couple or two friends
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

This was a great property with an awesome view, huge rooms, two swimming pools, and great staff. We stayed in a 2 bedroom suite which had a kitchen, huge rooms, a big balcony and really clean bathrooms. The resort has a private beach and views of the east side of the island (you can see all the wind surfers). The resort also has two massage tables outdoors so you can get a massage while listening to the ocean. The east side of the island is windy, therefore big waves, so the private beach is not recommended for swimming. However, the resort has two salt-water pools that are clean and well maintained.

While the resort is not located near most of the island resorts, its only 5 to 10 minutes away. The main area is called D-Mall which has all the shops and restaurants. Many of the island resorts, activities, and swimmable beach are located near D-Mall. However, the resort offers a free shuttle to-and-from D-Mall, plus you can catch a local taxi from D-Mall to the property for less than $4.00. As for the staff, you need a towel for swimming or going to the beach, just ask and they will bring them. Need a ride to somwhere on the island, just ask or call the driver. Need a drink at the bar, want room service or a massage, just ask and the staff will took care of it. In short, the service was outstanding and the food was good.

I read a previous review about this property where the reviewer complained about the driver wanting a tip. Hello, isn't that how most properties around the world operate?! The driver takes you where you want to go, so is it so terrible that you give him a little gratuity? We would usually give the driver 50 to 100 pesos, which is $1.25 to $2.50. Like most resorts in the travel industry, gratuity to the staff is greatly appreciated and goes a long way towards reciprocity. Would we stay there again, absolutely.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

We stayed here for a week. We loved the big rooms in our suite....the A/C was stone cold and we were able to keep our room nice and cold. The fridge in our suite was well stocked with drinks at reasonable prices. My girlfriend was a local, and we got along will with all the staff.

Tourists have to understand when in the Philippines....you are dealing with friendly staff from a very relaxed culture and in general the staff make about 75 cents per hour for a wage....so show some respect to the poorly paid local workers and they will show you plenty of respect and kindness in return.

The restaurant had a well thought out theme featuring Knights and King Arthurs sword in stone and suits of armour. They have a round table (King Arthurs round table) inside a castle turret in the outdoor restaurant and with the ceailing fan turned on it was quite pleasant. We used our laptops with the free WiFi in the restaurant while we waited for our home cooked meal to be lovingly prepared. The food in the restaurant was very tasty.

The free shuttle service was first class and with a quick phone call in Tagalog by my girlfriend the driver was down to pick us up. Our suite had 2 full bathrooms which was handy when family joined us in the infinity pool. We enjoyed romantic evening swims.

The gardens were simply beautiful and we took many photos around the property. We also went up on the rooftop patios at ngith and enjoyed a sky full of stars with very litle light polution...wow so many stars in the sky.

We are booking our next trip and we will be there ina few weeks....the staff has been very helpful by e-mial helping us pick the perfect room for our second stay.

I enjoyed the fact this resort is aways from the noise and bustle of White Beach.....but it is a quick shuttle whenever we wanted to enjoy the party life on White Beach...but it was nice to get home to the peace and quiet of Linganay....and the prices are very reasonable for the first class accomadation they provide.

We have tried other hotels and resorts on Boracay....but Linganay wfeels like home to us, so we paln to only stay there in the future..

Room Tip: There's now a new family friendly pool added and I can't wait to see all the improvements to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Lingganay Hotel Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lingganay Hotel Resort

Address: Tulubhan Beach, 5608, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Boracay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 131 hotels in Boracay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lingganay Hotel Resort 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the Paradise. Lingganay Boracay Hotel Resort offers you privacy and luxurious comfort infinity pool, private beach, all suites have kitchens, terraces, view of the sea, classic elegance, highest quality furniture. German Management ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Tingo, Expedia and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Lingganay Hotel Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lingganay Hotel Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.