We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great 5 nights at Surfside Boracay Resort and Spa” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Surfside Boracay Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Surfside Boracay Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Surfside Boracay Resort & Spa
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   White Beach, Angol Point Station 3 | Manoc-Manoc, Aklan Province, Philippines   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 137 Hotels in Boracay
Deerfield, Illinois
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great 5 nights at Surfside Boracay Resort and Spa”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

The resort is located on boat station 3 which is far from boat station 1. We have a good night's rest and fully charge the next morning for the daily activities.The breakfast is very tasty and delicious,Kudos to the kitchen staff for doing a great job on food preparation and presentation. All of our activities are booked through the resort which is awesome.From para sailing to island hopping we had a blast everyday.We also booked with their spa including pedicure foot massages etc. The staff and management team of Surfside is the best in the island. The staff really caters to our needs and anticipates well. Ms Joy the manager is always gracious and pleasant making our stay very special.We even purchased some giant crabs in the market and have the kitchen staff prepare a dish for my wife. The orchid room that we have is very clean and comfortable. It comes with a small ref and tv. It also has an in room safe that gave us added security with our valuables. We had an excellent stay with this resort and is highly recommended. We will return again to this resort in the near future.

Room Tip: The rooms on the second level is more spacious compared to the ones below.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    44
    7
    2
    0
See reviews for
27
68
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

Three weeks in the Philippines and hands down this was my favourite stay. Everything from location, beach, staff, resort, spa and food was 100% spot on!

Resort - Surfside is located in boat station 3 away from the madness of the beach dwellers in boat station 2. Easy enough to walk to everything, whilst ensuring you get a good nights sleep away from the noise. The beach is lovely and clean. Sun loungers are reserved for guests and beach towels are provided. There is a lovely spa on site where guests get 50% off treatments (get the full body massage!). The onsite restaurant was great! Breakfast was included with a choice of continental, American or Filipino options. The extensive menu offered local, Western, Asian and Japanese food. We ate here everyday at some point and enjoyed every meal. Staff were attentive to serve drinks on the beach. Rooms were large, spacious, comfy beds, balcony with hammock, with TV, fridge & air con. Separate toilet, sink and shower room made the hotel room feel very spacious.

Location – Boracay is split into 3 boat stations - (1) high end big resorts (2) central overcrowded beach, all the shops, bars and restaurants & (3) quieter emptier beach, budget accommodation with the feel of 'old Boracay'. Surfside is situated towards the end of boat station 3, which was a 10/15 min walk along the beach to the main hub of everything. There is a side road next to the resort, so grabbing a bike / tricycle was no bother should you not want to walk. The beach is lined with accommodation, bars and restaurants, so despite being a 'bit further out' you still have everything to hand. In fact, we ate locally in boat station 3 most nights as it was cheaper and nicer.

Staff – The staff here were all wonderful :) We arrived before check in was open, so were welcomed and headed straight to the beach & our bags were taken up to the room for us once it was ready. All staff were friendly, attentive & helped us when we were looking to arrange a boat for the day. Big shout out to Joy who even got up early to make us a packed breakfast to take with us when we left at 5:15am, and arranged for their driver to drop us off at the port for free.

Prices were high in comparison to the rest of the Philippines, but inline with the average higher end resorts in Boracay. Considering the standard of service & how great our stay was, I wasn't too put out by this and would definitely return to again. This was definitely one spot i was sad to leave and couldn't recommend more highly!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

If I were to base my rating on first impressions then it would get a 'Terrible' rating. Reason: the toilet bowl in our room overflowed and the front office staff got angry with me because I couldn't log into wifi by following her directions (make sense?). The lady boss came out to help and we finally managed to log into wifi but it was slow. She claimed it was the limitations of the island. Of course I didn't believe her because we had just arrived from another resort on the island and we didn't have any wifi problems there.
That was first impressions.
In general, the staff were friendly, the room was big and clean.
Wifi is terrible here, on and off.

Room Tip: Rooms on the ground floor has no privacy because the balcony and the entrance to the room faces the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

The best thing about Surfside Boracay is the location. It is right in front of the beach. The restaurant faces the beach and you can have a nice relaxing breakfast or a meal while enjoying a view of the beach. The rooms are neat and clean. The staff is helpful and friendly. WiFi is good.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

Ups
1. Friendly & attentive staff (they treated us with much TLC)
2. Location (beach is right in front of the resort and since it is located at the end of Station 3, it is away from crowded area, plus it is only 5 to 10 minutes walk to Station 2. If we had not stay in this resort, we wouldn't be able to discover the awesome "street" food by the beach. But of course if you are the type who are lazy to walk, then the location may be a con to you)
3. Affordable price (room, food and massage)

Downs
1. We stayed in Aqua which was a rather basic room. Was a lil disappointed as it did not look the same as portrayed in the picture. Also, we actually had to climb over the bed in order to get to the bathroom, considering I am petite size, I guess this should sum up the space we had.
2. The arrangement made for the activities by the resort could be better. We arranged few activities with the resort (i.e. Ariel's point, island hopping, ATV). We were not satisfied with the island hopping & ATV. For the island hoping, we chartered a private boat and were informed that we could choose our route and decide what we can skip. When we told our desired plan to the staff and the boatman?, we didn't get to go the places (i.e. Crystal Coral) we wanted to and also the boatman used the wrong route. But nevertheless, we were still able to enjoy the island hoping as we spent more time in Puka beach (which was breathtaking). As for the ATV, the tour guide was late to fetch us and we needed to walk extra fast in order to catch the scheduled van time. It wasn't a big letdown for us, but we're on vacation hence we would prefer a more relaxing vibe rather than rushing our way for an activity which we were paying for.
3. I am not too sure if I am dreaming or not because this incident seemed to happen in the wee hour of morning but there seemed to be power failure. I remembered vividly when I woke up to darkness and no air-conditioning but I was just too tired to make any fuss about it. I did ask my other half about this, but he wasn't aware about anything as he slept like a log.

Overall, I would recommend you to stay in this resort but make sure you choose the right room and ensure that you relay your desired activities to the staff over and over again to ensure that you do not face similar experiences like us.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

We decided to choose Surfside because of its raving reviews from tripadvisor and agoda.com.

Pros:
1) It is located very close to the beach, literally steps away.
2) Wifi was strong.
3) Staff were extremely friendly and always greeted us with a smile.
4) It was quiet on most of the days, an ideal getaway if that's what you're looking out for.
5) Best part of Surfside is that there are no boats parked on the beach in front of them. Along White Beach, there are many boats parked on the beach, which is unsightly and not safe for swimming!
6) Reserved beach chairs for Surfside hotel guest is awesome, though the staff could bring the drink list to us.

Cons:
1) We chose the Standard/Diver room as it was the last unit available. We were utterly disappointed at the interior of the room. Not only was it run-down, the bathroom was horrible! It was very small and the white coat of paint on the wall was turning yellow. I know that is a Standard/Diver room, but some efforts could be done to make it more livable. Shower temperature was erratic, though being strong.
2) Location of the hotel was at Station 3, which is a walk away from all the dinner places on the beach front at Stations 2 and 3. We were situated literally at the end of station 3, with no established dining area around the area. The few restaurants that we walk past en route to station 2 are empty on most of the days. Needless to say, we did not try any of them. Food at Surfside looks expensive too.

All in all, I probably will try other hotels when I'm back in Boracay again. I met a Malaysian couple there, and they said that they have stayed in another beachfront hotel at around the same price, awesome room, and a swimming pool.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

You get your money and time worth much at Surfside hotel. Everything is relaxing from day and night through out the end of your stay, like we had. Much more, Anywhere you go in the island of Boracay are within reasonable distance whatever areas of interests you maybe. I do strongly recommend this place to anyone, family, and friends interested to visit in Boracay.
This is a Japanese family run business, and you can see the owner and his assistance Joy always working hard to maintain best quality service and experience they can share to their guest(s).

Room Tip: We have family friends that stayed with us in Boracay provided us an opportunity to compare some of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Surfside Boracay Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surfside Boracay Resort & Spa

Address: White Beach, Angol Point Station 3 | Manoc-Manoc, Aklan Province, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Panay Island > Aklan Province > Boracay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Boracay
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Boracay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Surfside Boracay Resort & Spa 2.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surfside Boracay Resort & Spa is situated at the Southern end of Boracay Island, Malay aklan. Ideal for those who love to enjoy the privacy of the Island and yet have the easy access to the Island's famous night parties. Forget about the noisy way of life in the city, let Surfside Resort & Spa takes you to a peaceful and adventurous journey. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Surfside Boracay Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surfside Boracay Hotel Boracay
Surfside Boracay Resort And Spa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Surfside Boracay Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.