We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay away: Totally run down, "Camping vacation"” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Baling Hai Beach Resort

Save Saved
You added Baling Hai Beach Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Baling Hai Beach Resort
on the northern part of Boracay Island, Philippines   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 131 hotels in Boracay
Miami, Florida
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Stay away: Totally run down, "Camping vacation"”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

We read the excellent reviews on Tripadvisor and decided to stay at the Balinghai. A choice which we regretted right away at the entrance to the hotel.

We arrived in drenching rain, after a very stressful trip (our flight had been canceled). We had 4 big suitcases and nobody appeared to welcome us, so we began to carry our luggage down the steep stairs, in plain darkness. After a while a guy appeared who didn't introduce himself as an employee of the hotel nor did he welcome us or anything. He just asked if he should help us and first I was very unsure, because I didn't know who he was. Getting to the "reception area", he asked for our voucher - aha, now it turned out that he really is from the hotel...

When we finally got to our room after descending more steep and slippery rock steps in total darkness with just a little light from the hotel employee (we booked the Rock House), we were very disappointed. With everything open and the very humid air because of the rain, everything in our room seemed to be moist and smelly, especially the bed sheets. The bath room was nothing but a catastrophe, I had to force myself to sit down on the apparently thirty-year old toilet seat (once white, now grey-black...). The "shower" was a poor trickle with no hot water. Little animals like bugs and ants were crawling all over the place. And if you leave your suitcase open in the room, black things from the palm tree roof will fall into it.

As we felt very uncomfortable in our "house", we decided to try the beach. It turned out to be a tiny strip of sand, cluttered with rusty nails, glass shards and sharp rocks. For all the guests of the hotel they only have 4 rusty sun beds.

Once we decided to give the hotel restaurant a try and ordered a table in the morning for dinner in the evening and we also asked for a filipino dish called "kangkong" - they said it would be no problem. Arriving for dinner, there was no table prepared for us and our ordered dish "was not available" (you can buy that at every corner in Boracay). Nice service.

Exactly, a "beach resort" you just want to flee from, but fleeing from there is not that easy. Everytime we wanted to go to D-Mall (center), we had to order a tricycle at the reception and wait about 15 minutes. It takes about 20 minutes to get there, a very touristic and not quite cozy zone, but at least far away from the depressing area of Balinghai.

I could tell some more anecdotes about the incompetent staff there, but it would break the mold. Overall, we can only recommend to avoid this place if you don't want to stay in a totally run down place (the hotel is about 30 years old and apparently they never renovated it), far away from everything and with incompetent staff. Maybe we should mention that the owner started to build this hotel 30 years ago and has been adding on constantly throughout the years. Everything was built by himself, so we have to honor his ideas and effort, but selling it as a "resort" with no updates to the older buildings simply doesn't cut it.

If you rather camp than sleep in a decent hotel room, this is the place to go. But if you're looking for a comfy bed and a place to relax, spend your money elsewhere!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balinghai, Owner at Baling Hai Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
Hi
Thank you for your review. We’re really sorry that you’re stay wasn’t enjoyable. We have take all your comments into consideration and improved Balinghai.

We’re really sorry that you weren’t received well, that is very uncharacteristic of our staff.
The beach beds have been changed and are now in plastic since the previous ones always got rusty because of the salty ocean. Depending on the tide and time of year the beach is a different size which is something we can’t control, thats what its like living with nature. Its the same with our houses, we try to renovate each house yearly since they’re mostly made of native materials. We try our best to keep our houses as clean and bug free as possible and we have also installed water heaters in all our houses so there’s both Hot and Cold showers!

We’re really sorry that your stay wasn’t a good one. We pride ourselves in keeping our customers happy!
Hope you come back and we can give you a positive memory from us!

Balinghai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    36
    7
    4
    0
    3
See reviews for
9
33
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Moscow City, Russia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2012

Great place for nature lovers, private beach, far away form the mess, but prepare for a long way up and ride towards civilization, boats are passing quit close during the day which makes experience less peaceful, no restaurants around so food gets boring for long stays, although tasty and good value for money spent

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012

we originally plan to stay at balinghai for 3days/2nights (apr 30-may 2). we have our 2 american friends with us plus me and my best friend. we do have high hopes in this hotel since it was really praised in so many blog sites plus a lot of foreigners said that the experience here is exceptional.

we booked the tree house, which we think now is a "bad idea".from the start when we we're moving our things, our american friends knew it that they really think it's not good to stay. there are too many unwanted guests like cockroach, moths, crabs, spiders, frogs and a bat! uhg though there are mosquito nets in both rooms, it doesn't really help us to make our night comfortable from the humid weather. it was too hot for us to handle. plus the fact that the rest room is not that amiable, we saw the frog there. the reason also that there is a frog visitor is because the rest room has no walls at all, it is too open! what made us move is the bat flying that night. i really could not believe it. we really thought it was a bird!

there is no phone to make a call at the reception area to order food, we have to go all the way to the reception for us to have dinner.

we just had one night there and move to the next hotel.

although the staff is really great and friendly. i don't think people who has scares on insects and heights would last a day, like us. and we went there summer, so the weather is too humid.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2012

My husband and I spent 4 days Baling Hai Beach Resort in the Rock House between Christmas. It was a exciting tricycle ride to the actual edge of the island to Baling Hai Beach. The beauty of this beach was breath taking it was a private hide away for the patrons of the boutique resort and the occasional day trippers to the beach. It was far from the hustle and bustle of the white beach with the sun glass vendors and pearl sellers. The rock house was high up the tree tops with private views of the water from the open air living room balcony and upstairs bed room balcony. This house was very private with only a few vistors some birds and the occasional lizard.

There are a lot of steps to master. There is a large stair case carved into the cliff to access the resort and to and from the beach to each one of the houses .

The beach bar was nice with a large supply of san miguel beer and yummy calamari. The kitchen orders come down on a basket down the cliff to the beach bar.

It was all around a lovely hotel away from it all in Boracay.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2012

We had a mixed feeling during our visit to Balinghai Beach Resort. We stayed here for 3 nights from 3rd March till 5th March 2012 in the Bat House.

Although the resort seems to be private, there wasn't much privacy at the resort's beach - the beach is too small to accommodate the guests of the hotel.

Rooms are private and the views from the rooms are splendid! But there's some sort of discomfort in the rooms - for ventilation, there are only vintage fans.

Booking was a difficult - they only accepted wire transfers, which in our view, is among the most uncomfortable way of booking a place. The resort does not have a tie-up with any booking website, and their own website booking page was dysfunctional (at the time of our booking a couple of months back).

Going from the resort to the main road is not so comfortable. Also, the food choices for vegetarians is near zero. Milkshakes are nice though.

Looking at the reviews on TripAdvisor, we booked this place for our honeymoon - we had some great moments, but were not entirely convinced of the great reviews given by the others staying here.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

My girlfriends and I rented one of the big villas and were pleasantly surprised at just how large and roomy it was. This isnt your typical home, as there is constant air circulation due to the openness of the house. We stayed during typhoon season so it did get kind of scary at night, but the wind was warm and we did not mind. If you are looking for a modern hotel then this is not your place. You have to get used to little critters visiting your home especially at night and leaves and other outdoor debris getting inside the house. To me, that is all part of the adventure! step outside your boundaries and experience this for yourself. You wont regret it! FYI Best beach in boracay!

Room Tip: If you are looking to be near town then this isnt your place. This is a much quieter and more relax...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2012

My wife and I stayed here during our 3 week Philippines trip. We were here for 5 night from the end of December 2011 to the beginning of January 2012.

We stayed 4 nights in the Tree House and 1 night in the Rock House (we couldn't book all 5 nights in the same room since they were already booked)

Pros:
- Great location away from the White Beach. Secluded and romantic.
- Great private beach. Good swimming. Bar at the beach for drinks.
- Breakfast is included in the price. You can eat in your room overlooking the water, up at the restaurant with some good conversation with the owner, or down at the beach.
- Both of our rooms we overlooking the water. The Rock House has a slightly better view, but it's only a one bedroom as opposed to the 2 bdrm Tree House
- Very friendly staff and fun to talk with. They weren't FAKE nice like some of the places around. Instead they were genuinely nice and were very fun to talk with.

Cons:
- Bugs - There were quite a few bugs around. This didn't bother me at all because the rooms are very "naturey" and bugs are expected. My wife on the other had was a little freaked out. In the end, she said it was worth it though.
- View - the trees block the view from the rooms a little. It'd be nice if they were trimmed back a little bit.
- Distance from White Beach - to get the seclusion, you will have to deal with the 10 minute trike ride to the White Beach. Not bad and totally worth the seclusion!

Tips:
- Get down to the beach early, because if it's crowded they have a limited number of beach lounge chairs.
- Price of trikes - don't ask the trike driver for the price, they will always try to upcharge you. Going from Balinghai to the White Beach, you can get away with 20 pesos/person. Going back to Balinghai at night, they will always charge you more, expect to pay from 100-200 pesos total.
- Puka Beach - this is close enough for a 30 minute walk, or you can take a trike. Good food and away from the crowds.
- Stairs - there are a LOT of stairs. Beware if you are out of shape or old. With all the food we were eating, I thought it was a good workout and didn't mind the stairs.

Conclusion
My wife and I will definitely stay here again if we go back to Boracay! It's an experience like no other and you won't regret it!

Room Tip: Tree House has 2 rooms Rock House has 1 room (very nice and romantic!) Take advantage of the candl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Baling Hai Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baling Hai Beach Resort

Address: on the northern part of Boracay Island, Philippines
Phone Number:
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Boracay
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Boracay
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Boracay
#11 Best Value Hotel in Boracay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Baling Hai Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baling Hai Beach Hotel Boracay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Baling Hai Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.