We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a bad place to stay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel La Roca

Hotel La Roca
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel La Roca to your Saves list
Hotel La Roca
Graham Avenue | Tagbilaran City, Philippines   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 28 Hotels in Bohol Island
Cebu
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Not a bad place to stay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2011

My wife is a nice bathroom freak; and this hotel had a poorly designed and maintained bathroom. Otherwise the pool and fruit trees were nice. Looked like they did a lot of wedding parties there.

Room Tip: The family rooms have two queen size beds
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    7
    9
    4
    12
See reviews for
11
13
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2011

Just a one nighter here after spending the week on Alona Beach. Rooms were old but clean. Mattress a bit thin. Cable tv. Hot water. I had the cheapest room. p875.00. Nice outdoor setting. Clean pool, I saw them cleaning it. Free wifi in lobby. The staff were attentive and seemed like they enjoyed their jobs - lots of impromptu singing - just up the road from a small mall. Enjoyed my short tine here.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2011

This is a large hotel but on checking it appeared we were the only guests (yet apparently only the more expensive room was available- hmm). It is basic, uncomfortable and with a very noisy aircon.

The staff were a little rude. You now the sort of place where you have to wait for them to finish their conversations before they give you their attention. My husband had a badly bruised shoulder from having to move out of the way of the staff coming down the stairs as they wouldn't give way??

It did seem clean...ish. There were a few ants in the bathroom and it smelt a bit musty but the sheets were clean.

We took one look at the room and went out for dinner deciding to spend as little time as poss there. For just sleeping one night it is okay and very close to the seaport. We went next door to Bohol Topics to eat and drink (the best thing about it is the location).

Breakfast was very strange. We were obviously the only people there yet getting any service was a nightmare. She brought the menu so I said coffee and toast. The she went away and said I couldn't order from menu as breakfast was included. So she gave me a slip and asked me to tick what I wanted. Okay, so still just coffee and toast? It was all unnecessarily complicated when we wanted to leave for a ferry.

If you want a cheap night close to seaport then stay here but it is what it is. A budget hotel. It was clean enough but not comfortable. Staff do their job, just with no pleasentness.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2011

I am originally from Bohol but grew up in Manila. Sad to say that everytime I hear people talk of going to Bohol, they come back with a comment that staff in the beach resorts / Hotels they go to only provide good service to foreigners but neglect to serve local tourists with a smile.

And I experienced this multiple times at dumaluan, bagobo, etc etc.

My wife and I stayed here for a night because we wanted a place close to the pier (a 3min trike ride) and within walking distance of the malls, city, etc.

Their staff was very nice from the receptionist, waiters, cleaners... everyone. Very very warm and friendly. The rooms are not as classy as the new ones around but the phrase "you get what you pay for" does NOT apply to this place.

It is cheap but very nice place to stay, it is quiet and cozy. The poolside diner was even romantic in ambiance. and the food is GREAT! again cheap but big helpings and big on taste! It is like eating homemade food and not commercialized ones.

I would reccomend this place to anyone who wishes to stay in the city of Tagbilaran.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DOHA
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2011

I was on my last leg of my trip and spend 3 nights at La Roca. In the Phils, in christmas time it so noisy, but I had a my best rest ever, hotel set just a short away from the city but surprisingly quite. Good staff , very reasonable rates, with a swimming pool at that!
More than value for money, I recommend it

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bacolod
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2010

I was so disgusted of the staff,so impolite.We arrived at the port and i just give her my paper from my travel agent and she just walked without even welcoming us to their place or even saying ' good afternoon" ,and not even telling where to go,so we assumed that she'll be going to the van like what she did.The driver did not even bothered to offer a help for our baggage and didn't even bothered to open the car for our baggage to think that we came from a long journey and we were all so tired.The staff didn't even oriented us on how many minutes or hours we will be traveling form the port to the hotel.The worst is when we got there staff were so impolite and didn't even bothered to greet us or welcome us,they just handed the key and that's all.
I've been to so many hotels and all i knew drinking water is ready at the bedside for the guest,but for them you have to request for it.Whats even worst is when we left the hotel they didn't even bothered to thank us for staying,as if we just passed by the hotel.NOBODY even dared to help us with our baggage and not even a single smile we got from them.
To the management,please take a few minutes to review all the comments you have.Please tell your staff that they should not behave like this.They carry the name of your hotel,the success of you business depends on this.We were all so disgusted about our stay there and pls do some steps to improve the quality of your service.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alaska
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2010

This was the worst motel i've ever stayed @ and i'm 52. All aspects of our stay were terrible. Should be called the Cock Roach Motel as i killed one @ 2 AM. My son and dau both recd several bites. Had to ask for a re-cleaning of the bath. Sink drain plugged, had to ask 2x for attention and they didn't fix. Staff screwed up our reservation and overcharged and wouldn't give us a refund immediately--said it was against their Policy. I told them i'd get the police involved and they gave us a cash refund the next day. Was an absolute pigsty and caused my family of five great distress--no one slept due to insects. The air con also didn't work properly. There is nothing at all remotely good about this hotel. As i told the staff in America a place like that would go out of business. We booked our last night at the Bohol Tropics motel and had an enjoyable night. If this review saves one person frm making the mistake of spending a night @ this hotel, taking the time to write this was worth it. Thunder Mountain Kid, Juneau, Alaska, USA

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel La Roca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Roca

Address: Graham Avenue | Tagbilaran City, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Bohol Province > Bohol Island
Amenities:
Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 28 Hotels in Bohol Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Economy class hotel has 26 rooms, and is located in Graham Avenue, Tagbilaran City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel La Roca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel La Roca Bohol Province, Philippines

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel La Roca, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.