We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Home" away from home” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Vest Pension House

Save Saved
You added Vest Pension House to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Vest Pension House
Tamblot Extension Cogon District | Tagbilaran City, 6000, Philippines   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 27 hotels in Bohol Island
cubao,quezon city
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“"Home" away from home”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

We stayed at Vest last October 18-21. The staff, headed by Ms Virgie are so friendly. Ambiance was good enough to rejuvenate after the long hours of city tour and island hopping,which they also arranged for us. The location of the pension house is away from the hustles and bustles of the cosmopolitan living,which made us more comfortable.
The family room is large enough to accommodate the 4 of us, with well maintained wooden floors and furnishings,reminds me of our house in the province.
These made our stay very enjoyable!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    31
    41
    14
    4
    2
See reviews for
18
30
11
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Manila, Philippines
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Definitely a good choice working on a limited budget. I will definitely recommend this to my friends. Just one comment. Should have a buffet type of breakfast.
Clean bathrooms, great staff, very quiet place. Love it!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Makati, Philippines
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

Stayed here for 1 night on a quick business trip. It was a bit out of the way, along a small bumpy lane. Staff are friendly, and they do genuinely smile a lot. You feel like you're in a big house, with lots of wooden furnishings. The room is simple but large, with OK beds, and huge windows. Bathroom is adequate, but water pressure is a bit low. The price is quite reasonable, and they thrown in a free breakfast, which is a choice of either Filipino or "American" breakfast. This is a good place to stay if you have business in Tagbilaran City. Of course, if you are in Bohol for a holiday, staying closer to the beaches in Panglao is a better option.

Room Tip: Rooms in the 3rd floor are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippines
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

It's my 3rd time staying here and still their service is awesome. They have a very friendly staff and a great place to relax at a very affordable price.
With free yummy breakfast. 2menu (asian and american breakfast) you can choose from.
With free WIFi per room. Hot and Cold shower

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valenzuela, Philippines
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

Booking: Very easy and i had no problem with communicating with them. Upon arrival at the airport, hotel shuttle is already there waiting for us.

Staff: Very courteous and friendly.

Service: Prompt response on things we needed during our stay

The hotel location is very quite and if you are a type of person (or couple) that pays more attention on serenity, this hotel is for you.

I will be staying again in this hotel when I get back at Tagbilaran

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iloilo Proper, Iloilo City, Philippines
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

i booked a family room in this place at least a month before our trip to bohol that we scheduled the 2nd week of june 2012.while waiting at the port in cebu,i called vest to inform them of our eta.a shuttle service was waiting for us upon arrival in tagbilaran.a few minutes ride and we were at the lobby of vest for the routine registration.the ambiance of vest gave us a feel good mood at once.i loved the big room given to us at the end of the hallway,though there was a problem with the aircon unit on the first nite.when asked, a staff told us that due to heavy booking,there was no chance for them to schedule cleaning of the unit.we then requested for electric fan to augment the cooling of the room.it was probably fixed the next day while we were on the countryside tour that when we returned,there was no issue with the cooling system anymore
amenities in this place were very basic,though there was internet access in the room.by the way,vest facilitated the country side tour for us when we requested them upon arrival.the place was near the port and near chicken ati-atihan where we had a quick dinner.mode of transport is the tricycle. a bumpy ride on this vehicle going to and from vest.for budget-conscious travelers like me,this place is for you.

Room Tip: tip: if you want less distraction/noise,ask for a room at the end of the hallway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George Town, Grand Cayman
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

Booking: We booked a deluxe room directly with Vest Pension House through e-mail. We were asked to pay 50% of the total room rate and tours via Paypal or bank transfer and we chose the former. As what the other reviewers mentioned, it's good value for your money especially when you just wanted a decent place to stay while in Bohol and you're mostly outside during the day exploring Bohol. For PhP1,400 per night for a deluxe room, you can't beat that price.

Arrival: Vest provides complimentary pick-up from the Tagbilaran airport or port. The staff was already at the port when we arrived which was a plus.

Check-in: Fast and a staff helped us carry our bags (even we've only got 2 carry-on bags with us) into our room at the 2nd floor.

Room: Quite roomy but with slightly hard bed, thin mattress and thin pillows. There's a small television and an air conditioning unit which was nice especially when it gets really hot. Our only complain is that there is poor soundproofing that we can actually hear other guests when they are walking pass our room, when the guests beside our room are taking a shower or when they are having loud conversations with squeals at times when they get excited. Early in the morning, we can also hear the noise outside the hotel. You may want to request for a room on the 3rd floor and far from the stairs where some guests tend to congregate and chat.

Bathroom: Average size with a shower and a shower curtain to divide the shower area and the toilet & sink. Bath towels are thin and quite rough. They provide basic soap and shampoo but we brought our own toiletries to use. There were sightings of ants on the sink and counter.

Breakfast: They offer American and Filipino breakfast options which varies everyday. Being a Filipino, I was fine with their Filipino breakfast. However, my European husband had limited selection even with the American breakfast offered. I think we could have requested pancakes or waffles but we just didn't bother and just tried to have a more satisfying lunch.

Dinner: We didn't have dinner at the Hotel so we can't really comment on the quality of food being served there. It was easy for us to go out at night, get a tricycle and went to Asiatika restaurant (located inside Metro Center Hotel) and Gerry's Grill (located inside BQ Mall) for dinner. We only paid PhP40 for the tricycle ride.

We booked a Chocolate Hills tour with Vest and the driver was polite and knowledgeable. The tour price of PhP2500 + entrance fees and river cruise with lunch buffet seemed reasonable. The following day, we were supposed to be picked up at 9am and driven to Bohol Beach Club for a day trip. We were waiting at the reception area for about 30 minutes and when I asked the receptionist why the driver was running late, she merely chuckled and don't know what to say. A senior staff then stepped forward and apologized saying it was her fault that our booking was not relayed to the car rental company on time. She indicated that the driver should be arriving no later than 9:30am. However, the driver arrived at 9:45am so that was almost an hour of waiting which was not fun at all.

Check-out: Pretty quick. I have to ask for a copy of the final bill and receipt as they don't seem to provide it if not asked. They kept our bags after we checked-out while we went to ICM Mall. They provided complimentary transfer from Vest to the airport.

Our stay at Vest was generally pleasant but we will probably look for other places to stay the next time we go to Bohol.

Room Tip: 3rd floor and as far as possible from the stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Vest Pension House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vest Pension House

Address: Tamblot Extension Cogon District | Tagbilaran City, 6000, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Bohol Province > Bohol Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Bohol Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in a European-Chalet Design, designed in beautiful wood. Located in a quiet residential section of Tagbilaran City Well Stocked full liquor Bar, Fine Dining Restaurant which offers the best in local and international cuisine, and comfortable Lounge Area. FREE shuttle pick up and drop off by arrangement. Airport transfers for guests arriving via Tagbilaran City Airport or from the seaport. Along with free internet access and (Wifi-Hotspot) for our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Vest Pension House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vest Pension House Hotel Bohol Island
Vest Hotel Bohol
Vest Pension House Bohol Province, Philippines

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vest Pension House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.