We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value for Money, nice sleeping place...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Vest Pension House

Save Saved
You added Vest Pension House to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Vest Pension House
Tamblot Extension Cogon District | Tagbilaran City, 6000, Philippines   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 27 Hotels in Bohol Island
Malolos, Philippines
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Great Value for Money, nice sleeping place...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

My wife and I stayed here last September 14 to 16, 2012 and the staff are very nice. If you intend to take a city tour of Bohol then this is a great place to stay. This is only true if you do not intend to go swimming because the property is not located on a beach and neither does it have a swimming pool. My wife and I did not plan to go swimming and that's why we decided to choose this place. It's perfect if you merely need a place to sleep and plan on staying outside during your stay in Bohol.

The thing I like best about the place is the fact that the staff are indeed very friendly in addition to the room rates which are well within any traveler's budget.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    42
    14
    4
    2
See reviews for
18
30
12
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Jaro, Iloilo City, Philippines
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2012

Over-all, our stay at Vest Pension House was great. The staff were very accommodating and warm. The family room that we stayed in was nice and clean. We loved the homey ambiance. The wood flooring complemented the cozy atmosphere. However, during our stay (peak season), the dining area was not big enough to accommodate guests. They need a bigger space. Otherwise, it's great pension house! We would still choose Vest in our next visit to Bohol.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imus, Cavite, Philippines
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2012

stayed here with a group. this house has a 2-3 floors. the 1 thing i will always remember on this place is the flooring is all wood but is well maintained. the ground floor is a restaurant. this place is a bit far from other restaurant or any other places to eat. the food is okay. although it took a while for them to serve our food (well at least on our order). they have a computer you can use downstairs for connecting to the internet. the staff is very friendly. do not hesitate to ask them if you need anything, that includes if you want packages for trips like island hopping snorkeling etc.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
International
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2012

I liked the hotel. Whether you take the ferry from Cebu or you fly in the hotel is less than 10 minutes away from both. The staff is warm and friendly. The hotel doesn't have a hotel feel. It feels like you are staying at your favorite relatives house. The atmosphere is warm and cozy. The rooms are spacious and I will admit that they could use some retouching but it's a very clean facility. The hotel has guided tours of Bohol and Pangloa which i highly recommend. The drivers are kind and courteous and will act as tour guides as well. Breakfast was okay. If your American you might not be fond of the breakfast only because it is not the tradition bacon, eggs, etc. However they did serve eggs any style you wanted and french toast. The only problem that I had was that I had food from the night before. When I woke up, there were ants. That was my only issue and I would probably stay again if I was in Bohol. If you expect to get a taxi....don't. There aren't that many in Bohol you have to take a Tricycle or Motor to get around. The internet was very fast as well.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2012

Hello guys, it was a happy experience during our stay in this pension house. Me and my husband loved the people there, they really took good care of us. Plus a very nice experience on our tours. Especially our tour driver kuya jun, whom my husbane loves to talk with they're like long time friends. What I love about these people coz after the end of the day of our tour they will always ask if enjoyed our tour. Definitely yes, especially my husband he looks like a kid while standing on that banca ride and getting crazy on our snorkeling getting into that deep water which is a diving site. I was scared of him telling him off to get off from there but he's a good swimmer anyway. But I have to take him back safely lol as what I've promised to his family here in Australia.
We got a deluxe room, the room wasn't that big but we already expected what we're getting. At least they have a phone and a nice cold aircon. I love the reception ladies especially the one in the early morning shift felt bad for waking them up at 4:30 am for breakfast esp that she's pregnant I think. But I did say sorry if I wake them up so early. They serve our tuna sandwich breakfast then we've had before we left.
We're so glad that we booked our tours with you guys. After our stay with you for 3 nights, we stayed at the Lost Horizon Resort and booked a deluxe room with a huge balcony and bathroom and facing the pool but me and my husband we're disappointed. No phone, lacks security and restaurant service was bad. They're even telling me in fb that I'm a filipina I should know better how the hotels work in our country. There seem to be a discrimination here, so what if I'm a filipina I'm still a guest and they should treat customers fairly. I was even disappointed coz I was the one who booked this resort for my husband but he wasn't happy about it. They really lack communication with staff and customers and so with management.
But with you guys, we're definitely coming back next time maybe with some more family and friends. Thanks a lot for a good holiday!

Room Tip: get the suite rooms coz its got a fridge on it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cagayan de Oro, Cagayan de Oro, Philippines
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2012

It was our first time in Bohol and the people will welcome your with big smile and warmth greetings from their hearth. That was the experience we have with Vest Pension House. The place is located far enough from the busy and noisy street of Tagbilaran. A peaceful ambiance you will experience. The room is huge for the three of us and its just right for the budget. Thank to all the staff of Vest Pension House...You're simply the best.....

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Manila, Philippines
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2012

Friendly staff, nice breakfast, great customer service!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Vest Pension House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vest Pension House

Address: Tamblot Extension Cogon District | Tagbilaran City, 6000, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Bohol Province > Bohol Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Bohol Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in a European-Chalet Design, designed in beautiful wood. Located in a quiet residential section of Tagbilaran City Well Stocked full liquor Bar, Fine Dining Restaurant which offers the best in local and international cuisine, and comfortable Lounge Area. FREE shuttle pick up and drop off by arrangement. Airport transfers for guests arriving via Tagbilaran City Airport or from the seaport. Along with free internet access and (Wifi-Hotspot) for our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Vest Pension House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vest Pension House Hotel Bohol Island
Vest Hotel Bohol
Vest Pension House Bohol Province, Philippines

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vest Pension House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.