We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best diving in the Philippines” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tubbataha Reef

Tubbataha Reef
92 nautical miles southeast of Puerto Princesa City, Puerto Princesa, Palawan Island, Philippines
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Manila
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Best diving in the Philippines”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

Hands down the best diving in the Philippines ! The fact that divers can only visit 3 months (mid march-mid-June) out of the year due to weather and sea-conditions guarantee that the reefs and fish life are exceptional. It is in the middle of a vast body of water so there are no run-offs from beaches or rivers. The visibility is exceptional so divers are advised to keep an eye on their computers because they might be deeper than what they think.

Expect to see vast fields of soft and hard coral, schooling fishes, and endless walls with giant barrel sponges and sea-fans. This is one of the last guaranteed "shark" dives in Asia. Most common are the white tip sharks, but black tip, grey reef, nurse, leopard, silver tip and hammerheads have also been seen along with the Mantas and whale sharks.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    10
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 attraction reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Life experience 2”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

I never had snorkled before. this was the first time for my wife and me. It was great. I could have done it all day. Unfortunately I forgot my sun tan lotion and was fried floating around. Live and learn.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macau
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“a must-go for divers”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

I joined a safari trip to Tubbahata from 27 March to 2 April, and it was far beyond fantastic to me. I went onboard the Stella Maris Explorer, a well-equipped and spacious vessel, where all the divers were well served and entertained by the friendly & helpful crew. There supposed to be a lot to see underwater, but of course it's a matter of luck. So, just try your luck out ;-)

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Best dive in the Philippines”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2012

Stayed on the liveaboard H.C. Andersen, for 6 days. We had 4 days of diving around Tubbataha, which wasn't long enough. It was surely the best dive site I have visited in the Philippines, and I have been at Apo reef and Apo island as well.
I saw, 7 hammerheads at the same time, manta rays, eagle rays, big sting ray (of some sort), blacktip-, whitetip- and grey reef sharks, nurse shark, and much more.
The vis was only around 15 m, so it could have been better, but it changes from time to time.
The boat was very good, they only fill it half, when going to Tubbataha, so you got so much space that you almost can feel lonely ;)

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Best dive site in Philipphines”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

Just stayed in a liveaboard boat to dive in Tubbataha Reef. The place is great, you can see most of the underwater creatures here.
And the landscape and coral garden is also wonderful, although people are all focus to see the big stuff...

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tubbataha Reef also viewed

Puerto Princesa, Palawan Island
 
Puerto Princesa, Palawan Island
Puerto Princesa, Palawan Island
 

Been to Tubbataha Reef? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tubbataha Reef, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.