We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of CAPTAIN RIBS

CAPTAIN RIBS
295 Manalo Extension Road | BANCAO BANCAO, Puerto Princesa, Palawan Island 5300, Philippines
+63 926 712 1244
Improve this listing
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Barbecue, French, Italian, Asian fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
2 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014 via mobile

We went to this place 2 evenings for some food. Atmosphere is really relaxed, especially in the back where you can sit laid back. Food is very good: especially the pork ribs!

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    20
    3
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Germiston, South Africa
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Food is fabulous”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

This establishment is owned by a french guy (forgot his name) they make the best fruitshakes with real fruit. We ordered mango fruit shake one lunch time and he actually went off to buy mangos, on his scooter. The food is very good and tasty. nice atmosphere and the loo's are exceptionally clean. Great place and its new.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willington
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Good Food - Good Atmosphere - Walking distance from Floral Villarosa”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

Good food for a good price - close to Floral Villarosa hotel/pool - about 400 meters/yards to walk...

Ribs were good - all the food was good! The atmosphere is nice and relaxed - music was a little too disco/tech at first but then quieted down to fit the mood of the restaurant.

Service was adequate - not too in your face but there if you needed something.

The frozen ice tea was really good - possibly just a little too lemony but still over all really good...

We would have gone back but only in Puerto Princesa for 3 days so wanted to try other places as well. Will definitely return next time we are in Palawan.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Bad food thats way too expensive”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

We've been there 2 times. The second time to give it a second chance but still same problems. Waiting long time for food and drinks. Besides the food there is way too expensive for the small portions. No spices and cheap ingredients. The owner always has excuses for his mismanagement and even gets angry at customers who complain. Just sad and disappointing.
If you really like good food and nice ambience, go to La Terrasse on Rizal Ave. Best restaurant so far !

  • Visited February 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“Good food and decent prices”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014 via mobile

We ate at Captain Ribs on 10 February. We had the quesadilla, chicken wings, BBQ ribs and then more chicken wings. It was a quietish night initially as it was pouring down outside, but it got steadily busier and the security guard was meeting arriving guests outside and covering them with an umbrella, which was nice. There is an outside seating area which wasn't in use for obvious reasons. The clientele was a mix of tourists and locals, which is always a good sign.

The service was prompt and friendly, and the food tasty and well cooked. The drinks were cheap and good too. There was a nice informal friendly feel about the place.

Towards the end we met the owner Stephane from Paris, and he was very keen to get feedback and suggestions. One thing we commented was the spicy wings weren't really spicy - this is a deliberate thing as customers will just leave them if they are too spicy, so if you really want spicy make sure you make a special request.

All in all a good night, and we would go back except we are only in Puerto Princesa for 3 nights.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed CAPTAIN RIBS also viewed

Puerto Princesa, Palawan Island
Puerto Princesa, Palawan Island
 
Puerto Princesa, Palawan Island
Puerto Princesa, Palawan Island
 

Been to CAPTAIN RIBS? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage CAPTAIN RIBS, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.