We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place with a service that needs to improve” 3 of 5 stars
Review of La Villa Princesa Bed and Breakfast

La Villa Princesa Bed and Breakfast
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added La Villa Princesa Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
La Villa Princesa Bed and Breakfast
Manalo Extension, Puerto Princesa, Palawan Island 5300, Philippines   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #80 of 146 Puerto Princesa B&B and Inns
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Nice place with a service that needs to improve”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

La Villa Prinsesa is a nice place with a native theme. It has an open space inside the hotel that its center of attraction because of its simple but relaxing feel.

However, the sad part of my story is that we booked thru the hotel out underground river schedule two weeks ahead of time but they failed to coordinate it. When we arrived at Palawan we are the one that booked our tour to the underground river even if we are already fully paid with the hotel for the tour.

Staff are nice and cordial. It is just that they need to wow the guests by doing in advance what the guest needs.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    3
    2
    4
    1
See reviews for
2
3
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

Room: small but clean and new including bathroom.
Staff: helpful.
Location: near to airport, accessible to transportation along the road.
Food: free breakfast is the same everyday except for the fruit.Plus factor there is water dispenser whicn i really like .
Price: reasonably price
Overall: recommended hopefully they cpuld maintain it.

Room Tip: Choose room away from their kitchen you can hear voice of the staff, and sounds of the utensils .
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
142 helpful votes 142 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

This is the best option for all budget travelers who will be staying at Puerto Princesa.
Quality and wallet friendly accommodation. This bed & breakfast just opened last June 2012.

The staff are very courteous and helpful. The rooms and bathrooms are modern and clean, beds and pillows are comfortable too. The rooms comes with cable TV, airconditioning, hot water, free continental breakfast and FREE WIFI! Breakfast meal upgrade is possible at a minimal price. Free drinking water is always available at the hallway. This inn has no swimming pool. Since this is just a small inn guests are handled with personal touch. This is just around 5 mins away from the airport. I will definitely recommend this place to my friends.

Room Tip: Book early as they are often fullybooked.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davao City
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

Before anything else, if you are the demanding type of traveler then this place is not for you so you should go find reviews for HOTELS instead of B&B’s and stop reading this now. But if you are the type who appreciates the quality and value for money of the place you sleep in without expecting 5-star quality service, then read on.
La Villa Princesa officially opened last June 2012 which makes it a good, clean place to stay with when in Puerto Princesa, Palawan. As the establishment belongs to the Bed & Breakfast category, don't expect a rock star welcome for you only get welcome drinks and the keys to your room. Now here's what to expect once you've paid the Php500 refundable deposit for the TV/aircon remote controls and settled in...

- Rooms. New, clean and well kept. You get strong A/C, wall-mounted TV, clean bathroom with toiletries and hot & cold shower. I just didn't like the set of pillows - too soft for me.
- Surroundings and amenities. This is not your typical “box-type” environment. There’s a small courtyard in the middle of the property, the rooms are located on the sides, and the lobby is given the open-air motif. You get free wifi access, free cold/hot water from a water dispenser located on the lobby, and free daily al fresco continental breakfast.
- Privacy. Your room will stay the way it was when you left it, so if you want a change of towels and linens or want to have your room cleaned, just simply go ask the receptionist at the counter. Remember, this is not a hotel so keep a leveled expectation since I also noticed that there are only a few personnel currently employed here with little or no proper HRM training, but still courteous nonetheless.
- Peace and quiet. It may be located alongside a road but it's a quiet area with sporadic traffic passing by. You can tuck in early at night with nary a buzz from the outside world.
- Ease of access to the city center. If you love walking, a few blocks is all you have to do to see the sights and sounds of the PPC nightlife - not much compared to a major metropolis but it's still called "nightlife" anyway.
- Service. Let me put it this way: Ask and ye shall receive. :)
- Overall value for money. I'd say above average for a B&B since the place is new, clean, and the price is on par with "older" establishments. With that said, I will definitely come back to stay again.

Room Tip: Ask for the rooms in the middle of the property as those are nearest to the water dispenser. :p
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasig, Rizal, Philippines
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

We originally opted to stay in House of Big Brother in Manalo St., the pensionne house included in our tour package as described by Ms. Anne Duran of Tiffany Travel and Tours. But for some reasons, it has been shifted to this La Villa Princesa which is located just in opposite road of the Big Brother house. I got a little disappointed with a short notice but I relied to Ms. Anne since she told me that La Villa is a better option although the reason is just plainly for having a free breakfast.

We're now on Day 2 here in La Villa,and here's my review so far:

Day 1 - We are greeted by the receptionist, whose name I can't remember, with an expectation of transferring to another room after a couple of days because the room booked for us will just be available for 3 days. After registration and settling the complete tour package payment, we checked our room (Rm. 16) immediately in our attempt to rest but the smell of strong paint stung our eyes and got us coughing. But since no other room are available to accommodate four (4) people, we just turned the exhaust fan on, believing that the smell would be lessen a bit. The air conditioning unit ironically, cannot condition the room enough even after setting it to the lowest temp possible.

Day 2 - Our Honda Bay tour was supposed to start at 7:00AM, but it was delayed a bit so we just waited outside our room for the tourist guide. No staff asked if we want something, or even coffee so I asked how we could avail our breakfast. The maintenance guy told us that it would be late to eat breakfast since the tourist guide might arrive anytime soon.But after 15 mins he has been so kind to offer us coffee, but we haven't been able to take it because before he could prepare it, our tour guide arrived. After the tour, I confirmed with the receptionist that
the breakfast has already been forfeited and we can no longer avail it.

For just two (2) days, I can already submit a review for La Villa Pension house:

(1) First of all, do not expect attentive staff if you don't want to ruin your day debating with one.

(2) Secondly,do not expect to avail your breakfast if you happen to wake up even a bit later than 10AM. And lastly,

(3) do not believe what their tarpaulin says about them outside their Inn. This place is uncomfortable, with terrible internet connection.

I generally think it would be better to opt for a transient house than deal with sleepy staff. If you want to maximize and enjoy your stay in La Villa Pricesa, this is NOT the right place for you.

That's basically it. Nothing more, nothing less. 1/10.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to La Villa Princesa Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Villa Princesa Bed and Breakfast

Address: Manalo Extension, Puerto Princesa, Palawan Island 5300, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Mimaropa > Palawan Province > Palawan Island > Puerto Princesa
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #80 of 146 B&Bs / Inns in Puerto Princesa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your La Villa Princesa Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Villa Princesa Bed And Breakfast Palawan Island/Puerto Princesa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Villa Princesa Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.