We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A place my babe n I would always want to spend another holiday at!!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dos Palmas Island Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Dos Palmas Island Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Dos Palmas Island Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Arreceffi Island Resort Honda Bay, Puerto Princesa, Palawan Island 5300, Philippines   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 39 Hotels in Puerto Princesa
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Laoag
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A place my babe n I would always want to spend another holiday at!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2011

The long travel from Manila to the island is worth the experience!!! It's a great place for honeymooners and to those who are looking for a place to relax at... The staffs are very friendly! But I suggest that they should offer more water activities...

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    125
    46
    11
    4
See reviews for
80
103
7
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manila, Philippines
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2011

I've stayed there a long week-end and would not recommend this place. The location is beautiful, the staff very friendly but the resort needs some renovation. The room location is beautiful on the beach but they need to renovate them OR reduce the price. The beach towel I have been given had holes and the bathroom towels are used and grey.
For a westener, the food is not really good.

In summary, avoid this place that is expensive for what it is. If the managment wants to play in 4-5 stars courtyard then there's some work to be done!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2011

i spent 3 nights at dos palmas.

There's loads to do at the resort. kayaked and went snorkeling everyday. your guide will take you to the good spots. during the day though it tends to get more crowded. you do have the option of spending the day at the resorts other private island-take that option

had a great massage. they have a separate area for the spa which just makes the experience so much more relaxing.

the staff was great. they were very accommodating made sure we were comfortable.

the room was comfortable and spacious. would've been better if they had a tv or internet access in the room. They do have a tv and wifi access in the common area and show a movie or two at night but i just think it would've been nicer to have the option of watching tv in the room.

food was good. i cant say it blew me away but they always had seafood and dessert which made me very happy.

i will definitely go back to this resort when i visit palawan again.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Fra
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2011

Dos Palmas is a great resort and while everything on our stay was not perfect, we felt that we got our money's worth. Make certain you contact the resort via email to arrange a pickup from the airport. It is a 30 minute drive through the city and an additional 1 hour boat ride to the resort. Once there, you are welcomed by the staff playing music and have a host/hostess that gives you a quick orientation for the resort.

Our room was very clean and comfortable with a great air conditioner. The balcony had a wonderful view of the mangroves and the ocean on one side of the island. The bathroom fixtures had crusty build-up (no doubt from the very hard water, which is something I think they cannot really help) and the water itself was extremely salty, so do not drink it. Ever. Other than that, we did not have a problem with the room.

The resort was built with water activities in mind. They have a dive shop fully equipped with everything you need to go snorkeling, diving, kayaking, etc. There are also plenty of lounge chairs, covered sitting areas and hammocks available for simply enjoying the beautiful beach.

The large dining area is combined with the bar, lounge, and game room and make up the common areas of the resort. There is also a very nice videoke room with a/c. All meals are served buffet style for breakfast, lunch and dinner. The food was probably the weakest part of the resort stay. It was not bad by any means, but it could use some work. All the Filipino dishes were excellent. Unfortunately, most of the international dishes did not taste like they should. Our picnic lunch on a small separate island was great and should not be missed.

Service here was friendly, prompt, and attentive. We both had excellent massages at the spa. Internet was reliable and fast in the common area. Overall, we had a very pleasant stay and most likely come back again.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2011

we got a voucher deal for dospalmas. the only downside was our reservation in their manila office, bcos they couldnt seem to confirm if i already sent my flight details when i even did already for close to 4 times, and the location of the resort (if you need anything in the city, there's a schedule for the boat and it would also depends on the weather/condition of the open seas).

no need to worry anymore about the rico yan and the abu sayyaf cases, both were isolated cases i believe. there's 24hours security now on the shore, so no need to worry.

service of the staff was excellent, from the room service, frontdesk, restaurant to the boatmen/snorkelling guide. my friend said, they were "consistently friendly and courteous". the food was abundant, except the breakfast that might be too limited for other people like japanese/or other asians who want some noodles, as mainly the breakfast is either filipino/american.continental.

our room was clean, the water in the bathroom is still semi-salty. i wish the exhaust fan worked better. and our balcony door was more well-maintained.

the island was nice, the beach was relatively clear(but not as clear as boracay's waters) but the sand was fine also. there were lounge areas around the beach. we were able to go island-hopping to nearby beaches (which the resort can arrange for you for a fee). other tours can be arranged through the frontdesk and yes, they prepare a rough itinerary for you if you like. the resort was quiet, perfect for some R&R. there's no TV in the rooms, but they have wifi(relatively fast,good enough speed) in the restaurant.

When booking: try to book rooms A-F(letters starting in the alphabet) since these rooms are nearer to the restaurant, some rooms, are at the back, so quite a walk (but there's shuttle.. I'm not sure if it's on call at any given time) Tip: get a bike, it's a pleasant ride going to the room (this is free, but make sure to pick a good one, some bikes are not okay)

Room Tip: A-F rooms on the second floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2011

If there's one thing I will remember Dos Palmas by, it will not be the beach, it will not be the accommodations and it will not be the service. It will have to be the buffet. The food was beyond words. Every meal time was a time to look forward to for me. For that, I commend the kitchen for always coming up with good food, no fail. Even when we ordered customized pasta, they delivered. That's how good the kitchen is. And this more than made up for the spartan accommodations, the warm service and the ok quality of the beach and the pool. Frankly, there is nothing to do on the island resort. And the killer was that there was no TV in the room.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2011

I'm sure that when you think of Dos Palmas, you think of the Abu Abduction that happened so many years ago... the Rico Yan incident. The island, the facilities, the service and the food are so good, you should leave all these negative perception behind.

We stayed at Dos Palmas last April 1-2. Took advantage of their summer promo of P5,000 per night for adults and P1,800 per child. This is all worth it because the services that they offer, the food and the rooms are all better than the ones being offered at Puerto Princessa. If you compute the individual cost you'll end up paying more at lesser quality.

For the rate, it is inclusive of buffet lunch (about P700+), dinner (P800+) and breakfast (P500+). The other parts - covers for the kayaking experience, the snorkelling (we did it twice - the day before and morning) and the overnight stay.

The beds, towels and linens are five star quality. The overflowng coffee is good

The snorkelling experience is one of a kind. The attendants will bring you to the snorkelling site (very near the resort) in a speed boat. They will provide you with all the equipment - snorkelling, vest and for the first time snorkelers, they will ggide you and bring you the best site themselves. They will show you Nemo and the other fish in the area.

There are two swimming pools. The first one is the usual resort pool that the kids will enjoy. But there is another pool good for lapping in the spa area. This spa area is so luxurious. Massage is about P1,000 but this is so much better than the P250/hour that you would get in Manila.

The service is so personalized. As they welcome you, they will provide you with a proposed itinerary on what facilities/ activities you can do in the resort. You will also see a reminder in your hotel rom on what time you should leave the hotel complete with your flight details.

When we wen to the spa, we left our kids with the staff and since there are no TVs in the room, they watched a movie with the staff. They set up a big screen for the kids near the dining area.

The only set back is that the dining area/ pavilion needs improvement, a good coating of paint will do it good especially this summer. We saw it when we were assessing the place when we arrive. But once you experience the personalized service and the marine sports facilities, you would forget all these things.

Room Tip: Check out promo before the onset of the summer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dos Palmas Island Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dos Palmas Island Resort & Spa

Address: Arreceffi Island Resort Honda Bay, Puerto Princesa, Palawan Island 5300, Philippines
Phone Number:
Location: Philippines > Mimaropa > Palawan Province > Palawan Island > Puerto Princesa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Princesa
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Princesa
#5 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Princesa
#6 Family Hotel in Puerto Princesa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Dos Palmas Island Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your Dos Palmas Island Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dos Palmas Island Resort And Spa
Dos Palmas Island Hotel Puerto Princesa
Dos Palmas Island Resort & Spa Palawan Island/Puerto Princesa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dos Palmas Island Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.