We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love it! Stayed in 2009 and had to come back” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Puerto Pension

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Puerto Pension to your Saves list
Puerto Pension
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   35 Malvar Street, Puerto Princesa, Palawan Island 5300, Philippines   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 39 Hotels in Puerto Princesa
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
183 reviews 183 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
135 helpful votes 135 helpful votes
“Love it! Stayed in 2009 and had to come back”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

beautiful grounds, friendly staff, comfy rooms and a wonderful breakfast (included on the top floor with great views). They added a jacuzzi (not hot water) private area that you can pay $10 to use which is very nice. Wifi is not good

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    116
    29
    11
    3
See reviews for
49
120
33
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

Puerto Pension is very tastefully decorated, well-located and altogether pleasant.

Having to pre-order your breakfast was a bit strange, but as we had a flight to catch the next morning, it made things faster, which was nice. The (upgraded) breakfast was actually decent. The rooftop restaurant is beautiful.

Rooms are small, but in a tasteful 'native' style. Beds are super comfortable, and the toilet is immaculately clean.

The hotel is also very close to the bayfront area, and the market/city center, yet is down a quiet street.

Highly recommended!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei, Taipei, Taiwan
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

Well equipped cozy rooms, mini fridge, cable tv, great comfortable beds, new air con, desk, space to hang clothes. Staff was friendly. Good security. Plenty of nice places in the hotel to hang out. Ordered several dishes from their restaurant, all where good.

The hotel is one block from the port where you can rent bikes, eat great fresh seafood, and generally sit and people watch. Its also a few block away from a local market and shopping center. Not far from the airport either.

The only let down was no internet. The matter was out of their hands it seemed.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

We were picked up at the airport by a Jumbo Jeep-nee.
The driver welcomed us warmly and provided information of possible dinning spots along the way to the hotel which turned out to be most helpful.

Checking in was super fast and simple even tough we arrived way before check in time.
The rooms were clean and comfortable. The B&B and has a nice garden and relax area. Breakfast served on the third level which provided a view over the pier/bay area.

Minutes away from the market and bay walk area. So no worries about places to eat.

The service we received from the staff during our stay was most attentive and impressive.
I highly recommend this place.

Room Tip: For the elderly, you may want to request for ground floor rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

SUMMARY

Foreigners would especially love this place. The pension is made out of native materials like nipa and makes you feel as if you're roughing it with comfort. The place has no elevators but it's quaint and lovely, and makes you happy to go back for more. Location, service, food and price, this pension's got it all!

LOCATION

Puerto Pension lies at the heart of Puerto Princesa in Malvar Street, just a brief walk from the Old Market where you can buy the cheapest pearls and souvenirs in town, and Baywalk which is just beautiful at night. It's so convenient that it's a mere 15 minute ride away from the airport, and around Php 8-10/person almost everywhere. Well known among tricycle drivers too so for sure, you won't get lost. Rooms come with free transfers so that's a plus!

SERVICE

I just love Puerto Pension's staff. Stayed here for 7 days and their level of service never wavered a bit. Even though I was late for breakfast one time, they still served my coffee and free continental breakfast with nary a complaint. From the guard to the reception and up to room service, Puerto Pension's staff are courteous, friendly, and are willing to even help me make a reservation at Ka Lui (a restaurant you just have to visit if you're in PP). No matter how silly your questions can be, they are always patient, and make helpful recommendations on tours and how to DIY them.

COMFORT

The beds are clean with white sheets. The pillows are fluffy and are a perfect balance of hard and soft. The mattress sinks a bit via the memory foam but is neither cheap or unstable. The aircon, thank God, is cold and you just have to know how to manipulate the controls to get the coolest temperature (Hint: Press "Turbo"). The toilets are very clean and also come with hot water for a shower at any time. My only complaint is our toilet which has a funny smell, but hey, the rest of the room more than make up for it.

FOOD

If you think pension food is bland and expensive, you can't be more wrong. Though we chose to have our meals outside, we did have one lunch at the pension and ordered their reasonable chicken adobo (Php 99) which was good enough for two, and their pasta (Php 109), which was more than enough for my hungry cousin. It's definitely way cheaper than food in Manila, and the price exceeds the quality of what you consume.

PRICE

It's not expensive for less than Php 2,000/night. Room rate comes with a delicious free continental breakfast with three slices of bread, butter and marmalade, refillable coffee/tea/chocolate, egg - any way you want it cooked, a glass of juice and seasonal fruit. Internet can be a bit spotty but is mostly there. You just have to be patient. Overall, I would recommend everyone to stay at this pension!

Room Tip: We stayed at Room 15, and it was enough for 3 pax.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014 via mobile

Puerto Pension was a very nice and clean place and we really enjoyed our stay. Their tours were a HUGE waste of money so beware. I'll explain further down.

We had booked a sea view room through agoda but when we got there they told us their deluxe rooms did not have sea view so we just settled for the regular room. This room started having a serious water leak so they upgraded us to a sea view room to compensate which was nice.
Most of the bars and restaurants are closer to the aiport so if you want to go there you'll need to take a tricycle there at night for 30 to 50 pesos which is pretty cheap.
Otherwise you can walk to the port which has several restaurants serving fresh fish.
As mentioned earlier the tours we booked - 'Undergroud River ' and 'Honda Bay' were terrible.
For the underground river tour the agency the hotel booked us through did not get us a permit ahead of time so they picked us up at 630am to take us to the tourism office which opened at 8am. We didn't leave there until 9am. Overall the tour lasted 12 hrs and consisted of driving there (2hrs) and then just waiting around for our boat number to come up so we could see the river (45 mins total). The cave and river are not worth this hassle, your time is better spent elsewhere.
Honda Bay tour - when we got there we were told that there was a typhoon coming so we could not go too far. Hence we spent all day on 2 islands packed with people with swimming confined to a specific area. The third 'island' was a floating platform from which you could swim over corals (which u could barely see) in your life jacket as they don't want you damaging the corals.
Puerto Princesa is a nice chill town but don't bother with the excursions.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

We stayed there for 3 days, we were in 2 deluxe c rooms that shared a bathroom. They arranged the tours for us, which included the city tour, underground river and honda bay. We didnt have to worry bout anything. Ambiance was beyond my expectations. Service wad the best I had so far. The restaurant in the top floor has an overlooking view of tge ocean and the baywalk us just a 5 minutes walk from there. The place is beautr and affordable. If I can go back in puerto princesa, I'll definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Puerto Pension? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Puerto Pension

Address: 35 Malvar Street, Puerto Princesa, Palawan Island 5300, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Mimaropa > Palawan Province > Palawan Island > Puerto Princesa
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Princesa
#5 Family Hotel in Puerto Princesa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Puerto Pension 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Puerto Pension reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Puerto Pension Hotel Puerto Princesa
Puerto Hotel Princesa
Puerto Pension Palawan Island/Puerto Princesa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Puerto Pension, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.