We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"local-feel" experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Puerto Pension

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Puerto Pension to your Saves list
Puerto Pension
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   35 Malvar Street, Puerto Princesa, Palawan Island 5300, Philippines   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 39 Hotels in Puerto Princesa
San Francisco
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“"local-feel" experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

Nice, small hotel walking distance to the market and Baywalk. Friendly and efficient staff. Great service and amenities, though WiFi seems to have bandwidth problems during peak hours. Clean and airy 4th floor restaurant with great views of the bay.

Room Tip: Pick a room on the 4-floor wing. They have slightly bigger rooms compared to the rooms at the wing w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    116
    29
    11
    3
See reviews for
49
120
33
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

From the minute I arrived at this place I was impressed, my bags were taken, a fresh cold fruit juice was provided at reception and I was quickly shown to my room. The staff were super friendly, big welcoming smiles and helpful with any questions. The rooms are small but compact and made of local materials. No bugs at all and the traditional materials meant it was quite different but cool ! My room had satellite TV, minibar, telephone, WIFI and the A/C and fan ensured my stay was very comfortable. Breakfast was provided on the roof top restaurant and was basic but sufficient. I went on a tour on my last day and was able to leave my bags in the store room and then was facilitated to have a shower upon my return before the free shuttle bus took me to the airport. Puerto Pension punched way above its weight and I felt it offered exceptionally good value for money. I would definitely stay here again !

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mangilao, Guam
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

Located at walking distance from "downtown" Puerto Princesa in a quiet neighborhood near the bay, Puerto Pension is basically a hotel with very small rooms rather than a traditional bed and breakfast. It remains a bargain because the rooms are well-equipped with cable TV and very effective air conditioning and fan (I found the fan made the room comfortable). The mattress was firm and gave a wonderful night's sleep. Staff speaks excellent English and is extremely helpful. Also helpful was the policy of smoking only on the outside verandas, which has the added benefit of helping you to meet the other guests. I was there while a typhoon was ravaging the central provinces of the Philippines--very little impact on Palawan--and met 20-somethings from Switzerland and Canada, and a Filipino expert on tuna fisheries: a very fun and outgoing clientele. One caution for older or mobility-restricted travelers: the breakfast room/restaurant is a room with a great view of the bay on the fourth floor, but there is no elevator. The restaurant is open for lunch and dinner and has a good selection of Filipino dishes at a reasonable price. Definitely worth a return visit during the dry season (spring).

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Pinas, Philippines
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

It was our first visit to palawan and stayed in here with family for 4 days.
The place is secure and clean . I love the view of the restaurant . .the garden was relaxing .Staff are friendly and they even arranged our transport going to the underground river .
Walking distance to the market and the main street

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria Aurora, Aurora, Philippines
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

We stayed at Puerto Pension for 3 nights. It was a great experience. Nice and clean room. Very friendly staff and so helpful. Free airport service! Breakfast is good and you can choose from continental to filippino breakfast (try Langonisa!). We will come back again!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miri, Malaysia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

The hotel is small and has a welcoming family atmosphere with friendly,helpful English speaking staff. The rooms are clustered round a central garden and there is a roof top restaurant/bar with a view over the bay. All areas of the hotel were clean and well maintained. The breakfast included with the room was good and could be upgraded for a nominal amount to include a big selection of western and philippino foods, all cooked to order. There is a free shuttle from/to the airport and AC & cable TV in the rooms. It is situated close to the Bay Walk esplanade with many food & drink stalls at night. My single room was a bit small but comfortable and adequate. I would stay here again if I return to Puerto Princesa.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

We stayed at Puerto Pension last Oct 9, 2013. Arriving at 9:30pm, we were welcomed warmly by friendly hotel staff even at such late time. The hotel staff were friendly and accommodating. Rates are reasonable, reservation through Internet was quite easily done. The building is quite attractive with its Philippine inspired architecture. We enjoyed their beddings very much because they used good comforters and plump pillows. Hot shower was available, however, the use of their shower is quite complicated, one needs to decipher how to use it. Airport transfer was very efficient - our group had two departures and they took note of this. Puerto Pension is located in the center of the city near other places of possible interest to tourists like Baywalk, Unitop department store and their public market.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Puerto Pension? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Puerto Pension

Address: 35 Malvar Street, Puerto Princesa, Palawan Island 5300, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Mimaropa > Palawan Province > Palawan Island > Puerto Princesa
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Princesa
#5 Family Hotel in Puerto Princesa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Puerto Pension 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Puerto Pension reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Puerto Pension Hotel Puerto Princesa
Puerto Hotel Princesa
Puerto Pension Palawan Island/Puerto Princesa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Puerto Pension, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.