We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small Rooms, Good Internet” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Puerto Pension

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Puerto Pension to your Saves list
Puerto Pension
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   35 Malvar Street, Puerto Princesa, Palawan Island 5300, Philippines   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 38 Hotels in Puerto Princesa
Torrance, California
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Small Rooms, Good Internet”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

I got a room here for about 3 days as part of a package tour. The room is somewhat small since I'm 6'3 and it was designed like a wooden and grass hut like traditional local designs. The internet is nice and the aircon is strong and crisp.

I would recommend it for solo travelers or a small sized couple since the room ceilings are really low! Other than that great price and the location is near the main road so you can walk to many restaurants or get a tricycle transport. The free breakfast was pretty basic: just an egg and some rice/bread and some fruit, thats it. No swimming pool or gym. Has cable tv though.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    106
    28
    10
    2
See reviews for
46
110
28
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
makati city
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

Stayed here last February. The staff are are very accommodating. They clean the room everyday. Welcome drinks upon arrival. Would recommend breakfast upgrade for an additional P89 (around $2). Restaurant is located at the top floor, with a nice view of the baywalk. They also offer tours. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

I really like this hotel. The rooms are big, clean and comfortable. The AC works really well, The showers get hot and there is a TV you can watch from your bed. You have a great view of the ocean while your eating breakfast. I will always stay here anytime I am in Puerto Princessa again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, Ile-de-France, France
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

Charming place, peaceful and lovely, we felt really good there ! So good that we decided to spend two extra nights there.
The team of is the pension is absolutly perfect, always smily and helpfull !
They give clever advices and take care of you as if you were from their family.
Bedrooms are clean and confortable.
You can go there eyes closed ! (as we say in french)

Room Tip: Don't take the room first price, that is too dark and the air is really wet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iloilo City, Philippines
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

Puerto Pension offers reasonable prices with modern amenities. Trooms are very clean and the staff are friendly. It's walking distance by the Baywalk and the view from the hotel's restaurant is beautiful...It's also very near the airport. They also offer tour packages. A lot of breakfast menus to choose from.

Room Tip: Rooms are small but nice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Probably situated in the best end of town, a short walk from it all but that is a plus.
The staff are very helpful and friendly, more than happy to help you with any tour requirements, transport or whatever you need in general.

The rooms are comfortable and have that sense of autheticity without being too 'try hard' or tacky. Our bathroom was new and spacious and the room provided everything we needed.

We stayed in room 20, which we definitely recommend you ask to stay in as it has a beautiful view over the bay and of the sunset ( dont think any of the other rooms have this )

You will enjoy your stay here.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 20, which we definitely recommend you ask to stay in as it has a beautiful view ov...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

My family and i went to Puerto Princesa Palawan mainly for the Underground River tour and for the famous island hopping. Little did we expect to find a very nice and relaxing pension house right in the middle of the city. It is very near the airport, around 10 to 15 minutes travel time. It is walking distance (around 3 to 5 minutes)to the now very famous " bay walk" wherein you canrent bikes and enjoy sunset or just simply cool down after a day's tour. You can also eat dinner there for there are lots of restaurants that will serve you freshly grilled seafoods and barbecues. There are also food cartd that serve street foods and various souvenir items. But wait there's still more, the pension house itself is cozy but the main buliding itself is made of concrete and cement but with the exterior design is made with nipa, sawali, wood and other native materials. All these, adding up to the feeling that you are somewhere in a nearby province. The landscape and the lighting including all the woorden furnitures and antique ornaments will put you in a perfect vacation mode. Staff are friendly, attentive and courteous. They even volunteered to print our boarding pass when we did a web check in for our returrn trip to Manila. They also have restaurant in the fourth floor where we usually take our breakfast. This will give you superb view of the bay walk overlooking the sea and the mountains, breath-taking scenery. Their staff in the restaurant are very attentive. We had our first lunch there, we ordered creamy carbonarra with bacon bits and two types of signature pizza. All meals were delicious! The price is reasonable and the pasta serving is big considering its price. But the rest of our meals whenwe are in the pension were taken at the bay walk because our kids always rent bikes there in the evening. Bobby, a friendly and bubbly driver fetched us from the airport using their oversized airconditioned jeepney. He was very friendly, my daughter even requested for her picture to be taken with him.

One comment though for improvement, the water inlet in the toilet bowl is too slow that it takes so long to refill the flush bowl. The water heather as well in the room where we stayed had malfunctioned during the first day. But it was immediately repaired by one of their facility staff. I think they need to consider replacing some of their old heathers. The aircon though works very well and the room smells good and clean. The bed is soft and pillows are fluffy, the interiior of the room will make you relaxed through the walled sawali and native matrials including the banig covered ceiling. . I will definitely recommend this place to all my friends and relative who wish to visit Palawan. This is one place we shall definitely come back to once we are again in Puerto Princesa!

Room Tip: If you are a family of four, just book the family room and request for an additional bed. The famil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Puerto Pension? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Puerto Pension

Address: 35 Malvar Street, Puerto Princesa, Palawan Island 5300, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Mimaropa > Palawan Province > Palawan Island > Puerto Princesa
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Princesa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Puerto Pension 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Venere and Agoda so you can book your Puerto Pension reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Puerto Pension Hotel Puerto Princesa
Puerto Hotel Princesa
Puerto Pension Palawan Island/Puerto Princesa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Puerto Pension, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.