We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Salute!!! Historical and memorable experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Palawan Special Battalion WW2 Memorial Museum

Palawan Special Battalion WW2 Memorial Museum
Rizal Avenue Extension | Barangay Banaco-Bancao, Puerto Princesa, Palawan Island 5300, Philippines
63 9996562471
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Attraction details
Pasig, Philippines
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Salute!!! Historical and memorable experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

Its a Birthday Treat and I chose not to leave Puerto Princesa right away~ I never felt bored ...In fact I enjoyed every minute since this trip is very educational and memorable...Wish that the owner will preserve every single thing in this Museum!!! Aside fro the fact that its a noble thing to do!!! Wish that travel agencies will include this museum in their list of activities. Not all tourists love nature but some of them needs information regarding Palawan History and Filipino bravery!!! Salute!!!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    25
    14
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Manila, Philippines
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Worth seeing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

I suppose it is not one of the more famous city attractions in Puerto Princesa (as it is usually not included in the City Familiarization Tour). Nonetheless, it is worth a visit especially if one is into museums, For an entrance fee of about Php 40-50, you could see and take photos of a private collection of war memorabilia - from ammunition to uniforms to gas masks to model fighter planes to trash cans used during WW2. Collection is few but well-organized and when we visited, a guide was nice enough to explain to us each gallery thought it was a few hours before closing.

It is open Mondays to Saturdays 8AM-6PM and closes an hour earlier during Sundays and accessible by 10-minute tricycle ride from city proper.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chula Vista, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“This should be number one on your visit to Palawan”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

For a small museum, it is very informative and moving. The young lady who is the curator escorted me around was very knowledgeable and informative. I only wish I had the opportunity to meet Admiral Mendoza. The curator said he is now very aged and was taking his rest. If you love the Philippines and the United States then you must see this museum. Take your time, see all there is to see, ask questions. They have a wonderful book for sale entitled "Palawan's Fighting One Thousand." P400 (approx. $9.30) but well worth the money.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bacolod, Philippines
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Combat Memoir”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

It’s just a 10-minute drive from the airport. It's a private property owned by the son of a local hero Dr. Higinio Mendoza, Sr. Inside the property is a sort of warehouse which features museum pieces with historical value dating back to World War II in the Philippines. Near the entrance, you will find an old willy’s jeep mounted with a machine gun. Surrounding the jeep is a fence made of Marsden steel plates. You can have pictures taken complete with uniform. Other interesting stuff to see are a typewriter, stenography machine, rusting guns and ammunition, large bombs, bolos and other weaponry; miniature war planes and ships; soldier uniforms, books and other reading materials about World War II, and old paper denominations used during the war. Smaller rooms also hold displays of US, UK, Russia, Japan & Germany paraphernalia. All on display are his personal collections. It's a tribute to his father and the 1000 special filipino battalion who fought against the Japanese imperial army.
The museum collects P30 as entrance fee. They are open from 8am to 5pm daily. They hoist a tiny flag at the entrance table representing the nationalities of visitors for the day.
We even had a picture with Admiral Higinio “Buddy” Mendoza Jr., a businessman and active officer in the Philippine Coast Guard Auxiliary and the local hero's son. He was very accommodating and openly discussed with me situations at the Tubataha Reef. Oops! That will be featured in another review. And by the way, don't miss the 1957 Buick parked at the back of the marker.

Tips:
1. This is not usually included in the city tour so you need to squeeze it in your itinerary or ask your guide about it.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dasmarinas City, Philippines
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Treasures from the past!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

Worth for your time to visit this place. Huge collections of world war II memorabilia's and Palawan's old history. Well preserved and arranged. It's amazing that the Former Admiral or Vice admiral Mendoza (correct me if I'm wrong) thought about it. Nice collections and I hope many people will support as well donate some stuffs to be included there (like the missiles and army uniforms). It will always reminds us that how cruel but triumphant in the end the world war II. I will really suggest to see the museum when visiting Palawan.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Palawan Special Battalion WW2 Memorial Museum also viewed

Puerto Princesa, Palawan Island
 
Puerto Princesa, Palawan Island
Puerto Princesa, Palawan Island
 

Been to Palawan Special Battalion WW2 Memorial Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palawan Special Battalion WW2 Memorial Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.