We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome piece of paradise...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cooper's Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Cooper's Beach Resort to your Saves list
Cooper's Beach Resort
3.0 of 5 Guest house   |   Sitio Katumbal Lucbuan, Puerto Princesa, Palawan Island 5300, Philippines   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #59 of 146 Puerto Princesa B&B and Inns
World
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Awesome piece of paradise...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

Spend 3 days in a fan room which was very spacious, comfy, well designed & very clean.
The resort is a little far (1hr) from the airport but the resort is able to arrange a shuttle which is super convenient & fantastic. The location is remote & adds to the feeling of being in a wonderful secluded slice of paradise. Directly on the beach, they have their own dive shop which takes advantage of all the cool dive sites in Honda Bay.
Staff go above & beyond to ensure your stay is effortless & peaceful.
I'm definitely coming back & would highly recommend!!

Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    7
    4
    4
    5
See reviews for
4
18
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Orange Park, Florida
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

I don't really know how to rate this place after I got beatin by the Mosquitos inside the hotel's room and until now I'm still suffering from it.My comment is that their sliding door has no screen and they keep the doors open until the room is occupied ,the room smell like molds I have to spray the room with my own Cologne.I just hope that the room's smell good and free from Mosquitos .I'm glad that my nephew was there went out to the desk and get something to help get rid of the Mosquitos I think he killed hundreds of them after all we had a good sleep that night.The breakfast buffet was not good at all , good thing they cook us some eggs and bacon from the kitchen.I hope to come back here in few years and I hope it will be better, cause this place is nice and quiet resort.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

We had the priviledge of spending New Year's Eve at Cooper's Resort and it was without doubt one of the best new year's celebrations ever!

The owners, Frank & Lydia, went out of their way to make this a memorable event for all their guests. Not only was the setting of the party stunningly illuminated with torches that were placed along the beach, as well as lots of party decoration, but the food - a superb lechon freshly prepared by Frank and his crew - was out of this world! Drinks were flowing all night and everybody eventually ended up dancing under palm trees. Most noteworthy, however, was the fact that Cooper's Resort had managed to get members of one of the last real hilltribes of Palawan, famous for being secluded and not easily enticed to interact with outsiders, to the resort and dance for - and with - us guests. It was a fantastic experience and one we will remember for a very long time.

This was our second time at Cooper's but certainly not our last. Everytime you think it can't get any better, the guys from Cooper's surprise you and top it up. We simply love it there. This is THE place to go if you are in the Philippines!

Have I mentioned the superb swimming pool and best cocktails?

Room Tip: All rooms are spacious, clean and actually with a designer feel. We've travelled Philippines a l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

We know who is Nanana2012 and we were at the same time in Coopers Beach Resort.
What Nanana2012 wrote, we can Say that its absolutely NOT TRUE.
The resort is an absolute dream and the staff is very helpful every time. Every staff is always approaching us and asking if we need something or if we need assistance. The price is absolutely not over price. The food is very good, they serve different meal in everyday .We we can only thank Coopers for all the great and wonderful holiday and we say: We will be back! In addition, we would like to recommend Coopers Beach Resort for all who are willing to make quite relaxes vacation and want to have a great time.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013 via mobile

One of the worst resort i've EVER been!!
Charges are very high compare to the other resorts. And If you are planning to go to the city for a short time and thinking of riding the resort service, BETTER to ask the price before you GO GO ... because you might get surprise when you check out and finds out that you've been charge for the fee that you don't expect to be!
Foods are quite boring as they almost serve the same dish everyday.

DEFINITELY not coming back to this resort!!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Been here last December 2012 with my two Thai friends. We we're upgraded to family room from double room. it was good for us :D. The staffs are accommodating. We had the Island hopping tour ( thanks to Ms. Jessica for turning back to the resort to pick us since we arrived late :p) had a great fun talking with her during our stay and Underground River Tour (handled by Travel and Tours). The place was good and relaxing. I just didn't like their beach. It's not sand, but mud i think :S ... The food is really pricey and it's far from the city so better bring a lot of snacks since there's no other restaurant nearby. The owner Ms.Lydia Kesner and her husband was so amazing. They brought us back to the airport personally. Thank you ^^

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

if you want to get away from the crowds and relax in a small no frills but clean resort with decent sized rooms then this can be an option. pool is decent size and very clean and so are the gardens. beach front small but beach and gardens are very well kept.
however
1) food is utterly expensive of very limited choice and extremely unhealthy. expect to be fed overly priced under par fried frozen stuff from cheap supermarket. if you expect salads then you will be having cucumber and tomato throughout. absolutely NO FRESH FOOD available (fish or seafood and fruit juices) also nearby there are absolutely NO other food options
2) swimming in the sea is not possible due to very low tides
3) despite a fabulous phone signal wifi was nowhere to be seen in the 4 days i spent there
4) you will be away from everything so you will have to rely on the overly priced services provided by the resort.
5) you may find daily beach filipino excursion and karaoke pumping out-loud on the beach from 10 am onwards and the barbecue fumes while sun bathing
6) if you have small children the pool maybe an hazzard
manage your expectations, bring snacks and entertainment and you will be fine

Room Tip: bring in a lot of snacks and good entertainement (books, etc). chances are that tv or wi fi are not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cooper's Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cooper's Beach Resort

Address: Sitio Katumbal Lucbuan, Puerto Princesa, Palawan Island 5300, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Mimaropa > Palawan Province > Palawan Island > Puerto Princesa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 146 B&Bs / Inns in Puerto Princesa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Cooper's Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cooper's Beach Resort is the first resort build in barangay Lucbuan and one of the five star resort in nort-east part of Palawan.It is a European/Filipino style of pension houses made for a classy and traditional looks of both nation. Cooper's Beach Resort also offers accommodation with fine dining restaurant that can, serves german, american and filipino dishes.A coozy beach bar, swimming pool, jacuzzi, spa/massage room, mini fitness gym and a diving school. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Cooper's Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cooper's Beach Resort Palawan Island/Puerto Princesa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cooper's Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.