We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location in PPC” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Matutina Pensionne

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Matutina Pensionne to your Saves list
Matutina Pensionne
2.0 of 5 Guest house   |   40 Taft Street | Brgy. Kalipay, Puerto Princesa, Palawan Island 5300, Philippines   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #40 of 163 Puerto Princesa B&B and Inns
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great location in PPC”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

After months of doing my research on this place, I finally had the chance to stay here. Matutina Pensionne is conveniently located in Taft Street right along Rizal Avenue. Was here for 4D3N with my sisters & we enjoyed it! The place is simple and with all that antique furniture only gave it that extra homey feel. The rooms were super comfortable. Amenities we didn't bring such as shampoo/soap/water etc could be purchased there.

Ms. Malu was super friendly and very informative whether it was by email or in person. She helped organize the tours we wanted to take (one reason I chose this place is because they offer packages where you can choose out of the tours they offer!). Unfortunately due to bad weather during our stay, one of our tours got cancelled. It was ok, we got to explore the city. Matutina is really close to famous places such as Baywalk/KaLui's/Kinabuchs. In fact it was so near we ended up walking to/from the restaurants (that's how safe the area is!)

Appreciate all your help ate Malu and all the staff there at Matutina. We really enjoyed (my sister for some reason always looked forward to breakfast! Haha). Most definitely coming back next time! Puerto Princesa is magnificent. All smiles! See you soon.

Stayed February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malu L, Guest Relations Manager at Matutina Pensionne, responded to this review, February 7, 2014
Thank you so much for such a wonderful review, we are truly humbled by this. Consider Matutina Pensionne your home here in Puerto Princesa City!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    14
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
13
10
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Utrecht, The Netherlands
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2013

a place which gives one the feeling of being home. Very friendly and helpful personnel, neat clean and well kept rooms. Beautifully located in an almost colonial style house, walking distance from marketplaces, cathedral and bay-walk.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malu L, Guest Relations Manager at Matutina Pensionne, responded to this review, February 7, 2014
Thank you, Jeroen, for trusting your vacation with us. We are looking forward to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth Western Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

Very pleasant stay here, Malu(manager)and staff very helpful. Tours, transport all booked through Malu.
Malu was very helpful even in trying to help us with finding accommodation in El- Nido which was much appreciated. Location ok, quiet and close to Cathedral, Baywalk and an easy stroll to town. Free and fast Wi-Fi.
Breakfast simple, but nice.
Large room, excellent air con, hot water and clean. Nice area out the front to relax at days end.
A very nice stay for us :)

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malu L, Guest Relations Manager at Matutina Pensionne, responded to this review, February 7, 2014
It has been a pleasure to have you as our guests. Thank you so much!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologne, Nordrhein-Westfalen, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

I've stayed with a friend twice and will definetly come back again. The rooms are comfortable and clean, also the breakfast is enjoyable. Above all I liked the fiendlyness and the staff itslelf.

Enjoy!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malu0904, Guest Relations Manager at Matutina Pensionne, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Thank you, from the bottom of our hearts!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muntinlupa City
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Got the best choice of choosing Matutina Pensionne. We just stayed here for 2 nights but definitely we will keep coming back. The place is just so simple yet you will really feel at peace and contented. Staffs are really accommodating, friendly, and smiles a lot! Me and my husband suddenly just burst out the same word, "it feels like home here," the feeling that you just visited a relative's house. The location is accessible to all. We didn't mind going around the City as late as 12 midnight actually because you can easily find the Pensionne House. Thanks to Tita Malu who gave us all the possible tours we could try since the Underground was closed due to rough waves. After all, the tours and experience was all worth it! Superb!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malu L, Guest Relations Manager at Matutina Pensionne, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Thank you, Ma'am Mariel, for the beautiful review. We are glad you felt at home. Consider Matutina Pensionne your home in Puerto Princesa City, Palawan! We hope you'll visit us again one of these day :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palawan
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Work led me to Matutina's Pensionne. I needed to stay in Palawan to do a research project and I was initially worried where I would stay for a month or two. Upon first glance, on a rainy saturday evening, I immediately fell in love with this place. The ambiance, the warmest welcome punctuated with smiles, the wooden, homey interiors that bespoke of family tradition for decades. Things that I discovered so lovable about this place?

- accommodations, may not be your 5 star hotel status, but all the basic comfort that you need is here. Clean rooms, hot and cold shower, a/c for hot summer days (well, you can have a summer day in the middle of the rainy season), a patio with hammocks for unwinding, wifi, really, do you need anything else? a pool? well you're in palawan, go to their beautiful beaches! :). They have a spacious kitchen for guests in the annex so you can easily shop for fruits, veggies and whatever else you want to prepare. A refrigerator is provided so there is no problem of spoiling food (mind of course expiry dates!). There's also a stove and pots and pans and knives and plates, etc. I have all that I need.

- the staff, they have got to be the most wonderful, accommodating, kindest people on the planet! they are always around when you need them (99% of the time), while maintaining a certain degree of being inconspicuous that you feel like you have the place all to yourself...except of course when there are other guests around. Speaking of which, even the guests feel and absorb the friendly vibe of the place that you just find yourself interacting with them as they come and go at Matutina's. An extended family ambiance :) If you have time, chat with ms Malou and ms Aya who run and manage the place, if you're extra lucky, you'd even get the chance to sample ms Aya's Ayahay beer, one really great homemade brew. As I am allergic to alcohol, I was apprehensive at first, but risked a sip, which ended in more sips! :) They even hold barbecues on warm, breezy nights, I hope you catch one of these.

- their breakfast menu is basic, simple and delicious! try their lamayo filipino brekkie set. Order their brewed coffee to complete a wonderful breakfast.

-for lunch or dinner, a few steps will bring you to Neva's (check tripadvisor), one of my most fave dining places in Puerto Princesa. The staff has their menu and a call would do the trick, yes, they deliver with no extra charge.


I simply love staying here, and I am already looking forward to returning, even while I am still here! :)

-

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malu L, Guest Relations Manager at Matutina Pensionne, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Thank you for this very beautiful review, we are truly humbled and inspired by it. It is our goal to make each and every guest's stay memorable. Looking forward to your "regular" visits :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nha Trang, Vietnam
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

The staff are wonderful and everyone is very accommodating. Nice, clean rooms. Great price. Highly recommend if you will be staying in Puerto Princesa. Decent breakfast included in price. Puerto Princesa has nothing but the Underground river and you must move on if you want a beach. Beaches are 4-5 hours away by bus.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malu L, Guest Relations Manager at Matutina Pensionne, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
It was our pleasure to have you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Matutina Pensionne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Matutina Pensionne

Address: 40 Taft Street | Brgy. Kalipay, Puerto Princesa, Palawan Island 5300, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Mimaropa > Palawan Province > Palawan Island > Puerto Princesa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 163 B&Bs / Inns in Puerto Princesa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Matutina Pensionne 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Matutina Pensionne stays true to the premise of "traditional Filipino hospitality". We believe that each and every guest is special, and we make it certain that they are. Come and experience how it feels to be "home away from home". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Matutina Pensionne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Matutina Pensionne Palawan Island/Puerto Princesa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Matutina Pensionne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.