We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No Airport Pickup” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Marianne Home Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Marianne Home Inn to your Saves list
Marianne Home Inn
3.5 of 5 Guest house   |   Quezon Street Extension, Puerto Princesa, Palawan Island, Philippines   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #37 of 146 Puerto Princesa B&B and Inns
U.S.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“No Airport Pickup”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

I emailed Marianne Inn a couple of days before we arrived with my flight info and they didn't show up. I ended up paying P50 for a trike to the hotel. Marianne Inn forgot to pick us up. I wrote down their smart cell number in case this would happen from their website and they said they changed their smart phone number. The room was very small. The kitchen is next to the hotel room on the 1st floor so be prepared to be waken up @ 6a.m. sharp. Breakfast was a joke with 4 pieces of bread, 1/2 boiled egg, and coffee. Skip the breakfast and go to Jollibee. Bed is very hard. The wifi was good and so was the location but that is it. I wouldn't recommend staying here. We will be back in Palawan in a couple months but we won't be staying @ this hotel.

Room Tip: Hire a trike driver for P600 for a city tour. We enjoyed the crocodile farm and the WWII museum.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    35
    10
    1
    1
See reviews for
16
20
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Quezon City, Philippines
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

We stayed for two nights at marianne and everything went PRETTY WELL. As soon as we arrived in Puerto Princesa, our van's already waiting for us outside. We were at the hotel in just minutes from the airport and the staff are very welcoming. We love our room, it was very clean and well-arranged. Everything is new. The free wi-fi made our stay worthwhile since we get to post our pics of the tour in our social websites as soon as we arrive in the hotel. Their set breakfast is good as well. Nothing really had gone wrong during our stay. And what we love about the staff is they never fail to remind us about our pick up time and itinerary. You could also ask them to get reservations in KaLui restaurant for dinner. The hotel is very accommodating and since it's located at the city, you could just ride a tricycle to your desired destinations in the city area. There are tricycles awaiting outside or passing by the hotel so it's really not hard to get one.

Room Tip: Their standard room is good enough for three persons.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paranaque, Philippines
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Me and my friend stayed here last June 2012 and it was actually very nice. The Inn is right in front of the market so you could buy your groceries and the good thing was the market didn't smell. The staff was very nice. Its easy to commute to the restos and bars because its within the city however there aren't any near beaches.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012 via mobile

we stayed in marianne for 5days 4 nights, and the service was awesome. evryday when we arrived from tour, they make sure to provide clean towels, and the bed was so inviting for a nap since the room was clean and linens were tucked nicely. room service is excellent, just like 5 star. it is situated near the market, and food are all around the corner. the hotel itself is small, well its home inn- so no amenities. basically, its a bed and breakfast. overall, i recommend this hotel for budget traveler.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012 via mobile

We stayed last 27-29 September 2012.

The good:
-budget friendly
-rooms is just okay
-service from/to hotel great

The bad:
-location is near the market, its quite unappealing
-service needs major improvement;they didnt offer any welcome drinks; we asked the girl in front desk to reserve us to kalui, come dinner time we found out that no reservation wa made. If we didnt ask we would not have known that she wasnt able to reserve us table; they are superslow; needs more training in taking care of guests, when we were waiting for our ride to the airport, a group of new guests arrived and we felt bad coz they were not taken cared of properly

We will not go back even if the place is not expensive. For more review: visit my blog: [--]

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

My friends and I stayed here and we're not really going to forget this place because of the RUDE AND UNPROFESSIONAL SERVICE WE EXPERIENCED from their front desk staff. We stayed here for 3 nights, and what blew our top off was that they TOOK OUR THINGS OUT OF THE ROOM WITHOUT OUR KNOWLEDGE NOR ADVICE THAT BY 12:00 THEY WILL DO HOUSEKEEPING AND WITH OR WITHOUT OUR CONSENT, THEY HAVE THE AUTHORITY TO JUST GO INSIDE AND PUT OUR THINGS OUTSIDE. It was our last day at the hotel then, but we arrived back late from our tour at around 12:45, only to find out that our things are already outside our room. WHO THE HELL GAVE YOU THE RIGHT TO JUST TOUCH OUR THINGS? Some of my friends haven't packed up yet and their things are just scattered on the bed. Earlier that morning the front desk told us that she would extend our stay until 2pm for free since she said there are NO GUESTS RESERVED ON THE SAME ROOM and because we will be fetched late for the tour. Next thing we knew when we came back, that's all what happened, and said there are guests waiting to check in!

Another thing that pissed us off was when our original tour was moved from 9:00 AM to 7:00 AM. While we know that time changes are possible, they informed us (via call on mobile phone) at about 9:30 IN THE EVENING ALREADY! Having no choice but to give in and stay away from bad vibes, we accepted, though we believe it's already darn too late to give such advice on changes of schedule. The next day at around 9:00 PM (we just woke up because the tour for that day was so tiring so we slept by late afternoon and woke up at this time of night) when we asked if we could ask to move our tour from 7:00 AM to a little later, the staff told us that the schedule cannot be changed unless we had advised them earlier since front desk is only until 7:00 PM! So how come they gave us advice last night at already 9:30?!?

One of the staff is named Becca. And though the rooms are quite nice and also kudos to the kuyas doing the housekeeping, still, WE WILL NEVER RECOMMEND THIS PLACE TO ANYONE WHO DOESN'T WANT A DISAPPOINTING TRIP LIKE US TO PUERTO PRINCESA. Just imagine if there were important things that might have been lost inside our room during the time when they just went inside to clean our room and stacked our things outside!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei, Taiwan
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

air conditioner is too noisy--replace it with samsung split aircon--the best for a good sleep. hot and cold shower pressure is too low--water is a trickle. staff are friendly and attentive to suggestions. very close to the traditional market.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marianne Home Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marianne Home Inn

Address: Quezon Street Extension, Puerto Princesa, Palawan Island, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Mimaropa > Palawan Province > Palawan Island > Puerto Princesa
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 146 B&Bs / Inns in Puerto Princesa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marianne Home Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Marianne Home Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marianne Home Hotel Puerto Princesa
Marianne Home Inn Palawan Island/Puerto Princesa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marianne Home Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.