We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All in” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kinabuch Bar & Grill

Kinabuch Bar & Grill
369 Rizal Avenue, Puerto Princesa, Palawan Island, Philippines
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $5 - $20
Cuisines: Filipino
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups, Local cuisine, Entertaining clients, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Bacolod, Philippines
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“All in”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Situated on the main road of Rizal Avenue. It's where you can find the most restaurants and cafes. Kinabuch is an all in one---it's got a sports bar setup, a projector and an extra large screen. Great for watching Miami vs San Antonio games. It's a huge dinner venue with indoor and outdoor seating. We had Rancho de Mitra's (ribs), Crocodile ala Bicol Express, Steamed Lapu-Lapu, and Sizzling Chicken. Although the restaurant was full to the brim, the waiters managed to bring in our orders quickly. We were seated near the vehicles so when car owners leave, the fumes go right to our nostrils & the food. It's a hip location; the best place to easily meet Puerto Princesa's bigwigs.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

563 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    188
    255
    92
    15
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paranaque, Philippines
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Great place to eat.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Ambiance is pretty good...everywhere, electric fans..cooling equipment are provided...good food...with big area for big groups.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Surprisingly underwhelming”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

I had high expectations after seeing this restaurant featured on Bizarre Foods. The talakitok sinigang was just right, but the calamari appetizer was on the tough side. I don't remember much of the rest of the meal - which is not good after all that build-up. But I will give it another shot - I know I have to come back and try the Panga ng Tuna, and other more exotic offerings.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Excellent food and great atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

I had a wonderful time at Kinabuchs. The food was great but perhaps on the pricier side. We tried the crocodile sisig, which makes more sense than you think. You also get really cheap sashimi here (around 250 pesos for 12 pieces). It's not prepared gourmet style, but still pretty decent. The service was fantastic as well. I highly recommend this place for dinner and drinks. Also, since this place is pretty popular, there might be trikes waiting outside that would overcharge you beyond the standard P8-10 so just be aware of that.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manila
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“great exotic food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

we ate crocodile sisig and fried tamilok and garlic crabs , all great, the location of restaurant near city center very accessible by trike.

pros

- unusual dishes
- average cooking but ok.
- great service among waiters
- native ambiance with modern flare
- food serving time around 15- 20 minutes

cons
- abit noisy as some customers speaks loudly.
- full of people , reservation maybe required if you want to be seated right away m otherwise you will have to wait
-price of food abit pricy in palawan standards.

a great place to chill out. dining is the preferred time to visit

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kinabuch Bar & Grill also viewed

Puerto Princesa, Palawan Island
Puerto Princesa, Palawan Island
 
Puerto Princesa, Palawan Island
Puerto Princesa, Palawan Island
 

Been to Kinabuch Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kinabuch Bar & Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.