We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to eat.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kinabuch Bar & Grill

Kinabuch Bar & Grill
369 Rizal Avenue, Puerto Princesa, Palawan Island, Philippines
Improve this listing
Price range: $5 - $20
Cuisines: Filipino
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups, Local cuisine, Entertaining clients, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Paranaque, Philippines
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great place to eat.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Ambiance is pretty good...everywhere, electric fans..cooling equipment are provided...good food...with big area for big groups.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

507 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    167
    233
    83
    14
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Carolina
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Surprisingly underwhelming”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

I had high expectations after seeing this restaurant featured on Bizarre Foods. The talakitok sinigang was just right, but the calamari appetizer was on the tough side. I don't remember much of the rest of the meal - which is not good after all that build-up. But I will give it another shot - I know I have to come back and try the Panga ng Tuna, and other more exotic offerings.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Excellent food and great atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

I had a wonderful time at Kinabuchs. The food was great but perhaps on the pricier side. We tried the crocodile sisig, which makes more sense than you think. You also get really cheap sashimi here (around 250 pesos for 12 pieces). It's not prepared gourmet style, but still pretty decent. The service was fantastic as well. I highly recommend this place for dinner and drinks. Also, since this place is pretty popular, there might be trikes waiting outside that would overcharge you beyond the standard P8-10 so just be aware of that.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manila
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“great exotic food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

we ate crocodile sisig and fried tamilok and garlic crabs , all great, the location of restaurant near city center very accessible by trike.

pros

- unusual dishes
- average cooking but ok.
- great service among waiters
- native ambiance with modern flare
- food serving time around 15- 20 minutes

cons
- abit noisy as some customers speaks loudly.
- full of people , reservation maybe required if you want to be seated right away m otherwise you will have to wait
-price of food abit pricy in palawan standards.

a great place to chill out. dining is the preferred time to visit

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taguig City, Philippines
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
“just fine”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

I thought I never left Manila since the food and price is the same. My bad because I never tried their exotic food like their crocodile dishes. there were mosquitoes biting my leg during my dinner so I had to eat fast and get out of there. They have a billiard table but I don't know how much it cost to play. They have a variety of wines and drinks, too.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kinabuch Bar & Grill also viewed

Puerto Princesa, Palawan Island
Puerto Princesa, Palawan Island
 
Puerto Princesa, Palawan Island
Puerto Princesa, Palawan Island
 

Been to Kinabuch Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kinabuch Bar & Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.