We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprisingly underwhelming” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Kinabuch Bar & Grill

Kinabuch Bar & Grill
369 Rizal Avenue, Puerto Princesa, Palawan Island, Philippines
048-433-2580
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 102 Restaurants in Puerto Princesa
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $20
Cuisines: Filipino, Barbecue, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Bar scene, Doing business, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
North Carolina
Level Contributor
113 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Surprisingly underwhelming”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

I had high expectations after seeing this restaurant featured on Bizarre Foods. The talakitok sinigang was just right, but the calamari appetizer was on the tough side. I don't remember much of the rest of the meal - which is not good after all that build-up. But I will give it another shot - I know I have to come back and try the Panga ng Tuna, and other more exotic offerings.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

655 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    228
    290
    104
    20
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Excellent food and great atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

I had a wonderful time at Kinabuchs. The food was great but perhaps on the pricier side. We tried the crocodile sisig, which makes more sense than you think. You also get really cheap sashimi here (around 250 pesos for 12 pieces). It's not prepared gourmet style, but still pretty decent. The service was fantastic as well. I highly recommend this place for dinner and drinks. Also, since this place is pretty popular, there might be trikes waiting outside that would overcharge you beyond the standard P8-10 so just be aware of that.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manila
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“great exotic food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

we ate crocodile sisig and fried tamilok and garlic crabs , all great, the location of restaurant near city center very accessible by trike.

pros

- unusual dishes
- average cooking but ok.
- great service among waiters
- native ambiance with modern flare
- food serving time around 15- 20 minutes

cons
- abit noisy as some customers speaks loudly.
- full of people , reservation maybe required if you want to be seated right away m otherwise you will have to wait
-price of food abit pricy in palawan standards.

a great place to chill out. dining is the preferred time to visit

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taguig City, Philippines
Level Contributor
91 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“just fine”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

I thought I never left Manila since the food and price is the same. My bad because I never tried their exotic food like their crocodile dishes. there were mosquitoes biting my leg during my dinner so I had to eat fast and get out of there. They have a billiard table but I don't know how much it cost to play. They have a variety of wines and drinks, too.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quezon City, Quezon City, Philippines
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Serves good, Filipino food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Just had dinner here this evening. We made sure to come early as this place can get full and is popular with locals and foreign tourists alike. The food was good and came pretty fast, our drinks came in the blink of an eye! The staff and service were fast and efficient, wait staff abounded and were easily called if needed.

There were a lot of flat screens in the resto areas and a huge screen in the parking area, all featuring sport channels. So if that's your thing, then grab a beer and order your pulutan cos this is the place for you.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kinabuch Bar & Grill also viewed

Puerto Princesa, Palawan Island
Puerto Princesa, Palawan Island
 
Puerto Princesa, Palawan Island
Puerto Princesa, Palawan Island
 

Been to Kinabuch Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kinabuch Bar & Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.