We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Entertaining” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Palawan Butterfly Ecological Garden and Tribal Village

Palawan Butterfly Ecological Garden and Tribal Village
Bunk House Road | Santa Monica, Puerto Princesa, Palawan Island, Philippines
Improve this listing
Type: Nature/ Wildlife Areas, Outdoors
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Palawan Butterfly Ecological Garden and Tribal Village is a place that reflects the mesmerising beauty of a province that is known as the "Last Frontier of the Philippines". It showcases a sheer variety or tropical butterflies from the Southern region of the country. These free flying butterflies are surrounded with live exhibits of scorpions, green-crested lizards, phasmid and mantises which are considered their natural predators. It is a window to the natural ecology of these colourful insects. Another added attraction are the rescued endemic wildlife of Palawan. These animals are given the chance of a second life by being rescued from poachers and wouldn't have survived in the wild because of the probability of suffering the same fate all over again. Like the Palawan Peacock Peasant and the Palawan Bearcat, these animals are now ambassadors of their own species in the wild. By educating the public about these wild yet gentle creatures the facility promotes public awareness about how our actions as human beings can affect greatly everything in our environment.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Activities for older children, Stroller parking
Statesville, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Entertaining”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

We visited last May 2014 .This is an exciting experience for all of us . We enjoyed listening and watching the tribe show their primitive lifestyles . It's fun looking and being able to touch some exotic insects and reptiles. This is just a short visit but a worthwhile experience.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    46
    26
    11
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Manila, Philippines
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“butterfly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

very nice to see the tribal folks. learn about their lifestyle and culture. they even have a demo. try to buy their products

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“NICE DAY OUT”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

This addition to the butterfly farm has been a sucsess, the tribal section is genuine and the native guys do a very good job the snake is also a nice touch you should not miss out on the hand made gifts as they are very well made

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davao City, Davao City, Philippines
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“The Tribal People”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

I didn't really enjoy the butterfly garden since I have gone to various butterfly gardens that are so much better than this one. Also, their tour guides are not really warm so you wouldn't enjoy your tour there. However my family enjoyed the tribal people specially the kids in the Tribal Village.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Princesa, Philippines
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous flutterbyes!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

It was so lovely to see all the butterflies floating and flapping about! Just beautiful! Then to meet the tribe and be shown their traditions was a blessing! I also held a snake for the first time ever! Their tribe pet Samson! So proud of me! Haha!

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Palawan Butterfly Ecological Garden and Tribal Village also viewed

Puerto Princesa, Palawan Island
 
Puerto Princesa, Palawan Island
Puerto Princesa, Palawan Island
 

Been to Palawan Butterfly Ecological Garden and Tribal Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palawan Butterfly Ecological Garden and Tribal Village, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.