We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“its near the Balinsasayaw Restaurant” 2 of 5 stars
Review of House of Big Brother

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added House of Big Brother to your Saves list
House of Big Brother
208 Manalo Extension, Puerto Princesa, Palawan Island, Philippines   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #46 of 146 Puerto Princesa B&B and Inns
alkhobar
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“its near the Balinsasayaw Restaurant”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

The room where I slept has no window and it step to lobby

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    6
    6
    3
    0
See reviews for
9
7
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Mandaluyong, Philippines
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

I have already stayed twice in the House Of Big Brother and had a relaxing stay each time! We got the room for 4pax, and the first time, we got a kinda small room which is just enough for us but a bit cramped. But since we don't stay there most of the time and for P1,000, it was alright for us, and we even cooked our lunch and dinner there since cooking utensils & a stove were available. The room has no windows so its total darkness when we sleep which is ok. Our other friends staying in a room for 2 got a more disappointing room, their's has an aircon that doesn't cool the room much during the day, although at night they said it was ok.

There's a water dispenser just outside the room but it just dispense hot and normal water... No cold water! So you have to fill up your water pitcher from the ref and have it cooled. At night, we hanged out by the tables & chairs setup outside and had a great time just chilling out... This inn doesn't include breakfast, so you're on your own when it comes to food. You can have it delivered or cook them yourselves.

Our first 5-day stay was satisfactory so the 2nd time I visited Puerto Princesa, I booked with them again. This time, we got a room that is bigger than the first room we had, and it was really better for the same price of P1,000! I guess you have to state your preferred room or hope you get lucky and get that room! I think it was room 1 or 2. Room 5 is smaller. If you're not spending much time there, and just use it for sleeping, I recommend it! It's relaxing and the staff and friendly and accommodating. Thumbs up for the House of Big Brother!

Room Tip: Room 1 is spacious for 4 pax as compared to Room 5!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taguig City, Philippines
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2012

We had a great vacation and will definitely stay in this inn when we visit puerto princesa again. Value for money since the room is complete with microwave, rice cooker, stove, etc. Thank you to the very accommodating staff, Jun, Ron and joy. We appreciate the hospitality.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quezon City, Philippines
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2012

we stayed for 3 nights. room service is good. the room itself is clean including the linens. the staff are friendly and always greet you with a smile. everyone is accommodating. simple place yet satisfaction guaranteed.

Room Tip: we had the studio three. its nice with twin bed. i think all rooms are good since they are started 2...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2011

Our family arrived on friday and check in was smooth. We used the producers room and as we saw in the picture it was as clean as it is shown in the pictures. Thiis place should be listed in the HOTELS category and NOT BED AND BREAKFAST. They dont have breakfast in the first place but they only arrange breakfast with branded restaurants like Jollibee and chowking which makes sense to us because the front desk tells me they want the clean standards of those companies to go with the food they serve. We did not buy Jollibee, we have enough of it in Manila but we found useful the refrigerator and the cooking facilities in our own room and it answered all our breakfast needs the way we wanted it. Nearby is store we got eggs and sausages which we cooked and ate unlimited to our hearts desire...we ended up so full that lunch became merienda later in the afternoon. There were 4 of us in the room and we found their rate the cheapest and practical rate among all when we went around and compared to nearby inns. They are cleaner and with more in room facilities at only 1500 pesos for each night with four of us already. Its a budget rate for a hotel amenities in a room. I highly recommend it. While there i talked to some other guests while we where in the smoking area outside of the lounge and they are only paying 1000 for their aircon studio 5 room with the same amenities as ours but only in a smaller space. I checked it out and i regret not getting this room earlier because that would have save us 500 each day and it would have really made our stay the cheapest but the best in cleanliness and comfort. Thanks also to the staff, especially Joy and Ron Ron who assisted us in getting the best rate for tours.

Room Tip: get the producers room or family room if you want a bigger space otherwise the studio rooms are fine...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luzon, Philippines
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2011

A friend recommended this place and we stayed at the house of big brother for 4 nights and 5 days. I made my reservations by phone and deposited my down payment to their bank acct. num.They do not have free airport transfer to the hotel but they can arranged one if you request for a fee of 200 pesos.When we arrived at the airport, someone from the big brother house is waiting for us with my name on the placard, travel time from airport to the place is less than 10 mins.
Check in was a breeze and the staff are very accommodating. I got the star's room, with one double bed and 2 single beds,comfortable beds and pillows. a small refrigerator,microwave, rice cooker,stove, cooking utensils, plates etc....average size of a room for a family, I just don't like the low ceiling and there is only one small window that is permanently close, I felt a little of claustrophobic at first but getting used to it as days pass.There is no divider from the shower area and the water closet which makes it always very wet, there is also no bathroom sink that's why we do the brushing of teeth to the kitchen sink. The water pressure at the shower is not consistent which makes the water heater also the same.The room have separate entrance from the hotel lobby, it have a small receiving area with a coffee table and 2 chairs where my husband do his smoking.
For me, I gave the place an average rating. They can do more improvement to the place so they will be more competitive because as we roam around the city there are lots of newly built pension houses.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brussels
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2011

House of big brother has special offers if you book in advance. The booking telephone number is a mobile number and the Filipino strongly accented receptionist on the mobile telephone was a challenge for me. Eventually i made the booking, although i arrived with some trepidation but this was quite unwarranted, everything was in order and check in swift and efficient (now i could talk to the reception in person).
Everything was white, a good colour to choose to show off how clean and hygenic the hotel was. The rooms had names connected with movie jobs, director etc.
The first impression after opening the door was ... more white, the cleanliness was utterly striking ! There was a ref (fridge to non-filipinos), microwave, rice cooker and many other utensils.
As has already been mentioned, it is very suitable for families and groups (barkadas). The offer price seems to grow more bargainlike the longer that you stay here. I don't think that the owners really know what "Big Brother" means in English however, or even heard of 1984 or George Orwell.
Well, the bed was very comfortable, or comFORTable as they say in Taglish. There is an ensuite bathroom, quite small for western males. Everthing worked well, no problems.
The location is a little far from Rizal Avenue, the main street in Puerto Princesa, but cheap in a tricycle. There are small restaurants nearby or the larger Balinsasayaw for a better meal.
It seems to represent very good value for the quality provided, i have to say. The only poor things were the location and the booking on a mobile phone, Yes very good place to stay . It will be our regular stop now. I will now write a review of the Makati , Manila Big Brother, that we also visited

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to House of Big Brother? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about House of Big Brother

Address: 208 Manalo Extension, Puerto Princesa, Palawan Island, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Mimaropa > Palawan Province > Palawan Island > Puerto Princesa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 146 B&Bs / Inns in Puerto Princesa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clean, safe, economical, practical. Ideal for family or group of friends. Our guest attests: Its more fun with swimming pool. The lowest aircon room rate in town with the most amenities in a room such as refrigerator, electronic safety box, large or lcd cable tv, microwave oven, dining utensils,toilet bidet, hot/cold shower and free legal/attorney/lawyer assistance and advice on local investment matters. WE GIVE FREE UNDERGROUND RIVER TOUR OFFICIAL SOUVENIR FOR EACH ROOM UPON REQUEST ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your House of Big Brother reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
House Of Big Brother Hotel Puerto Princesa
House Of Big Brother Palawan Island/Puerto Princesa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage House of Big Brother, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.