We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quick Trip from Puerto” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Iwahig Prison and Penal Farm

Iwahig Prison and Penal Farm
Irawan_, Puerto Princesa, Palawan Island, Philippines
Website
Improve this listing
Boracay, Philippines
Top Contributor
158 reviews 158 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
196 helpful votes 196 helpful votes
“Quick Trip from Puerto”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

I went to Iwahig to visit a good friend who is currently on holiday there awaiting his court proceedings. Was pleasantly surprised at this place which is a trip back in time with its old buildings and tree laden communities. Also made a trip to their riverside resort which is quite popular with local tourists. A nice side trip from Puerto Princesa!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    45
    36
    7
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
UK
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
“Thought provoking”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

I have been there many times. Still cant get my head round a prison without walls where you can talk to many of the inmates. Ask the driver to take you to the swimming area as it is gorgeous!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cainta, Rizal, Philippines
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“It is a Prison.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

This place was 3rd in the list of our tour in Puerto Princesa. Our guide told us that the best time to go here is around 7 in the morning so that we could see the prisoners while plowing and harvesting rice crops, to bad we went their by 2pm. Instead we saw some prisoners taking a nap in their make shift huts, talking to fellow prisoners. We took a stop-over in a cooperative shop, I must say that the people who were at that shop was actually inmates. Cool right. But i must say while reading to some reviews about iwahig that some inmates telling them to buy some stuffs, in my experience no one even bothered to tell me to buy their products.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parañaque, Metro Manila
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“American Colonial structure badly neglected”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

The recreation hall must have been beautiful a long time ago. I wish they maintained or restored this remnant of American Colonial Architecture from the turn of the century.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
129 helpful votes 129 helpful votes
“Its a prison, spend a bit of time talking to an inmate!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

Rode in by motorcycle after visiting the Palawan Wildlife center. Heck of a bumpy ride, had it rained we would have never made it out. Our experience was very pleasant as we were greeted by one of the inmates who acted as our imprompt tour guide. He informed us that he was from Manila, convicted of burglary and still had 7 years left in his sentence. Truely amazing for I had thought all of the prisoners were from the Palawan and that they had minimal time left. A high percentage of the inmates are from the city and have no knowledge how to survive if they were to attempt to escape. The prison is located a mountanous valley, heavily forested areas and away from any major roads. It extremely easy to lock down the area with minimal staff. They do have high medium and high security areas. So its not entirely a prison without walls.

They do have trinkets for sale, so use your negotation skills to barter. I found the prisoners enjoyed talking with tourist and if you treat them with respect and understanding you'll certainly learn from the experience.

Within a few feet from the visitors center was a basketball court and soccer field being used by children, most likely staff family. They seemed to have no worries regarding the prisoners. I felt safer there than alot of places in San Francisco and all of Oakland. Go visit!!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Iwahig Prison and Penal Farm also viewed

Puerto Princesa, Palawan Island
Puerto Princesa, Palawan Island
 
Puerto Princesa, Palawan Island
 

Been to Iwahig Prison and Penal Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Iwahig Prison and Penal Farm, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.