We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent rooms, excellent service, excellent location. I will be back!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kookaburra Travel Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Kookaburra Travel Lodge to your Saves list
Kookaburra Travel Lodge
Abueg Road | Bancao-Bancao, Puerto Princesa, Palawan Island 5300, Philippines   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 146 Puerto Princesa B&B and Inns
Quezon City, Philippines
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Excellent rooms, excellent service, excellent location. I will be back!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2011

I was in Puerto Princesa for 9 days and I stayed at 3 different places while I was there. Kookabura Travel Lodge was my last port of call, so to speak. I stayed there only during my last 3 days, and I found myself wishing that I'd checked in there the very day that I arrived. The room was very nice, modern and clean, and I had a great view of the nearby forest from my window. The view from the rooftop was even nicer -- it had a view of the forest and the ocean -- so it was a treat to have breakfast there. The staff were very pleasant, accommodating, fast, and efficient. The location was great: a 5-minute walk to Pristine Beach and nearby mangroves, a 10-minute walk to Badjao Seafood Restaurant, and a 5-minute ride to the airport. And the price is more than reasonable (inexpensive even) given the quality of the room, service, and location. Staying at Kookabura was the best way to cap off a wonderful time in Puerto Princesa. I am definitely coming back!

Room Tip: If you want to have a good view, ask for a room facing the pathway to the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    30
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
17
29
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Menlo Park, CA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2011

This is Palawan..not some glitzy hotel in Vegas or LA, so don't complain if you stay here. At 40 bucks per night, you might get the "low water pressure, no shower" treatment we got the first of three nights. It was fixed promptly. When you go to Palawan you're going to tour the island, so this is a good low-budget hotel, extremely close to the airport. King works the desk during the day and he's really nice, more of a queen than "Queenie", who works the night shift. Raymond an Jayar work the breakfast, along with Dendon,...It's free and the best part is the toast, seriously. Expect the security guard to be carrying a shotgun to ward off the bad guys.....you can talk to these people. Jayar has land for sale near the Underground River, FYI.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davao City
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2011

Our room was small but it was very clean and cozy. The staff were very friendly and accommodating especially Butch, King and Mon. The food was great and flavorful. The staff made our stay more memorable because of the excellent services they have given. The location of the lodge is very near the airport and Puerto Princesa's maid road, Rizal Avenue. I definitely would love to go back and stay at Kookaburra.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2011

We arrived at the airport 30 minutes ahead of schedule but Kuya Paul was already there to pick us up. As soon as we arrived at the hotel, my friend and I were greeted by King with welcome drinks. Although we decided to transfer from our reserved room to another because of size, King allowed us to use an air conditioned room to change while waiting for the new room to be cleaned. Then, we were fetched by the van after a few minutes and started our Honda Bay Tour as arranged by Dexter. We really enjoyed the tour package because of Kuya Jing, not just a tour guide but jack of all trades (a cook, a snorkeling instructor, a boatman and "taga tawad" sa tiangge all in one)that really helped the tiring day a great one. On our way home, Kuya Jing informed us that our Underground River tour scheduled the next day will start at 8:30am and so we need to leave the hotel by 6am. Despite the time, Dexter prepared our food at 5:30 am the next day just to make sure that we did not miss breakfast. I know it was a small gesture but not all hotels could accommodate that. We even found out that some of our companions who were from different hotels were not able to eat breakfast since their hotels could not prepare food that early. Also, the view from the third floor was a sight.
Although the location of the hotel was not as near (around 5-10 mins from the main road) as compared to others, the peaceful atmosphere was incomparable. Being near the main road is a lot cheaper since we don't need to ride trycicles back and forth but at least we also can sleep peacefully without having noisy and drunk neighbors who make you stay awake the whole night as based on some stories I hear from other friends. The hotel's customer service was also very good as they provide us anything that we need from unlimited hot water for coffee and tea, extra towels, extra pillows and even help in using the heater. The only thing that we can suggest is for them to serve lunch and dinner for guests to have an option rather than going out to eat.
On our second night, we discovered the Pristine beach. It is a public beach just 10 mins away from our hotel by foot. When we went there, it was around 5pm and it was low tide. But still, the view was still great so paying 20 pesos as entrance fee was very unnoticeable.
On our last day, we went to the wet market to buy fish. Unfortunately, we were so caught up with the big fish and the low prices that we lost track of time. Our flight schedule was at 10am and it was already 9am when we left the market. But true to their word of excellent service, we called the hotel and asked Dexter to just get our luggage from our room and meet Paul at the airport. And right on time, they were there to save us from missing our flight.
Because we were in such a hurry, we also forgot to thank everyone before leaving the hotel. Hope this review is proof enough how much we've enjoyed our stay there. We'll definitely go back. So see you soon!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quezon City, Philippines
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2011

Stayed for 5days and 4 nights at the hotel.
The rooms are clean, every time we get back from the tour the rooms will be all cleaned up and the bathroom mopped.
The crew are all smiles and always greeted us. The receptionist (King, Dexter and Queenie) always greeted us and asked how we are and if we need anything. They also provided us help in getting cheaper tours and tips on what to see and do. and also how to go around the city. The crew made us feel safe and comfortable which i think is important.
The rate, i think was a give away. php650 a head per night. includes breakfast and shuttle service to anywhere in the city.
And also there's a beach at the back of the lodge, just a 5 minute walk and php20 for entrance. At sunset, the crabs near the mangrove will come out their holes. They wont run back if you will be quiet and walk slowly towards them. I enjoyed a National Geographic moment there, more than a hundred, i think close to a thousand crabs all docking and making their way out right in FRONT of me and on my foot. :) There is also shrimp on the beach, lots of life forms. No corals though, not good for snorkling. I love Palawan. I recommend the place. :)

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quezon City, Philippines
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2011

The lodge is in the quiet part of town, but only 5mins away from the main roads. Also 10-15mins away from the airport.

Loved the view at the 3rd floor overlooking treetops and the sea. It's so quiet and perfect for people looking for quiet and rest.

Also loved the helpfulness of the staff, Kuya King, Kuya Paul, Dexter, and Butch who handled all my queries with patience. They also handled our reservation at Ka Lui for us and recommended other good places to eat too.

At P650/person/night, it's quite alright. Only problem was the cable service that was fluctuating already when we got there, and completely went out during our last night. There's wifi and hot and cold water (for drinking and bathing) at the lobby too.

Rooms are pretty simple and neat and fits about 2-3 people. And since they only have around 12 rooms I think, it's not too crowded and you get peace and quiet.

The beach is also about a 5-minute walk from the hotel. It's supposed to be a public beach but some people have capitalized on it and charges P20 for entrance and P100 if you want to rent a sparse cottage.

Room Tip: Get in touch with the lodge directly via Butch
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2011

We stayed here on our last night in Palawan so had a good idea of other accommodation options - this place had excellent service (something we hadn't really found elsewhere), decent, clean rooms and was only a short tricycle ride from the centre of Puerto. Breakfast was included but was the usual horrible fake OJ and sausages. We went to Pristine Beach but unless we had the wrong place there was nothing pristine about it....

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kookaburra Travel Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kookaburra Travel Lodge

Address: Abueg Road | Bancao-Bancao, Puerto Princesa, Palawan Island 5300, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Mimaropa > Palawan Province > Palawan Island > Puerto Princesa
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 146 B&Bs / Inns in Puerto Princesa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kookaburra Travel Lodge...your home by the sea in Puerto Princesa City, Palawan, Philippines. Kookaburra Travel Lodge is ideally located in quiet and tranquil surroundings of Puerto Princesa City , Palawan , Philippines . Just a 5-minute ride from Puerto Princesa City Airport and walking distance to a nearby beach.It consists of fifteen (15) well appointed guestrooms that would make a selective travelers feel special and comfortable. It’s professional and friendly staff complement its excellent facilities and services.Our spacious Montezon and Katrina rooms open on to a private furnished balcony and overlooks the beautiful Puerto Princesa City Bay , a perfect way to relax and watch the magnificent sunset over the water. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Kookaburra Travel Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kookaburra Travel Hotel Puerto Princesa
Kookaburra Travel Lodge Palawan Island/Puerto Princesa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kookaburra Travel Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.