We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible Customer Service & Staff Can't Communicate” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Puerto Princesa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Puerto Princesa to your Saves list
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Puerto Princesa
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   Emerald Playa Beach and Nature Park | San Jose, Puerto Princesa, Palawan Island 5300, Philippines   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 38 Hotels in Puerto Princesa
Toronto, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Terrible Customer Service & Staff Can't Communicate”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

My family and I are currently staying at the Microtel Pureto Princesa location in Palawan. We are a native Filipino family and we know the area and native language (Tagalog), yet there was still way too much miscommunication by the staff. Although the staff is generally helpful (to be expected of a Filipino service) and the location is mediocre, we expected the service to be excellent. This was not the case, we had not one but TWO cases where the staff essentially screwed us over.
The first instance was when we were told our trip for the Underground River shuttle pick up would be at 9am. Somehow we get a call at 7:15am telling us that our tour guide was here and that if we don't hurry we would miss our tour. The 2nd incident was when we booked reservations for a neighboring restaurant. The staff booked the reservation, but when we arrived they informed us that our reservation was incomplete because the hotel staff did not note our food selection and the chef had already gone home.
When we confronted the Microtel staff about the incident, all they did was apologize and we were forced to eat at the hotel's restaurant even though we really did not want to. IT WASN'T EVEN COMPLIMENTARY. NOT EVEN A DISCOUNT. Ridiculous. They tried to compensate by giving us a cheap bottle of wine.
As we're preparing to leave I can't wait to tell everyone NOT to go to this location. I don't think we got our money's worth for the poor service and lack of customer satisfaction and attention. Sorry Microtel Palawan, you just lost my business. Never coming back here again!!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Micr0telPalawan, Manager at Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Puerto Princesa, responded to this review, May 26, 2013
First, we would like to thank you for choosing our hotel for your room accommodation requirements. We regret to hear that you were unsatisfied with your stay due to miscommunication problems. Our Front Office Team has been helpful and accommodating in facilitating requests and various tours which unfortunately became a stress on your case involving your proper pick-up time. Regarding the restaurant incident, the dinner reservation was indeed reserved at the neighbour restaurant and was advised of how many person and what time the guest would arrive. We have made reservations in the same restaurant in the past and was not advised to inquire our guests of what they wish to order because their chef will be leaving early. Again, we apologize for the inconvenience these have brought you and we still wish that you may give us a chance to improve on your next visit to Puerto Princesa City.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    146
    49
    10
    7
See reviews for
116
84
10
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed in Microtel for our anniversary. In general, I think the people of Palawan are kind, hospitable and generous. The hotel staff was very very friendly and helpful. We didn't have to worry about anything. The free shuttle to and from the popular restos was very helpful and encouraging for tourists to visit nearby destinations.

The facility itself was clean and nicely designed. It was very relaxing either to stay by the hotel lanai facing the sea or on the beach itself. The beach though, has a very wide shore. Since I don't actually like swimming in the beach, instead just like sun-bathing, then it was perfect for me.

I'd definitely recommend this hotel to people who'd want a quiet and relaxing stay in Puerto Princesa. I will likewise stay in Microtel again if I go back to Palawan.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Micr0telPalawan, Manager at Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Puerto Princesa, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Thank you for sharing these pleasant reviews. We appreciate your thoughts on how hospitable and accommodating our staff is during your stay and that you felt welcomed and was accommodated very well. We hope to meet you again soon in one of your visits here in Puerto Princesa City.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

Microtel offers great services.

Pick-up and Drop-off to the airport are free, and you can have a lunch and dinner drop-off/pick-up for free as well.

The hotel is a bit fas from the town, but a tricycle will get you there for 150-250 P. We used their driver a lot.

The swimmingpool is nice and clean. Rooms a spatious and the beds are wonderful. Breakfast is very Filipino orientated, but ok.

Toilets next to the pool very never cleaned. Probably the only error I've noticed.

They arranged the trip to the underground river for us in advance, and that was also well done.

All in all a great stay.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Micr0telPalawan, Manager at Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Puerto Princesa, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
First, we would like to thank you for the nice reviews posted. We are delighted to hear that your short stay was made enjoyable. Also, we appreciate your concern on the maintenance of cleanliness of our shower area which is a public area. We hope you could visit us again to show our improvement on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013 via mobile

Really enjoyed the hotel & the excursions they offered! Went island hopping and enjoyed it so much! Nice clean island so different to manila.. No polution great seeing the phillipines in a different light! Would absoloutely go again!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Micr0telPalawan, Manager at Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Puerto Princesa, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
It is our pleasure to know that your stay with us has been enjoyable and that you had a wonderful break here in Puerto Princesa City. We would like to thank you for it is our delight to give our guest the comfort and the refreshing ambiance during their short vacations. We hope we could see you again soon here in Microtel Puerto Princesa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quezon City, Philippines
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

I'm not much of a beach person (I hate the feeling of sand and sticky beach water after-feeling). So I didn't mind that the beach heads into low tide at some points of the day. But hey, they have a swimming pool if you really want to swim.

Pros: Free flowing coffee all day and all night, the rustic blue painted furniture, decor, shuttle to and from the city at certain times of the day, comfortable rooms, scenic (make sure you get the room that faces the beach).

Cons: Wifi in room didn't work on our 2nd day, far from the city, rough road about 4 minutes leading to hotel.

Room Tip: Get the room facing the beach for a scenic treat.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Micr0telPalawan, Manager at Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Puerto Princesa, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
Thank you very much for your review. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us and were delighted of the hotel's services and amenities. We hope we could welcome you again soon on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasig, Philippines
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

just sad to know that low tides made the water that far...1km (seriously). i thought i could jump into the beach. :(

they have free flowing coffee in the lounge area. good news to take away my dismay of the beach. the swimming pool is clean and wide enough to accommodate the guests on that day.

our room is neat, well-lit and ac works properly. it has a door on the other side for easy access of the pool and the beach.

the problem with the hotel is that it is far from the main road. thus, you are dependent to their vans/cars. unlike other hotels in the area where travelers can easily call on a tricycle and transport them into nearby souvenir shops and their choice of restaurants.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Micr0telPalawan, Manager at Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Puerto Princesa, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Thank you for posting these nice reviews. We regret that the water was too far during daytime throughout your stay though the tide normally changes weekly. We are happy to hear that our amenities and facilities fitted your room accommodation needs and were pleased with your short vacation. We hope we could hear from you soon for your next visit in Puerto Princesa City.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

Pros:
Beautiful hotel set in a wonderful location on the beach. Nice clean rooms with comfortable bed.

Cons:

Airport Pickup – After reserving my room with this hotel, I received an email from reservation desk confirming my reservation, and how the airport pickup/transfer to the hotel will work. Once my flight arrived, there was no Microtel Rep waiting for me. I called the hotel and they stated they couldn’t find my reservation, they will look for it, and give me a call back. I waited 30 min in the hot sun, and ended taking a trike to the hotel. However, the hotel did reimburse me for the trike ride.

Room Service – No 24hr room service at hotel; the hotel is far from the city, and is not within walking distance to any restaurants, stores, or bars. With lack of room service you are left stranded and hungry in the late hours of the night.

Ripped off by trike driver/hotel staff - Tried to get food delivered to my hotel; the hotel receptionist quoted one price, but when the food arrived, the driver wanted double the original price. The hotel receptionist did nothing to help, even though he knew the price was doubled and way too much for the delivery service.

No beach towels allowed of premises – Had an island hoping tour from the hotel. The hotel staff refused to give out a beach towel for the trip, stating a new hotel policy; even though the tour guide stated that the hotel does give out towels. You can’t even rent one from the hotel either. Poor service to guests..

Poor Internet connection - Internet connection was out for more than a day, when I ask the reception desk about the problem, the receptionist stated he was sorry, but there was nothing that can be done because no one knew how to push the reset button on the wireless router. Not a hard task at all...

Room Tip: Spend the extra money and get a deluxe beachfront room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Micr0telPalawan, Manager at Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Puerto Princesa, responded to this review, April 12, 2014
Your feedback is valuable to us as it assists us in our continuous effort to improve our services. Thank you for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Puerto Princesa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Puerto Princesa

Address: Emerald Playa Beach and Nature Park | San Jose, Puerto Princesa, Palawan Island 5300, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Mimaropa > Palawan Province > Palawan Island > Puerto Princesa
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Princesa
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Princesa
#2 Family Hotel in Puerto Princesa
#6 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Princesa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Puerto Princesa 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Have a taste of tropical bliss at Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham - Puerto Princesa, the only beachfront accommodation in Puerto Princesa City. Nestled on the white sands of Emerald Beach just 20 minutes away from the city's bustling center, this hotel in Puerto Princesa, Palawan offers you an experience that is both comfortable and affordable. With tastefully designed rooms that have all the necessary amenities to make your stay enjoyable, you'll find it easy to feel right at home. Microtel Puerto Princesa stays true to the Microtel chain's international standards of quality, offering excellent service that is reasonably priced. Combined with remarkable Filipino hospitality, Microtel Puerto Princesa is truly your hotel of choice when in Puerto Princesa City, Palawan. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Puerto Princesa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Microtel Inn & Suites Puerto Princesa Hotel Puerto Princesa
Microtel Inn And Suites Puerto Princesa
Microtel Inn & Suites By Wyndham Puerto Princesa Palawan Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Puerto Princesa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.