We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Puerto Princesa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Puerto Princesa to your Saves list
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Puerto Princesa
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   Emerald Playa Beach and Nature Park | San Jose, Puerto Princesa, Palawan Island 5300, Philippines   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 38 Hotels in Puerto Princesa
New Jersey
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Wonderful Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

My family and I booked two rooms - one suite and one room overlooking the water for 6 days and 5 nights. I booked early - July, 2012 to ensure that we will have choice room location. The booking process was very easy. The personnel _ Hazel were very patient with my inquiries. They answered all my questions to put me at ease. They also helped me book our exclusive trips to the Underground River and honda Bay. Now let us go to the hotel. The location by the bay is for me wonderful. You can hear the water during high tide and walk on the beach during low tide. It is pricelss to wake up in the morning, go to your balcony and smell the sea breeze.

My husband and I will seat at the open room downstairs and just watch the water and relax. The shuttle to the city proper workd pretty well for us.

The cleaning personnel were all very nice and were always very busy! the breakfast selection was very good. We used the pool too to relax.

i definitley will go back to Microtel Inn. I already strated promoting the place with my friends here in the US.

My only comment was the check out process. There should be more tahn one person doing the check out as peopele are anxious to cath their filghts.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rene S, Manager at Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Puerto Princesa, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your great review. We're glad that you and your family had a good time and that you enjoyed our beachfront location. We look forward to welcoming you again here in Microtel Puerto Princesa!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    146
    49
    10
    7
See reviews for
116
84
10
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
quezon city
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

upon arriving at the airport, the hotel's van was already waiting for us and very eager to bring us to a restaurant of our choice for lunch. This was even before we have checked-in at the hotel. good thing we booked on-line. the van later picked us up after more than an hour and brought us to microtel for check-in.

check-in was fast and problem free. just showed ID, credit card used for reservation, and paid P500 deposit which we got back upon check-out.

view was great. our room was at the ground floor facing the beach. kids were happy with the sand, the hammock, the pool, exploring creatures at the low-tide beach; mom and dad happy with the exotic birds, the sea air and the all-day-free-flowing brewed coffee and tea.

not so good experience: loud noise from the other guests, not that it is the hotel's fault.

not so good food. suggestion: Filipino sea food fare in the menu

Room Tip: choose room at ground floor facing the beach as you can easily go to the beach from the sliding glas...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rene S, Manager at Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Puerto Princesa, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Thank you for your review. We're glad that you and your family enjoyed your stay in our hotel and we hope to see you again soon here in Microtel Puerto Princesa!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quezon City, Quezon City, Philippines
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

I am quite an avid traveller, having been to so many places in the Philippines and the other countries. I thought nothing could surprise me anymore but Microtel in Puerto Princesa was quite a delightful surprise.

The view is fantastic. Though the beach front is not quite swimmable because the water is too shallow in the mornings, but the view is so beautiful and relaxing, it compensates for it.

The design of the hotel itself blends perfectly with the natural surroundings. Microtel has a very relaxing and Mediterranean-inspired interiors. The property is well-maintained too.

The rooms are quite big enough for four people. Love the beds. Love the shower. Love the peace inside the room.

I am surprised with the food too. Having read quite some not-do-good reviews here at tripadvisor regarding the food of Microtel, I was quite surprised with the variety of food offerings during breakfasts. Stayed there for 3 days and I am quite satisfied with the food.

Also, I love the fact that the staff takes special care of our group. We were around 30 people and the staff assisted us all the way, from check-in, to special requests, to delivery of our baggage to the airport.

All in all, if you are going to stay in Puerto Princesa, I suggest, don't stay in a city hotel. Yes, Microtel is quite far from the city, but the view, the design and the service is so worth it.

Kudos to the friendly staff and management!

Special thanks to the Sales Officer who assisted us: Ms. Lyka Faustino.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rene S, Manager at Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Puerto Princesa, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay in Microtel Puerto Princesa here in Trip Advisor. And thank you very much also for your warm and generous comments. It gives us real pleasure to hear from our guests that they had a nice stay with us. I'm particularly pleased that you enjoyed the food, the fantastic view, our rooms and beds, and the care and attention of our staff. I shall share your comments with everyone, especially our Manila Sales Officer, Lyka Faustino, and also the restaurant staff.
We truly appreciate your recommendation and we do hope to welcome you again here in Microtel Puerto Princesa!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

This hotel had a nice beach front view, the design was not good. It's hard for traveller tohave a good sleep nor even a relaxing time in your room. You could hear everything, especially when there are inconsiderate, loud guests who don't care about other people and would talk like they are in a decibel contest. Lack of service, the front desk staff was below average in their warmth and hospitality. I thought I should try another hotel after only 1 night stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rene S, Manager at Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Puerto Princesa, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Thanks for taking the time to write a review. I'm sorry to hear that you feel that the staff were not warm and hospitable; this is quite unusual and bears further investigation as they are usually very friendly and accommodating. I would also like to apologize for our other guests if they seemed inconsiderate. Sometimes people behave differently when they are on vacation and would just like to have fun and enjoy themselves when in the Islands. I hope that this did not prevent you from having a good time here in Puerto Princesa and that you would consider visiting us again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matawan, New Jersey
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

This hotel is a good property. The staff is great, helpful. friendly.

It does not have business center or internet cafe. However they will let you borrow their reservations PC when its not busy.
It does not have a real restaurant. Morning and eve food service, buffet like, not too great.
In the AM you always need to hunt down the omlette chef if you like one. Napkins are not easily available. food service room is a little run down.

Trans to town is awkward. They have shuttle but on a schedule that may or may not work. You can call ahead for registered tricycles to bring you.

No fridge in the room.

If you like ice you need to ask a bell hop to get it.

The beachis very picturesque but not good at all for swimming.

A little pricey for a hotel with many limitations.

Nice building, nice rooms, nice staff.

Room Tip: pay extra for seaside, upstairs if you like a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rene S, Manager at Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Puerto Princesa, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Thank you very much for your review. It's good to read that you feel that the hotel is a good property, with a nice building and nice rooms, and that the staff are great, helpful, nice and friendly.
Regarding your other comments: (1) Internet service is available throughout the lobby, and soon, throughout the entire hotel. (2) The staff will gladly assist guests who might need access to a PC. (3) Our free shuttle service to the City have scheduled trips at 11am, 1pm , 6pm and 8pm, as well as free airport transfers throughout the day. Non-departing guests can hitch a ride with the shuttle for airport-bound guests, provided there is still space available. I suggest asking the Front Desk in advance when the next scheduled trip to town will be so they can reserve your seats. Alternately, we can also arrange for tricycle or van rentals upon request. (4) Personal refrigerators are available in the Suite Rooms. Housekeeping can also set up a unit in Standard or Premium rooms for a minimal fee. (5) Ice is freely available 24/7, as are coffee and tea, and hot and cold water from dispensers on both floors. (6) The restaurant is open daily from 6am to 10pm.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Makati
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

When I and Partner went here, we are very excited even though we alreadyw went to different part of Palawan. This Inn is way too far from the action/City knowing that we went here to see the Baragatan and also celebrate our birthdays.. The birthday went really good with the help of Ms. Donna, She took an effort getting the cake and flowers.. She is such a nice person, Another staff that made our stay lovely is Ms. Ivy, The restaurant Supervisor. But overall, I could say that this place need a lot of improvements and Trainings for staff as they are very much lacking of Restaurant and Hospitality Industry knowledge. So, I hope the next time we come here, its going to be perfect. and BTW, the sea are not swimable, and the pool and DIRTY.
But the VIEW??? just great. :)

Room Tip: Choose the one away from the resort near it cause they usually played loud music.. and also,the room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rene S, Manager at Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Puerto Princesa, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Location: It is beachfront, but the beach has alot of mangroves so you don't want to swim in such a muddy beach. Because it is near still waters, there is a lot of mosquitoes. You will see alot of their staff trying to kill these flying creatures using an electric swatter.
Pool: Their pool is basic but nice.
Lounge: Offers great wifi and free flowing milk and coffee.
Reception: Did a great job for our tours and daily activities. They are very accommodating and will give you a free shuttle service to any place you want in the vicinity.
Rooms: Tidy and pleasant. Comfy beds and pillows.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rene S, Manager at Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Puerto Princesa, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Thanks for scoring us 4 out of 5. Thank you also for finding our rooms tidy and pleasant, our beds and pillows comfy, our staff efficient and accommodating, and our pool nice, albeit basic. I'm also glad you appreciated our free wifi, free coffee, and free shuttle service.
Quite frankly, though, I'm a bit confused why you say we have a muddy beach because of all the mangroves. Mangroves do not necessarily need soil to grow -- they are equally abundant along sandy beaches as along muddy riverbanks. I can categorically state that our beach is NOT muddy at all. Perhaps you were recalling a different beach, given that it's been almost a year before you chose to post a review.
Same with the mosquitoes -- we've never had any major problems with mosquitoes, and definitely have not found it necessary to use an electric swatter to try and kill them. We DO advise our guests to use insect repellent when going outdoors because sandy beaches are the natural habitat of sand flies -- tiny, almost invisible, insects whose bite can be an inconvenience. We've managed to keep our beachfront relatively sand fly-free, not through the use of electric swatters (which would be inutile against them), but through regular, old-fashioned, beach-combing.
Hope this clears things up a bit. Again, thank you for taking the time to post a review and we look forward to welcoming you on your next visit to Puerto Princesa City.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Puerto Princesa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Puerto Princesa

Address: Emerald Playa Beach and Nature Park | San Jose, Puerto Princesa, Palawan Island 5300, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Mimaropa > Palawan Province > Palawan Island > Puerto Princesa
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Princesa
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Princesa
#2 Family Hotel in Puerto Princesa
#5 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Princesa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Puerto Princesa 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Have a taste of tropical bliss at Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham - Puerto Princesa, the only beachfront accommodation in Puerto Princesa City. Nestled on the white sands of Emerald Beach just 20 minutes away from the city's bustling center, this hotel in Puerto Princesa, Palawan offers you an experience that is both comfortable and affordable. With tastefully designed rooms that have all the necessary amenities to make your stay enjoyable, you'll find it easy to feel right at home. Microtel Puerto Princesa stays true to the Microtel chain's international standards of quality, offering excellent service that is reasonably priced. Combined with remarkable Filipino hospitality, Microtel Puerto Princesa is truly your hotel of choice when in Puerto Princesa City, Palawan. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Puerto Princesa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Microtel Inn & Suites Puerto Princesa Hotel Puerto Princesa
Microtel Inn And Suites Puerto Princesa
Microtel Inn & Suites By Wyndham Puerto Princesa Palawan Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Puerto Princesa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.