We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All in” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kinabuchs

Kinabuchs
Rizal Ave, Puerto Princesa, Palawan Island, Philippines
Improve this listing
Price range: $5 - $20
Cuisines: Filipino, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Large groups, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating, Entertaining clients, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Bacolod, Philippines
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“All in”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Situated on the main road of Rizal Avenue. It's where you can find the most restaurants and cafes. Kinabuch is an all in one---it's got a sports bar setup, a projector and an extra large screen. Great for watching Miami vs San Antonio games. It's a huge dinner venue with indoor and outdoor seating. We had Rancho de Mitra's (ribs), Crocodile ala Bicol Express, Steamed Lapu-Lapu, and Sizzling Chicken. Although the restaurant was full to the brim, the waiters managed to bring in our orders quickly. We were seated near the vehicles so when car owners leave, the fumes go right to our nostrils & the food. It's a hip location; the best place to easily meet Puerto Princesa's bigwigs.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

360 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    108
    168
    64
    10
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paranaque, Philippines
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great place to eat.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Ambiance is pretty good...everywhere, electric fans..cooling equipment are provided...good food...with big area for big groups.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Surprisingly underwhelming”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

I had high expectations after seeing this restaurant featured on Bizarre Foods. The talakitok sinigang was just right, but the calamari appetizer was on the tough side. I don't remember much of the rest of the meal - which is not good after all that build-up. But I will give it another shot - I know I have to come back and try the Panga ng Tuna, and other more exotic offerings.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Excellent food and great atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

I had a wonderful time at Kinabuchs. The food was great but perhaps on the pricier side. We tried the crocodile sisig, which makes more sense than you think. You also get really cheap sashimi here (around 250 pesos for 12 pieces). It's not prepared gourmet style, but still pretty decent. The service was fantastic as well. I highly recommend this place for dinner and drinks. Also, since this place is pretty popular, there might be trikes waiting outside that would overcharge you beyond the standard P8-10 so just be aware of that.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taguig City, Philippines
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
“just fine”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

I thought I never left Manila since the food and price is the same. My bad because I never tried their exotic food like their crocodile dishes. there were mosquitoes biting my leg during my dinner so I had to eat fast and get out of there. They have a billiard table but I don't know how much it cost to play. They have a variety of wines and drinks, too.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kinabuchs also viewed

Puerto Princesa, Palawan Island
Puerto Princesa, Palawan Island
 
Puerto Princesa, Palawan Island
Puerto Princesa, Palawan Island
 

Been to Kinabuchs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kinabuchs, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.