We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just the way you want it!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tropical Sun Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Tropical Sun Inn to your Saves list
Tropical Sun Inn
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   152 Manalo Street | Brgy. Tanglaw, Puerto Princesa, Palawan Island 5300, Philippines   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #52 of 146 Puerto Princesa B&B and Inns
Cebu City, Philippines
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Just the way you want it!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Tropical Sun Inn is located at the center of Puerto Princesa where it is very accessible to the nearest places you want to go (restaurants,markets,church,fast food chains,etc.) Their staff are very accommodating and will welcome you with a big smile. They also offer a free breakfast of your choice. You can also ask them to arrange tours for you. if your worrying about delay in your flight schedule, there is no problem with that because Tropical Sun Inn is just 5 min ride away from the airport. If your also particular in terms of room cleanliness, rest assured that they offer convenience and comfort to their guest. They also offer a free van transport from airport to the Inn and vice versa. Over-all, we had a wonderful stay at tropical Sun Inn. Just exactly what we wanted for our trip.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacqueline Ann B, Manager at Tropical Sun Inn, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Thank you Maam Susie as well as to Sir Jayson for your positive feedback! We're all glad to know that you had a great time in your stay here at Tropical Sun Inn. It is our obligation to make you feel comfortably 'at home' and hassle-free and it has been a pleasure serving you both Maam. Looking forward to seeing you again here in the future! :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    13
    7
    2
    2
See reviews for
7
13
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Manila, Philippines
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

If you're looking for a cheap place to stay within the city of Puerto Princesa, this is one of them! Best places to dine in are a tricycle ride away (Php8-10). It's along one of the major roads and offers a free set of breakfast daily. Best to order the Filipino favorites: tocino/ longganisa/ danggit (dried fish)/ beef tapa; served with 1 cup of plain rice, 1 egg + coffee (instant), tea (1 tea bag of Lipton), or juice (powdered).

The receptionists are very efficient and thoughtful. They reminded us about our schedules, the pick-up times and offered to call the restaurants for us. They also promptly gave us the pitcher of filtered water & 1 cup of hot water as we requested for our daily needs.

The room is quite small though. Three of us squeezed into 1 junior deluxe room. The additional bed took away any extra space for walking between beds. Tv is high above the wall so you must lie on your bed to watch properly.

The shower curtain's plastic is quite hardened so you we had to be careful while showering unless we're ok with wet tissues. Only soap and towels are provided so you have to bring your own toiletries. On the plus side, clothe hangers are plenty and right by the aircon so your wet clothes can dry faster.

Best area to take your breakfast/ nightcap is at the coutyard, which offers a respectable view of the sky. Good value but I'd want to try another inn next time.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naga, Philippines
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

...had a great time at Palawan- thanks to Tropical Sun Inn! The staff are genuinely helpful and accommodating (they arrange everything for us-even our dinner at best resto)
The price-very affordable, location-perfect, breakfast(their danggit)- great, garden- refreshing(especially at night), room-comfortable. I got everything I pay for, down to the last centavo:)

*just a little problem with internet connection...everything else is great.

Room Tip: you don't have to spend too much to enjoy your vacation...just a cool place to stay:)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Pinas, Philippines
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

Reason to stay there was a promo offer for tours including hotel. That is great value for money. As a hotel on its own merits it is far too expensive for what it offers: Small rooms, meager breakfast, awful slow Internet. What does amaze me is that advertised rates on the tarpaulin differ from the inside charged rates: P 2100 for a night (3 adults in triple room) whilst the tarpaulin advertises with P 1800.
If with the tours, ok, great. If you like the tours that is. As said by worlds worst group tourist ever who rather wants to go on its own initiative and has hardly any interest in souvenir shops and such.
Plus+: Clean bathroom, hot water worked!, friendly staff (practice English please), airport service for taking AND delivering (ok its only 3 minutes away, but nevertheless)
Min-: Bed too small, Aircon noisy, room too small (certainly for 3 + kid), garden is nice but no air circulation so extremely hot.
Tip: Go out for meals. 20 meters away are eateries and -sort of- good Vietnamese resto's with far better prices.

Room Tip: Check Aircon on operation. Check for power outlets, ask for extension cable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacqueline Ann B, Manager at Tropical Sun Inn, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
First of all, thank you for availing our promo vouchers and recognizing that we offer great value for your money. Please refer to your group's booker (Ms. Fran...) for the room set-up, I've discussed this to her on the phone that time when she was making a reservation (hopefully to avoid this - room space complaints) that our room can only accommodate up to 3 persons (which is indicated as well on the voucher you availed and printed) but she insisted that all four of you may fit in one room since you're all going on a budget trip aside from the fact that you're sharing room with your family members or relatives. It was purely her request so I granted my approval. I also advised your booker that room rate for Triple sharing Jr. De Luxe Room is P2,100.00..She said she'll pay for everything except for your additional room overnight which I believe she already explained to you as said and assured to me. The P1,850.00 you saw in the tarpaulin is for Triple sharing Standard Room. You may verify to our website our Triple sharing Jr. De Luxe room rate (P1650 room for two + P450 extra person). Our free breakfast reflects the typical Continental or Filipino breakfast which comes in a complete set meal (rice, viand, egg and drinks) and that of what is normally offered by pensions and inns so if you require more than what is offered for free our restaurant menu offers many a la carte food choices for an additional charge. Regarding our climate now, it's really hot here because it's summertime you may opt to stay in cooler places like in the lobby or in your room and that of the aircon, it just had been cleaned so we'll check for loose parts inside that might have caused the noise. We thank you for your comment and we'll improve more on this.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasig, Philippines
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

Good location, accessible to all your needs... Staff are accomodating even on booking. Breakfast is good what you pay for and the tour great. Wifi si slow on room, you have to go out for access.

Comment on bathroom: would be great if there is exhaust fan.

Room Tip: Book tour ahead to have free pick up service back and forth. Check your heater on bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

We had a peaceful and pleasant stay. The staff were helpful and courteous. Rooms adequate and good value for what you pay. A boutique hotel located one street back from the Main Street and everything is within walking distance.

Room Tip: Room 23 is upstairs and larger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cavite City, Philippines
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Booked this place based on pictures from their website, and was greatly disappointed. Deposit made months ahead, but check in was very slow. Breakfast included on room rates, basic menu only. Staff was OK. Opted to transfer to a cheaper but way better Pension Inn (better ambiance better food choices, better staff service) as soon as we could.

Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacqueline Ann B, Manager at Tropical Sun Inn, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
We regret to hear that your experience with us was less than ideal. We apologize for any delays during your check-in. However, our hotel policy states that our check-in time is at 2pm (as in most other hotels). Regarding our breakfast options we provide a variety of options that reflects the typical Filipino breakfast. We do understand that we cannot please everybody. Nevertheless we thank you for your comment; we will try to improve the efficiency of our check-in process.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tropical Sun Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropical Sun Inn

Address: 152 Manalo Street | Brgy. Tanglaw, Puerto Princesa, Palawan Island 5300, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Mimaropa > Palawan Province > Palawan Island > Puerto Princesa
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 146 B&Bs / Inns in Puerto Princesa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Tropical Sun Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Where hospitality awaits...Tropical Sun Inn is strategically located at 152 Manalo Street in the heart of Puerto Princesa City. The charming, dainty pink hotel is just 5-10 minutes away from the airport, pier, public market, cathedral, souvenir shops, NCCC mall and restaurants. We have 24 cozy, fully air-conditioned rooms and a peaceful garden view restaurant. We also feature a large air-conditioned function room suitable for weddings, birthday parties and seminars. The experience of hospitality awaits travelers looking for a worry free vacation on a budget. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Expedia, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Tropical Sun Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropical Sun Hotel Puerto Princesa
Tropical Sun Inn Palawan Island/Puerto Princesa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tropical Sun Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.