We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Place to stay- first rate service!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hibiscus Garden Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hibiscus Garden Hotel to your Saves list
Hibiscus Garden Hotel
Manalo Extension, Puerto Princesa, Palawan Island, Philippines   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 38 Hotels in Puerto Princesa
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Best Place to stay- first rate service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

A short trip from the Airport and your at Puerto Princesa's Hisbiscus Garden Inn! They greeted us with a warm smile, they said that we can check in already ( without asking them) bec. We arrived early for our check in. The hotel was quaint, it had a relaxed atmosphere, in fact we saw guests already relaxing in the hammocks next to their room reading the newspaper, surrounded by lush greenery and wooden artifacts. The hotel was close to great places like popular restaurants and other attractions but their service is their best asset, they are VERY accommodating, professional and personable at the same time not to mention very competitive rates! When visiting Puerto Princesa, in Palawan, Hibiscus Garden is the place to stay!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

362 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    224
    123
    10
    4
    1
See reviews for
77
177
21
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Beijing
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

Most people use this hotel as a day or two stopover when travelling on, it's literally walking distance from the airport though they do collect you in their bus. We stayed for three weeks, we wanted a restful time, in beautiful surroundings, with polite (if slightly bewildered) staff, good food and a hammock. Ticks on all of these. It's about 30 minutes walk to the centre of Puerto Princesa, but there are an endless stream of three wheelers that'll take you in though they'll try to rip you off on the price, watch them! For convenience we hired a 175CC motor bike through the hotel desk for a small daily sum that freed us up to explore a bit further around. There are several excellent restaurants in easy walking distance and a sort of beach about 2K away. I generally try to find some down points about hotels but truthfully, over three weeks, we couldn't fault them. We can home rested, ready for the new semester, and full of good food and happy memories.

Room Tip: Try not to get a corner room, they don't have their own hammock.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kendal, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

Our only regret with this place is that we didn't stay for longer. The location is great - just 5 minutes from the airport and a cheap tricycle ride away from most places you will want to visit.

The rooms were spacious and spotless and the staff were incredibly helpful. They even lit a mosquito coil outside our room in the evenings so we could recline in the chairs and hammocks provided.

Breakfast was not included (we booked on Agoda) but it was very reasonably priced and I've heard that the pizzas there are meant to be good too.

The only downside was that the internet was painfully slow and the Wifi signal in the rooms was quite weak - but despite that I wouldn't hesitate to stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quezon City, Philippines
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

I enjoyed my stay in this hotel. Clean and spacious rooms, a charming lush garden and good pizza at the restaurant. Perfect choice for off the beaten track. They have contacts for the tours. Good restaurants nearby. Try the hole in the wall vietnamese soup place nearby. Yum!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kailua-Kona, Hawaii
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

Just as others have said, Hibiscus Garden Hotel is a quaint and cozy hotel. Outdoor seating area and hammock by your room. Very easy to chill when you come back from a tour. Staff helpful and friendly. Airport transport is free. Large room and bathroom. Room is very clean. We paid for breakfast however it was inexpensive and very good. Would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cebu Island, Philippines
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

PROS:
- Beautiful property
- Warm and cosy ambience
- Top service
- Has actually a garden
- Price
- Clean
- Their restaurant
- Free airport transfer

CONS:
- No in-room Wi-Fi

We stayed for 3 nights and 4 days at Hibiscus Garden Inn last March. It’s an accommodation that we unreservedly recommend to anybody when in Puerto Princesa. It has the ambience, good service, and great value. In essence, it is the "package".

While the neighborhood where the hotel is located looks cramped, parched, and dusty; inside Hibiscus Garden Inn, the ambience is cosy tropical. You would be forgiven if you keep forgetting that you are near downtown Puerto Princesa.

Our room. It was exactly what we wanted for a relaxing stay. The bathroom, too, was spacious and came with everything we needed, hot water included. The room and the bathroom, like the rest of the hotel, were very clean and well-maintained. That, for us, is a very important factor.

The garden is the highlight of this hotel. It forms the centerpiece of Hibiscus Garden Inn. It’s a botanical garden with a great variety of plants, flowers, and fruit-bearing trees; and, of course, a Hibiscus plant blooming right in the center of the garden. Hammocks, small seating areas, and even a nipa hut dot the property, free for guests to use. if you get lucky, you might even get to meet "Miming", the resident cat, which seemed to love the garden as much as we did. Watch the YouTube video of Miming enjoying the petting: http://youtu.be/eLXz7f6zCQw

It's such a pleasant surprise that a hotel delivers exactly on their promise namewise--and more. No hype, no exaggerations, no hyperbole--just pure honest-to-goodness relaxing experience.

You can find the longer version of this review, plus 360° interactive panoramas of our room and the patio outside our room at Hibiscus Garden Inn:
http://wanderlusting.me/lifeinthephilippines/hotel-review/hibiscus-garden-inn-puerto-princesa/

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

We stayed here in October 2011. They have free airport transfers. It's near the airport and the delish restaurants. The staff are very friendly and accommodating. We also booked our tour with them, which is standard rate for all of Puerto Princesa. Transactions were hassle-free. I noticed we were upgraded to a bigger room. I just wish they have a swimming pool.. =)

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hibiscus Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hibiscus Garden Hotel

Address: Manalo Extension, Puerto Princesa, Palawan Island, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Mimaropa > Palawan Province > Palawan Island > Puerto Princesa
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Puerto Princesa
#1 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Princesa
#2 Best Value Hotel in Puerto Princesa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hibiscus Garden Inn is just a newly-opened establishment catering to local and foreign tourists who are looking for a modern but affordable place to stay in the city of Puerto Princesa. Conveniently located just 3 minutes away from the airport and accessible to any commercial and government establishments in the city. With 14 spacious Mediterranean inspired rooms, set in a quiet and relaxing ambiance of colorful flowers and native arts. All the rooms were built with the thought of giving "comfort" to its occupants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Odigeo and Booking.com so you can book your Hibiscus Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Hibiscus Garden
Hibiscus Garden Puerto Princesa
Hibiscus Garden Hotel Palawan Island/Puerto Princesa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hibiscus Garden Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.