We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Oberoi Resort Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Royal Oberoi Resort Hotel to your Saves list
Royal Oberoi Resort Hotel
S National Hwy, Esteban Rd, Santa Monica, Puerto Princesa, Palawan Island 5300, Philippines   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 38 Hotels in Puerto Princesa
Palawan
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

Amazing place to stay. The staff is wonderful and the owner, mark, was there to help in anyway possible. The food was great, the pool is one of a kind, and the ambience is perfect for couples on a romantic getaway or families on a group trip. Would recommend this resort to anyone wanting a beautiful and relaxing vacation!!! Also spent a day in the spa and everything was remarkable.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    55
    23
    5
    5
See reviews for
52
69
7
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hamburg, Germany
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

We had booked well in advance. With the Royal Oberoi you have to pay the full price up front, which always makes me a bit dubious. It was our last night on Palawan before flying out to Manila and on to Europe, so we wanted somewhere really nice and relaxing. When we arrived we were so shocked we almost left. If we had not paid up front, we would definitely jumped into the next tricycle and gone back to Hibiscus garden.

The whole place is very run down and has the most incredibly twee and ugly details. You arrive to a large block of rooms, all concrete and dirty looking. No view from the basic rooms on the ground floor but onto a concrete walkway. The rooms are small and have no character whatsoever. As I say, we were somewhat shocked. I asked whether any other rooms were available. When booking, we were told that was the only available room. However, the place was completely empty, not another soul there. The villas are spacious, but have no cohesiveness to them. I would not know which bed to use, as downstairs has no windows. The upstairs windows are ugly metal and glass constructions. We upgraded to the middle value rooms, which was the best choice. The room was ok, with a view of the pool. The bed was awful, extremely soft mattress. But there was a tv, a fridge, a functioning air conditioning and a few nice touches like coffee/tea making facilities and glasses.
The pool is this places saving grace. It is large and nice, and has a pool bar. As the hotel was almost deserted, we had it to ourselves and spent some time there in the morning before leaving.

The food at the Royal Oberoi is very good, if you are happy to pay a little more. We had the rack of ribs, which is lovely. The seafood platter was just average, the prawns being very good, everything else tastelss and not easy to eat. Real coffee for breakfast was great, and the fruit platter nice.

There's a brand new spa, which looks nice, but we did not use it (although we had planned to), as the prices were twice as high as the prices in town. I had some postcards to send, but the reception offered neither stamp sales, nor coudl I pay them to post them for me, which I find poor service.

The reason I cannot give this place minimal points are the owners. Mark is a really nice guy, courteous and friendly. He chatted to us and was good on the email before we arrived. His gorgeous wife was also all smiles and they made our stay a lot more pleasant. Mark let us stay in the grounds after vacating our room before he had to head for the airport as well. I got the feeling Mark was well aware that the place does not look anything like their website suggests. There are concrete pagodas with "crowns" in the garden and fake wood banisters, the most ridiculous little bridges that don't even have any water or such under them ... it's very strange.

We would not go back. The value for money at the Hibiscus Inn was much better and the whole place was serene, and walking distanceto the bars and restaurants. The Royal Oberoi would need a major facelift for us to go back, the pool being the only reason we would. I still wish Mark all the best in his ventures, and with his family.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalOberoi, Owner at Royal Oberoi Resort Hotel, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
As I have said in previous responses to guest reviews, these are always very welcomed and the suggestions/comments made are always reviewed and taken on board or implemented where applicable/appropriate. That being said there are times when reviews infer or make factual inaccuracies and in this particular case I do have to pick up on a few points.

Firstly our booking policy, which is similar to many other hotels around the world and locally, requires a deposit to confirm a reservation. The amount of which is usually one or two nights room charges depending upon the length of stay etc. As a standard policy therefore we do NOT ask for full payment up front unless of course the guest is staying for only one night and yes in which case it will be. To imply in any way that this kind of policy is “dubious” is quite surprising to hear.

Secondly, if the guests were “so shocked” at the time of arrival and had indicated this to me or our staff, their concerns could have been addressed immediately and to their satisfaction.

The room layouts, descriptions and videos are very accurately portrayed on the website and so it is hard to understand a guest being so surprised at the room they chose. The comments with regards the Suite Villa are inappropriate as these are designed for families not couples and there are windows downstairs.

At the time this guest initially enquired about a reservation it was I believe the beginning of November and at which time we were fully booked. The booking was then moved to a later date for just one night in mid-November where the occupancy at that time was over 50% full. So to suggest the Resort was empty or that in some way occupancy levels or room availability was not communicated accurately to these guests, noting I manage all reservations, is also incorrect.

One of the beauties of our Resort is that there are only 15 rooms in total set in almost ¾’s of a hectare of grounds. So when most guests are out of the Resort on tours etc., which is usual, you do get the feeling you have the place to yourself. I would think most guests find this an advantage.

Spa prices are comparable with other hotels in the area offering such services and the guest was also provided these prices when they initially made their enquiry.

Finally, the website pictures have not been edited in any way and were taken within the past 18 months. Some areas of the Resort yes are under improvement, painting the exterior of buildings for example, but to imply the website portrays images that are not reflective of the Resort is incorrect.

As to the other comments re the grounds and designs then these of course are personal and we are all entitled to our opinions.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iloilo City, Philippines
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

We booked a package for three last Nov. 22-26, 2012. Everyday was a feast and the food was great. They have a serene and cozy ambiance. The staff and the owner are nice and accomodation to everyone. Our tour was organized properly and we never had any problems at all.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

We had heard and read a lot about Royal Oberoi, and I must say it was truly a wonderful stay at their place. We had the chance to visit Puerto Princesa last November 8 and starting from the warm welcome of the staffs, a room that was arranged very nicely, their clover-leaf pool and their own restaurant and spa, Royal Oberoi was definitely a perfect place for relaxation.

Anyone who had been to the resort will never fail to notice its native touch. The room was clean, spacious and arranged artistically. The staffs were all polite and very welcoming and they were always prompt with their service. They even helped us arranged a transportation for our Honda Bay tour and they were also patient answering our queries since we did the city tour on our own. Even the owners, Rose and Mark, were also very welcoming to their guests.

Aside from a very nice room, you will also enjoy the serenity of the place. The calmness of the surrounding was very soothing and relaxing and it was a real delight to pair it up with foods served at their restaurant. Not only the foods were delicious but they're very healthy as well.

For the most part i really enjoyed my stay here at Oberoi. It was one of the best accommodations i had experienced. It is a perfect place to stay at and I highly recommend this resort for those who would want to visit Puerto Princesa.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012 via mobile

The Royal isnt on the main drag of princesa and isnt near any beach. However, friendly staff can help organise a private van for a cheap price to go anywhere. The Hotel itself has beautiful gardens and a nice pool with bar. Food at restaurant is great. Rooms wernt fantastic but great value. Wifi works in some rooms but didnt reach ours. Who can complain tho at the price.

we recommend going to the underground tunnel, checking out a local beach about half an hour out of town and island hopping.

hop on a tricycle into town try local seafood restaurants (one with a big pot out the front) and kinabutch(spelling?) where you can try crocodile sisig.. delicious.

the island of pandan should be visited after a stop off at fish market. your island hopping guide can bbq it for you. there are fresh oysters and coconuts available on the island.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

We stayed here in November for 2 days and 2 nights accommodation. By far, it was one of the finest hotel i have ever been to.

We landed at the airport just on time and we were collected by the driver immediately. I supposed he was already there earlier than our scheduled arrival. When we reached the hotel proper, we were welcomed by the hotel staffs with a warm smile and we were ushered to our room which the hotel manager, Mark, already reserved for us days prior to our visit. The room was fascinating. It was spacious, very clean, and it was setup artistically. Their clover-leaf pool was also attractive. It was huge and deep (5ft-8ft), perfect for swimmers. They also have jacuzzi and another pool (3-4ft) alongside suitable for children and for non-swimmers.

Although the location of the resort was not near the city center, you will enjoy the serenity of the place. The quietness of the resort was very relaxing and soothing perfect for those who want to rest and unwind. They also offer spa services at a very reasonable price.

I guess the best part of the resort was their restaurant. You could find a variety of dishes from their menu. They even cater Thai cuisine (especially cooked by the owner of the resort, Rose) aside from their usual seafood dishes. If none of the foods listed in their menu suit you, you can always personally request for your own food preference to be cooked by the resort's chef. One thing I can assure you, the foods were not just delicious, it was also equally healthy at a very equitable price.

In general, the resort was an impeccable place to stay at while you are in puerto princesa. I, myself, cannot fault-find the hospitality of the crew of the resort. They were always available to assist and they were all very friendly.

I highly recommend this place for those who are visiting Puerto Princesa, Palawan.

- Suharto Kamir

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Stayed here in September 2012 with a group of friends. Booking was really easy - I contacted the hotel and the manager Mark dealt with all my queries. He was always really prompt at replying and I was really impressed, having had mixed experiences booking accommodation at other places around the Philippines. He organised an airport pick up for us which cost 300 pesos return for 6 of us and the driver was waiting when the plane landed. The resort is located away from the town so you do need to hire a van or tricycles to get to and from the resort. But we went into town both nights we were there and getting there and back was not a problem. We had two of the villa suites - two storeys, with a double bed (four poster) and bathroom on the ground floor and two more doubles upstairs. There is also fridge, kettle to make tea and the rooms were clean with comfy beds and decent bedding and plenty of towels. The best thing about the resort is the pool and gardens and the newly added spa. The setting is lovely and the pool is very large, with a swim up bar and the water is lovely and warm. Unfortunately we had lousy weather during our stay but still managed to enjoy a swim in the rain. The new spa is really nice - they don't have on-site therapists but with a little notice will call people in from town. I had two really lovely massages whilst we were there and most of my friends indulged as well. Breakfast was included and was ok,, ham, eggs and toast,with tea or coffee or you can order off the menu for extra. We had to wait a while for pancakes but they were lovely when they came. Mark, the manager, was really friendly and helpful. I would recommend this place for the great pool, gardens and spa, clean rooms and friendly manager.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Royal Oberoi Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Oberoi Resort Hotel

Address: S National Hwy, Esteban Rd, Santa Monica, Puerto Princesa, Palawan Island 5300, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Mimaropa > Palawan Province > Palawan Island > Puerto Princesa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Puerto Princesa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just 20 minutes drive from the hustle and bustle of Puerto Princesa city centre and airport, the Royal Oberoi Resort Hotel nestles in its beautiful landscaped gardens. Accommodations comprise 5 elegant Suite Villas with canopy style bed. 5 Superior Deluxe rooms and 5 Standard Deluxe rooms. All are equipped with hot and cold showers, cable TV, air conditioning, mini bar, intercom and free WiFi. The resort has the largest swimming pool in Puerto Princesa and the Grand Palm Pavilion Restaurant serves some of the finest food in Palawan. The Resort has a Spa and a fully equipped dive center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Royal Oberoi Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Oberoi Hotel Puerto Princesa
Oberoi Puerto Princesa
Puerto Princesa Oberoi
Royal Oberoi Resort Hotel Palawan Island/Puerto Princesa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Oberoi Resort Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.