We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Royal Treat” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Oberoi Resort Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Royal Oberoi Resort Hotel to your Saves list
Royal Oberoi Resort Hotel
S National Hwy, Esteban Rd, Santa Monica, Puerto Princesa, Palawan Island 5300, Philippines   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 39 Hotels in Puerto Princesa
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Dubai
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“A Royal Treat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

Me and my wife had stayed at the Royal Oberoi Palawan on the 11th May till 15th May in Room # 45. The room was really great, huge and clean, although i must say that it was not well appointed, like no soap, shampoo etc in the bathroom, we asked for this, anyways all that is not a problem when it comes to the level of service and the resort its self.
The resort is kept very clean, the pool is huge and the pool bar is excellent. Food is of very good quality and very well presented. Compliments to the Chef. The service staff is excellent and very courteous.
Besides having few problems with the airport transfer, being late by 2 hrs everything else was five star quality.
Would definately recommend this place to all who perfer quite getaways and need to unwind.

Haroon & Jodi
11.May 2012
Room# 45.

Room Tip: Room Tip: Ask for pool facing rooms, our room 45 was also a had a good view, good sunrise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    56
    28
    6
    6
See reviews for
55
70
8
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manila
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

When it was decided that my friends and I will be staying at the Royal Oberoi, I wasn't thrilled as there's another property that's new and modern that fit very well to my liking. It's a good thing, however, that we ended staying in Oberoi. I was pleasantly surprised by how neat the rooms were despite the incorporation of native Filipino and Bali-esque decors which other hotels can't maintain properly, especially the wooden pieces.

The first time we entered the room, it smelled very pleasant (read: not Glade). Whatever they did, I hoped they did it each time they cleaned the rooms. :) The restroom was clean and the toilet was working properly. I forgot to take a picture but it's one of the very few restrooms that don't scare you upon looking under the sink; no rust or discoloration.

I like that each room has a receiving/sitting area. Upon opening the front door, you're not immediately directed to the bed.

The TV, fridge and AC were working properly. There was also a ceiling fan in the room. While it was thoughtful of them to have one in each room, the fan looked dirty. I don't know if it's just the color or some accumulation of dust but I couldn't stand it. I wish they installed white ones instead of brown.

Speaking of white, the sheets were clean, free of any stain--the towels too--which I very much appreciated. There were three of us in the room so an extra bed had to be brought in. I was surprised it came with all the bedding. It no longer looked like a typical cushioned folding bed after they put the sheets over it and tucked it in. It's these little details and gestures that made our stay special. They just go the extra mile willingly.

The sprawling property of Royal Oberoi treats its visitors to hours of lounging around whether by the pool or in one of the small cabanas. It's like having your own vacation house. It was so relaxing having breakfast on one of the chairs by the pool.

The food was also great. Not cheap but the servings were plenty enough for sharing. In fact, we didn't get to try many restaurants in the city because of the hotel food. That's how great it was. The blue marlin and the mango shake were stand-outs.

As for the staff, everyone was courteous and attentive. They even allowed us to use the computer in their office to check in for our flight online. We were spoiled by the wait staff at the bar/restaurant who were very patient and nice.

We probably spent majority of our time in Puerto Princesa within the confines of the hotel. Looking back, it seems like the Royal Oberoi is an attraction itself. I'm not a fan of the swan towels and the powdered pineapple smoothies as welcome drinks but the place is charming and there's more to like than these personal pet peeves. No wonder it has gained so many favorable reviews; the place is so wonderful you wouldn't want to leave.

Room Tip: Make sure to try the food, even those who are not staying in the hotel should.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rishon Le Zion
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2012

We are two families with grown children. We stayed 5 nights at Royal Oberoi in April 2012. Why had we chosen it among many other hotels ? Palawan is a developing travel destination and thousands of tourists come to Palawan now to see the Underground River which was proclaimed one of the New 7 Nature Wonders of the World. Beach hotels with a swimming pool were very expensive, Puerto Princesa hotels were cheap but without a pool or a beach. At Royal Oberoi there is no beach, but their huge, deep swimming pool with a bar is one of the best in Palawan. So we thought that it would be nice to relax in a pool after a long touring day. Mark (the owner and the General Manager of the hotel) offered us 4 days/3 nights package on Full Board basis including 3 tours: Puerto Princesa Sightseeing Tour, Honda Bay Island Hopping Tour and Underground River Tour. And the price was more than affordable.

When we arrived we realized that we had made the right decision. We were very pleased with all aspects of our stay. The hotel is very beautiful. The grounds are extremely clean and the landscaping is fantastic and very well maintained, with love. So peaceful. The staff are very friendly and helpful. We (and especially our children) loved the pool area and used it a lot. Our rooms were beautiful, with a very tasteful décor. The rooms are next on the owners' agenda to be updated, but they are well kept and clean.

We all fell in love with Rosemary (Mark's wife), with the way she treats her guests and her delicious cuisine. (Dear Rosemary, we're missing your dinners !!!) She took a very good care of us. We celebrated there Jewish Passover and Rosemary did her best to arrange it for us in a proper way. She also gave us recommendations for outside dining and extra tours (Irawan – the longest Zipline in Asia, and not to speak of the fantastic Firefly Watching - spectacular). On our extra (out-of-package) days we were pleased to get complementary breakfasts. We really felt at home and enjoyed every moment of our stay at Royal Oberoi.

Overall, Royal Oberoi is a great choice for a stay in Palawan, and we will definitely stay there again and would recommend it to everyone.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2012

I have stayed there twice before and yes it is a bit out of the City...but to me thats GREAT! as none of the zillions of tricyles around! if you want to be in the city and want the smell and noise of tricycles...book elsewhere! But if you want to really relax....and enjoy the largest pool (with bar) in Puerto Princesa, then you can not beat this place,,,,,the owners Mark and Rose go out of their way to help and provide for their guests and I think a few free drinkies! I will be booking again soon!

Room Tip: Spa under construction and book underground river well in advance as I am tld booked 6 weeks in adva...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasig, Philippines
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2012

Pros:
Peace and quiet.
Friendly and responsive owner and service crew.
Above-average food. Again, waaaaay better than *insert famous resto's name* here.
Cute cats!

Cons:
Distance from city proper. (This can be good though. See first bullet of Pros.)
Defective cable TV (may be a blessing in disguise) and cramped T&B.
Mosquitoes. (Perennial Palawan problem though, so this can be forgiven.)

See complete review here: http://thepaoloproject.com/2012/05/06/puerto-princesa-palawan-2012-of-lechon-kawali-clover-pools-and-cats-royal-oberoi-resort-hotel/#more-2113

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Almelo
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012

The location is nice, since it's a bit out of town and away from the hussle and the bussle to be able to sleep at night. Unfortunately there is no free drop off or pick up. You can take the local bus or a trycicle. It has a big swimmingpool which we thought is a big plus with the weather here. The food is good and the staff very helpful. We thought that the compimentary breakfast was good and enough, but it would be nice if you are able to pick your own fruit. The rooms are big, but the shower is rather smale in comparison. The place defenitely needs a bit of paint and the garden some touch ups, but overall it's an ok hotel to stay when you arrive or leave Puerto Princesa. They could do with new AC's, but we didn't really need it at night, since we would leave it on for a bit before sleeping to cool the place down enough.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noumea
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2012

This hotel could be very well but it is wear. The rooms are big and comfortable, it is quiet but my aircon was so noisy and i dont know why we cant open the windows !! It"s too bad cos the view is nice on the swimming pool.... The hotel is a bit far from the center, you need 10-15 minutes with tricycle.
The restaurant is good and quiet. The swimming pool is very big and clean but unfortunatly you have not enough long chair around....The staff is helpfull and friendly but the boss is not very friendly....
This hotel could be better.....

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Royal Oberoi Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Oberoi Resort Hotel

Address: S National Hwy, Esteban Rd, Santa Monica, Puerto Princesa, Palawan Island 5300, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Mimaropa > Palawan Province > Palawan Island > Puerto Princesa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 39 Hotels in Puerto Princesa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just 20 minutes drive from the hustle and bustle of Puerto Princesa city centre and airport, the Royal Oberoi Resort Hotel nestles in its beautiful landscaped gardens. Accommodations comprise 5 elegant Suite Villas with canopy style bed. 5 Superior Deluxe rooms and 5 Standard Deluxe rooms. All are equipped with hot and cold showers, cable TV, air conditioning, mini bar, intercom and free WiFi. The resort has the largest swimming pool in Puerto Princesa and the Grand Palm Pavilion Restaurant serves some of the finest food in Palawan. The Resort has a Spa and a fully equipped dive center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Royal Oberoi Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Oberoi Hotel Puerto Princesa
Oberoi Puerto Princesa
Puerto Princesa Oberoi
Royal Oberoi Resort Hotel Palawan Island/Puerto Princesa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Oberoi Resort Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.