We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad at all” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marina Garden Beach Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in El Nido
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Marina Garden Beach Resort
Save
You added Marina Garden Beach Resort to your Saves list
Quezon Road (formerly Calle Hama) | Barangay Masagana, El Nido, Palawan Island 5313, Philippines (Formerly Calle Hama)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in El Nido
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Not bad at all”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Pretty basic concrete bungalows right on the beach,aircon,friendly staff,a bit pricey for what you get,only because we stayed at better for less,nice choice of breakfast,and overall pleasant enough xx

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    87
    45
    8
    4
See reviews for
28
60
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
philippines
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

Stayed there march 22-26, its located on the center of the beach, everything is close by - resto, stores, tour offices etc. I got the Room B townside, - its a basic room, clean, aircon works, water pressure is good enough, although i preferred using the pail that was provided - its not a problem for me. You have to arrange the bed, so aircon air current wont be directly on your legs.

I was able to check the room A, there was something wrong with the sink water pressure, so i just opted for room B.

For the price, i can complain.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lapu Lapu, Philippines
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

We arrived late at night and was accommodated immediately. The room was clean and we just love the beach front location. Not only that, it is close to all other things that you need while in El Nido - like where to dine, island hopping, pasalubong, Police Station and a church. We recommend this place to all other and will definitely stay in this resort again on our next visit to El Nido.

Room Tip: Get the beach front rooms for the best panoramic view of El Nido seascape and landscape.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

yes, it is a great location, nice garden, very well located on the beach, good place to chill, nice place to have breakfast or a coke. I could hear the waves when I was going to sleep (actually quite loud). The cons: the room is very basic, the bed not comfy (very cheap matress), and, most annoying: there is much light outside the room on the verandas at night and the curtains are no good so there is too much light in your room at night. The room is not getting cleaned unless you ask for it (but nobody tells you that you have to ask for it).

Room Tip: take a room with veranda
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cebu City, Philippines
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

This is a good place to rent for the stay in El Nido. The rooms are clean and big enough for 3 people. There are few ants roaming around the rooms but they're tolerable. If you can't take a bath without hot water then you'll have a problem here. The aircon is a bit small for the size of the room so the room is a bit warm but the resort provides electric fans. We also had a ceiling fan so it was good.

The place has their own hammocks and inclined chairs to read or just sit in front of the beach/water. Really nice.
Their food is ok.. nothing great.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delta, BC, Canada
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

We stayed here for one night as our hotel had overbooked their rooms due to the busy Chinese New Year season. If you are looking for a hotel right on the beach at a fair price, this is the place to be. You might have to look past the rustic surroundings though. The room is clean enough but it is certainly past the date for renovations. We had to get up pretty early. Since there is no electricity between 6am to 2 pm, we had to do our morning ablutions in the dark. I don't know if the hotel had a generator as it has not kicked in yet while I was in the bathroom. Breakfast is included.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandaluyong, Philippines
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

I had a last minute change of mind to travel to El Nido (instead of exploring Puerto). Hence, most of the accomodations I've called are fully booked since March is peak season in the PH. Good thing that Marina Garden has an available room. Unfortunately, the rate is expensive but anyway, I thought it would be good value for money and decided I would spend a little bit this time.

However, upon arrival, my thought was "this is it?" The gate and whole compound looks depressing, albeit it is on the beachfront overlooking the beautiful limestone cliffs of Cadlao Island and Bacuit Bay.

The rooms are clean but the facilities are below par. There is no free drinking water, staff are not helpful with anything, the free breakfast is average.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marina Garden Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marina Garden Beach Resort

Address: Quezon Road (formerly Calle Hama) | Barangay Masagana, El Nido, Palawan Island 5313, Philippines (Formerly Calle Hama)
Location: Philippines > Mimaropa > Palawan Province > Palawan Island > El Nido
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in El Nido
#4 On the Beach Hotel in El Nido
#4 Top resorts Hotel in El Nido
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of El Nido's first accommodations, Marina Garden is a small, family-owned beachfront inn that provides simple, clean, and comfortable lodging for all types of travelers. The Country Villa's air-conditioned, shabby-chic rooms nurture the traveler yearning for the comforts of home. Its cozy charm has been popular with couples, families, women, seniors, and businessmen. The original Native Cottages offer a more rustic Philippine experience. Backpackers and budgeters can go back to basics in these beachfront bamboo cottages. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Marina Garden Beach Hotel El Nido
Marina Garden Beach Resort El Nido, Palawan Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marina Garden Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.