We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We returned after nearly 25 years.......” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Nido Resorts Miniloc Island

Save Saved
You added El Nido Resorts Miniloc Island to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
El Nido Resorts Miniloc Island
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   Miniloc Island, El Nido, Palawan Island, Philippines   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 10 hotels in El Nido
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“We returned after nearly 25 years.......”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

We have just returned from Miniloc and once again had a wonderful experience. The accommodation does need some refurbishment but the staff, scenery, snorkelling and the overall experience is amazing. Congratulations to Miniloc for ensuring the area remains pristine and the snorkelling in front of the resort is spectacular. The activities are excellent and without pressure you organise your day as busy or leisurely as you like.
On arrival we had a problem with our accommodation - this was quickly rectified by Thids - many thank yous.
Overall everyone of the staff we encountered were obliging and went the extra miles to make sure our stay was as memorable as it was 25 years ago.
One small criticism would be to ensure the drinks are colder. Some of the mixers are not chilled and this just makes the ice melt quickly and the drinks become watery. Also beer needs to be really cold in the tropics.
Thanks to all the wonderful staff.
John and Sandy

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

392 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    259
    98
    20
    10
    5
See reviews for
101
195
12
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
philippines
Top Contributor
224 reviews 224 reviews
70 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

My second trip to this beautiful island in El Nido, Palawan called Miniloc. This island has local Filipino theme where they use bamboo and nipa hut. The whole two nights/three days was filled y with activities and meals, all in. There was nature all around, enough information about the islands, its creatures and how to preserve ecology. The food were great and the ecotours were packaged to delight. They don't have television or internet in the rooms, although you can find one lcd tv in the conference room, weak wifi signal somewhere and cellphone signal. There is no area for shopping except the gift shop.
If you are looking for a real vacation with island hopping, kayaking, snorkeling, diving and lots of sun sea and sand, this is the perfect place. If you like modern convenience, then i suggest you stay at the Lagen island (same resort group).
Overall, their service are personalize and you can see the pride of its staff in what they do. Overall, a great experience. Price is quite high, but that is what you get for quality.

Room Tip: Stilt huts were nice as you can hear the sea waves.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

We have visited Miniloc 3 times previously and each time we visit it never disappoints. Staff are outstanding - always willing to help, food is good and the scenery is breathtaking. Would highly recommend a visit to Miniloc Island to anyone!

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeddah, Saudi Arabia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

In May 2009 my travel buddy and I had the best time of our life in El Nido Resorts Miniloc Island. We stayed at a cottage and it was very lovely there. Suerb staffs, awesome activities, perfect paradise islands, fantastic food (we had requested for specially-prepared meals due to diet issues and the chef did an exemplary job). Needless to say, it gave us our money's worth.

Room Tip: Cottage room is cozy and lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

We stayed at El Nido Resort Miniloc Island for a friends wedding for 5 nights in April, As soon as we where met by the staff at the airport the service was always second to none, we where greeted and taken on the EL Nido Jeepney to the boat which was taking us to the Island the cases where being collected and taken direct to our rooms so we didnt have to worry about this.

Have your cameras out as you will want to take ALOT of photos on the way and on arrive and even a video camera for all the welcoming songs etc, the scenery was amazing and on arrival it was even more beautiful the Island is on its own private beach with water cottages, beach cottages mountain cottages etc.

We where greeted with a welcome song and induction.

We stayed in a beach front cottage upstairs which had nicer views etc (i think if i had known it was upstairs i would have chosen to stay on ground level with the kids it would have been easier but upstairs had better views, although upstairs had very high ceiling ) the rooms are very authentic and quite basic for the price (think it might be time to upgrade them a bit for the price, but everything else is quite amazing) the rooms are very clean, not very big or spacious, the kids slept on a bed which was made up on the side of the room at no extra cost (which i believe all rooms have as a sofa space area not sure) both beds where very comfortable there is AC, Safe, fridge, hair dryer and bathroom offers shampoo/Conditioner and body wash.

The food was nice not much options but that was fine with us.

All Excusions where included which is a must we visited the big and small lagoons beautiful and island hopped to some other islands, had a private beach BBQ with friends which they staff went above and beyond for. Snorkeling and Kayaking around Miniloc is also very nice, the place is just paradise.

The beach is nice (just watch out for the jelly fish) there is no pool, Lagen has a pool but we preferred it at Miniloc as its more authentic, Lagen was more modern, and im not sure how child friendly Lagen is as there is a rules notice up by pool saying no loud noises, basically no loud kids play etc but still very beautiful for couples who want piece and quiet.

The resort also offers great massages by the water cottages.

Yes its expensive but everything is included, all meals and activities, hire or snorkels etc

We where greeted with smiles and throughout our stayed smiles and we left and the staff where still friendly and smiling, the service was excellent i couldnt fault this place, the staff looked after us and if we needed anything there was always someone there to help. The staff where all very sincere

Its very child friendly, the staff always help with the kids on and off boats. They have a childrens activity center but its not worth using it probably only downside, needs cleaning up and more childrens activities would be great. Just a note our children are 4 and nearly 3. if they where any younger i think we would have struggled its a very beachy holiday with a lot of sun.

The resort also offers baby sitting which we used for the wedding, which is very well priced. There is internet but the connection is not very good at all, there is no TV in the rooms but thats a good thing!

Highly recommend, yes it is a mission to get to especially with kids, but its worth it very worth it, the rooms are not luxurious but the scenery is and the service makes it all luxurious.

TIP take some books..

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cebu
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013 via mobile

I stayed in Miniloc for 3 days. The place is like a paradise but for the price of 24k pesos, they need to lift up the standards at par to other 5 star hotels.

Pros:
- Indulge in nature (picture perfect)
- Great variety of sea creatures under
- Good service
- So many island escapades to do

Cons:
- There is no place where you can leave your child (not so child friendly)
- Lack of activities to do in the resort
- no gym, wet area
- Buffet needs improvement (lack of variety, some dishes are bland)
- Souvenir boutique lacks variety of items sold
- Overpriced
- The rooms needs improvement. They look quite old, gloomy and fixtures are not efficiently placed. Like the toiletries are attached with the mirror in the bathroom. Mirror is wobbly so you might break it, be careful since most things here are priced unreasonably expensive though they look ordinary. You have to run back and forth from the sink to the shower to get the shampoo... Dangerous that you might slip going back and forth.
- I had good drinks at the bar during night time but seriously, they were way overpriced as well.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremont, California, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We really loved it here! Picturesque, post card worthy views 360 degrees, you truly get what you paid for, and you pay a really pretty penny, but I think it was worth it. From the airport lounge till we got to the resort, the staff were all smiles, very helpful and what I think really makes this resort stand out.

We stayed 3 days/2 nights (I suggest to stay at least one more full day) in a garden cottage, just a few yards from the beach. I loved how they set up your day activities and you get to go in small groups with a dedicated tour guide (towels and snorkeling gear is included). Vladimir was excellent! He knew his way around the islands, was super friendly, knowledgeable and you can see that he truly appreciated the beauty around him. The enthusiasm was contagious and we were smitten with Palawan by the 2nd hour of our day trip. I want to be shipwrecked at Entalula!

Back at the resort, there is a prime snorkeling spot just in front of the hotel where you can swim with the huge jack fish. It's quite easy to snag a beach chair, drinking in the views (and your alcohol). It didn't seem crowded, more couples than families. The food was good, great selection, with western fare along with some local delicacies; price includes 3 buffet style meals a day. If you get hungry in between, they serve a limited menu (think sandwiches/burgers) with "resort" prices, so eat up at the buffet! Bottled water was not free, but you get a small pitcher of water in your room.

The property is showing its age, but the lodgings are adequate, we didn't spend that much time in our cottage anyway. The bed was a little hard but we were so tired at the end of the day that it didn't matter. Water pressure in the shower was not that great but whatever, it got the job done. Along with that I had a couple of other gripes that I thought could have been averted since I booked way in advance and like I said, paid a pretty penny for-- I booked a couple's massage appointment on the day we arrived, confirmed it a couple of times with their lady travel agent thru email. After almost 18 hrs of fly time/traveling, a massage sounded nice, right? Well, that didn't happen. The front desk staff at Miniloc (who also apparently manage the spa appointment log book) said that they were fully booked that day and that they could squeeze us in on our last day. And while they were telling me this, another guest on the side was booking a facial for like NOW, right then and there. I was livid but too tired to argue. I mean, you're charging fancy pants 5 star prices, you could at least have a better appointment system. I wanted to visit Lagen on our last day, couldn't do it because of this snag and I already paid for it. Then, I also booked a romantic couple's dinner, fully expecting some concierge lady and a chef come to me to discuss details. I wanted to go the the big? lagoon where they had a platform and have a Michael Mina- like dinner. Alas, no one talked to me about it, the front desk just confirmed the date for it, no one really asked us what we wanted to eat and we kinda had to look for the spot. I was feeling the steam come out of my ears but thank goodness, Jun (our server, and musical entertainment) came to the rescue. Yay! Romantic dinner was not a total bust, the food was pretty good and Jun serenaded us on his guitar. (Note to staff: next time, maybe more candles or a lantern, it was pretty dark on the dock and hard to see my food).

Thanks to the great staff! They caught my attention with their singing and had my heart by the end of the trip. I look forward to next time! I love the luxe eco-friendliness!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to El Nido Resorts Miniloc Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Nido Resorts Miniloc Island

Address: Miniloc Island, El Nido, Palawan Island, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Mimaropa > Palawan Province > Palawan Island > El Nido
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in El Nido
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — El Nido Resorts Miniloc Island 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Miniloc Island is a rustic and charming hideaway reminiscent of a coastal village. Miniloc Island is located in El Nido, in northwestern Palawan. It takes a 75-minute direct flight from Manila to get to El Nido or a 6-hour travel by land from Puerto Princesa City (Palawan's Capital City).Miniloc Island Resort is tucked within a beautiful cove surrounded by towering limestone cliffs and a vibrant coral reef. It is a gateway to popular activity sites in a breath-taking location known for its high biodiversity. The resort has 50 cottages and rooms built in traditional Filipino design over the water, beside the beach, or surrounded by garden and limestone cliffs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Venere so you can book your El Nido Resorts Miniloc Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Nido Resort Miniloc Island Hotel El Nido
Hotel El Nido
Resort El Nido
El Nido Resorts Miniloc Island Palawan Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Nido Resorts Miniloc Island, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.