We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worthwhile” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Nido Resorts Miniloc Island

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added El Nido Resorts Miniloc Island to your Saves list
El Nido Resorts Miniloc Island
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   Miniloc Island, El Nido, Palawan Island 5313, Philippines   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in El Nido
Jeddah, Saudi Arabia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Worthwhile”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

In May 2009 my travel buddy and I had the best time of our life in El Nido Resorts Miniloc Island. We stayed at a cottage and it was very lovely there. Suerb staffs, awesome activities, perfect paradise islands, fantastic food (we had requested for specially-prepared meals due to diet issues and the chef did an exemplary job). Needless to say, it gave us our money's worth.

Room Tip: Cottage room is cozy and lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

422 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    279
    106
    21
    11
    5
See reviews for
108
213
12
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

We stayed at El Nido Resort Miniloc Island for a friends wedding for 5 nights in April, As soon as we where met by the staff at the airport the service was always second to none, we where greeted and taken on the EL Nido Jeepney to the boat which was taking us to the Island the cases where being collected and taken direct to our rooms so we didnt have to worry about this.

Have your cameras out as you will want to take ALOT of photos on the way and on arrive and even a video camera for all the welcoming songs etc, the scenery was amazing and on arrival it was even more beautiful the Island is on its own private beach with water cottages, beach cottages mountain cottages etc.

We where greeted with a welcome song and induction.

We stayed in a beach front cottage upstairs which had nicer views etc (i think if i had known it was upstairs i would have chosen to stay on ground level with the kids it would have been easier but upstairs had better views, although upstairs had very high ceiling ) the rooms are very authentic and quite basic for the price (think it might be time to upgrade them a bit for the price, but everything else is quite amazing) the rooms are very clean, not very big or spacious, the kids slept on a bed which was made up on the side of the room at no extra cost (which i believe all rooms have as a sofa space area not sure) both beds where very comfortable there is AC, Safe, fridge, hair dryer and bathroom offers shampoo/Conditioner and body wash.

The food was nice not much options but that was fine with us.

All Excusions where included which is a must we visited the big and small lagoons beautiful and island hopped to some other islands, had a private beach BBQ with friends which they staff went above and beyond for. Snorkeling and Kayaking around Miniloc is also very nice, the place is just paradise.

The beach is nice (just watch out for the jelly fish) there is no pool, Lagen has a pool but we preferred it at Miniloc as its more authentic, Lagen was more modern, and im not sure how child friendly Lagen is as there is a rules notice up by pool saying no loud noises, basically no loud kids play etc but still very beautiful for couples who want piece and quiet.

The resort also offers great massages by the water cottages.

Yes its expensive but everything is included, all meals and activities, hire or snorkels etc

We where greeted with smiles and throughout our stayed smiles and we left and the staff where still friendly and smiling, the service was excellent i couldnt fault this place, the staff looked after us and if we needed anything there was always someone there to help. The staff where all very sincere

Its very child friendly, the staff always help with the kids on and off boats. They have a childrens activity center but its not worth using it probably only downside, needs cleaning up and more childrens activities would be great. Just a note our children are 4 and nearly 3. if they where any younger i think we would have struggled its a very beachy holiday with a lot of sun.

The resort also offers baby sitting which we used for the wedding, which is very well priced. There is internet but the connection is not very good at all, there is no TV in the rooms but thats a good thing!

Highly recommend, yes it is a mission to get to especially with kids, but its worth it very worth it, the rooms are not luxurious but the scenery is and the service makes it all luxurious.

TIP take some books..

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cebu
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013 via mobile

I stayed in Miniloc for 3 days. The place is like a paradise but for the price of 24k pesos, they need to lift up the standards at par to other 5 star hotels.

Pros:
- Indulge in nature (picture perfect)
- Great variety of sea creatures under
- Good service
- So many island escapades to do

Cons:
- There is no place where you can leave your child (not so child friendly)
- Lack of activities to do in the resort
- no gym, wet area
- Buffet needs improvement (lack of variety, some dishes are bland)
- Souvenir boutique lacks variety of items sold
- Overpriced
- The rooms needs improvement. They look quite old, gloomy and fixtures are not efficiently placed. Like the toiletries are attached with the mirror in the bathroom. Mirror is wobbly so you might break it, be careful since most things here are priced unreasonably expensive though they look ordinary. You have to run back and forth from the sink to the shower to get the shampoo... Dangerous that you might slip going back and forth.
- I had good drinks at the bar during night time but seriously, they were way overpriced as well.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremont, California, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We really loved it here! Picturesque, post card worthy views 360 degrees, you truly get what you paid for, and you pay a really pretty penny, but I think it was worth it. From the airport lounge till we got to the resort, the staff were all smiles, very helpful and what I think really makes this resort stand out.

We stayed 3 days/2 nights (I suggest to stay at least one more full day) in a garden cottage, just a few yards from the beach. I loved how they set up your day activities and you get to go in small groups with a dedicated tour guide (towels and snorkeling gear is included). Vladimir was excellent! He knew his way around the islands, was super friendly, knowledgeable and you can see that he truly appreciated the beauty around him. The enthusiasm was contagious and we were smitten with Palawan by the 2nd hour of our day trip. I want to be shipwrecked at Entalula!

Back at the resort, there is a prime snorkeling spot just in front of the hotel where you can swim with the huge jack fish. It's quite easy to snag a beach chair, drinking in the views (and your alcohol). It didn't seem crowded, more couples than families. The food was good, great selection, with western fare along with some local delicacies; price includes 3 buffet style meals a day. If you get hungry in between, they serve a limited menu (think sandwiches/burgers) with "resort" prices, so eat up at the buffet! Bottled water was not free, but you get a small pitcher of water in your room.

The property is showing its age, but the lodgings are adequate, we didn't spend that much time in our cottage anyway. The bed was a little hard but we were so tired at the end of the day that it didn't matter. Water pressure in the shower was not that great but whatever, it got the job done. Along with that I had a couple of other gripes that I thought could have been averted since I booked way in advance and like I said, paid a pretty penny for-- I booked a couple's massage appointment on the day we arrived, confirmed it a couple of times with their lady travel agent thru email. After almost 18 hrs of fly time/traveling, a massage sounded nice, right? Well, that didn't happen. The front desk staff at Miniloc (who also apparently manage the spa appointment log book) said that they were fully booked that day and that they could squeeze us in on our last day. And while they were telling me this, another guest on the side was booking a facial for like NOW, right then and there. I was livid but too tired to argue. I mean, you're charging fancy pants 5 star prices, you could at least have a better appointment system. I wanted to visit Lagen on our last day, couldn't do it because of this snag and I already paid for it. Then, I also booked a romantic couple's dinner, fully expecting some concierge lady and a chef come to me to discuss details. I wanted to go the the big? lagoon where they had a platform and have a Michael Mina- like dinner. Alas, no one talked to me about it, the front desk just confirmed the date for it, no one really asked us what we wanted to eat and we kinda had to look for the spot. I was feeling the steam come out of my ears but thank goodness, Jun (our server, and musical entertainment) came to the rescue. Yay! Romantic dinner was not a total bust, the food was pretty good and Jun serenaded us on his guitar. (Note to staff: next time, maybe more candles or a lantern, it was pretty dark on the dock and hard to see my food).

Thanks to the great staff! They caught my attention with their singing and had my heart by the end of the trip. I look forward to next time! I love the luxe eco-friendliness!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013 via mobile

We leave tomorrow and want to say how much We have loved the stay. Getting engaged is one thing but the way the staff treated us was another. A resort is as good as the managers. Don don was superb as the manager in charge. He personally welcomed us and looked over and beyond our needs. This hands on personable approach trickled right down from the ladies on reception to the chefs and to the island look out AJ. We got engaged and the things they surprised us with were out of this world. A private smiley chef, dinner in the middle of the water, a musical dinner interlude by the manager. Words cannot describe our experience. Thanks for giving us the perfect start to our new life, we cannot wait to visit again and recommend this place to all. A clean, welcoming luxurious stay for all xxx
Adam And Dareen

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Delaware
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

Stayed at Miniloc Island for three nights March 16th to 19th 2013. The setting and accomodations were amazing. Soaring limestone rock formations and crystal clear waters...perfect weather. While it was full (there was an Aussie wedding) still felt like you had the resort to yourself. Would recommend taking the first 45 min prop plane flight out from Manila at 0730 (meaning staying in Manila overnight) then leaving on last flight at 1pm to maximize time at resort since paying 700 per night. We met no Americans the entire time - added to the feeling of going somewhere less travelled although it was a nice feeling that every Filipino we met in Manila and El Nido seemed genuinely happy to meet Americans. Everything is included and staff is beyond friendly. The snorkeling is the best I have ever experienced with the sites at the Miniloc resort better than anywhere else in El Nido (by itself enough reason to choose Miniloc) Boat excursions to both Lagoons (kayaks included) and neighboring caves plus Dibuluan and Entalula Beach Clubs with banana leaf lunches all musts. Visit to Lagen Resort with its pool and jungle walk nice but Miniloc has a preferable isolated tropical feeling to me. Food delicious and plentiful. Hope to someday return!

Room Tip: Garden Cottage facing water
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucca, Italy
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013 via mobile


We spent 5 nights in Lagen (see review) but visited Miniloc twice.
We would recommend Miniloc, smaller then Lagen, simpler, more in tune with nature, better food, better surroundings. Accomodation more "native" but still quite good and, most important, you don't have necessarily to get out every day!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to El Nido Resorts Miniloc Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Nido Resorts Miniloc Island

Address: Miniloc Island, El Nido, Palawan Island 5313, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Mimaropa > Palawan Province > Palawan Island > El Nido
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in El Nido
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — El Nido Resorts Miniloc Island 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Miniloc Island is a rustic and charming hideaway reminiscent of a coastal village. Miniloc Island is located in El Nido, in northwestern Palawan. It takes a 75-minute direct flight from Manila to get to El Nido or a 6-hour travel by land from Puerto Princesa City (Palawan's Capital City).Miniloc Island Resort is tucked within a beautiful cove surrounded by towering limestone cliffs and a vibrant coral reef. It is a gateway to popular activity sites in a breath-taking location known for its high biodiversity. The resort has 50 cottages and rooms built in traditional Filipino design over the water, beside the beach, or surrounded by garden and limestone cliffs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your El Nido Resorts Miniloc Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Nido Resort Miniloc Island Hotel El Nido
Hotel El Nido
Resort El Nido
El Nido Resorts Miniloc Island Palawan Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Nido Resorts Miniloc Island, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.