We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GOOD LOCATION fits in with the surrounding nature” 3 of 5 stars
Review of El Nido Resorts Miniloc Island

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added El Nido Resorts Miniloc Island to your Saves list
El Nido Resorts Miniloc Island
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   Miniloc Island, El Nido, Palawan Island 5313, Philippines   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in El Nido
Lucca, Italy
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“GOOD LOCATION fits in with the surrounding nature”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013 via mobile


We spent 5 nights in Lagen (see review) but visited Miniloc twice.
We would recommend Miniloc, smaller then Lagen, simpler, more in tune with nature, better food, better surroundings. Accomodation more "native" but still quite good and, most important, you don't have necessarily to get out every day!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

412 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    269
    106
    21
    11
    5
See reviews for
105
207
12
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

Stayed: Feb 16-22 Water cottage:
Split into 4 smaller resorts.

Rooms:
The only quarrel i found with the resort is its claim to be a environmentally sustainable luxury resort. I stayed in a water cottage and although the view from my room was the best in Miniloc, it was quiet small and the bathroom had a consistent light smell of sewage. The tap water water was usable only to wash your hands and the shower water was satisfactory. The water cottage was roughly 5m x 7m. And for the price you pay to stay in Miniloc, the people who own the resort could upgraded it alittle more, even if it is 30+ years old.

Even then you would have the view from your patio, and a view of their sewage treatment plant at your front door.

Food:
Although the buffet was very small in options, it was very delicious. You can eat at Lagen for lunch for breakfast or lunch, then dinner at your home resort.

Staff:
Treated you like royality... to go even as far as family.

Overall:
I found Miniloc to be much MUCH!!! better than Boracay in terms of value and location. The beaches were small and intimate, clean and safe. The activities and meals are all included and found it to be the best value for money.

Miniloc itself is a gem with incredible views from the beach looking into the ocean and its neighbouring limestone islands.

Despite my smaller issues with eco-friendly VS. Luxury, its worth staying here with value and service.

Room Tip: Water cottage for the best patio view, Seasuite and deluxe seasuites for the luxury and spaciousness...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

pros: untouched beach, lagoons, islands, natural geography amazing, service at resorts outstanding, they don't seem to expect tip as resort is all inclusive but i'm sure they didn't mind when we did tip

cons: difficult to get to (probably makes it so untouched); would definitely just go with the chartered plane

i don't think i've been to a more beautiful beach/island although i have not been to seychelles or maldives

unexpected: they really can do anything you want them to do, everything is virtually included except for very specific items. i was hesitant about the price as i have a hard time paying over $400 USD for any hotel but the all inclusive nature of the resort justifies the cost. also they are very green and this is a good lesson on how to be green

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with BanyanTree.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

From the moment you land at El Nido airport you can forget all your cares and let the staff take you by the hand for your entire stay at THE most beautiful location in the world – an undiscovered gem of both beauty but also service that we have never experienced anywhere else…

It’s clear from the beginning that Miniloc is a special place, nestled in a secret cove of Bacuit Bay, the scenery on the way is spectacular, the scenery from the resort – even more so. So to spend each and every day with that on your doorstep is heavenly before you even begin. But that alone wouldn’t be quite enough to make it so fantastic; in fact it’s really the staff that help glue all of this together to give you one truly wonderful resort that you will never forget. Fillipions are known for their warmth and humour but the staff here are so incredibly genuine, effortlessly friendly, happy and thoughtful. On so many occasions the restaurant staff would bring me my English tea at breakfast or my favourite banana cake in the afternoon. You would mention it once that you like it and they would remember, so much so that we arranged a special anniversary dinner on a private beach which was outstanding and the staff remembered our favourite desert from the island..Mango madness! All these little touches are what make a holiday special and memorable. We constantly felt at home there, always greeted by a smile and sadly a wave off at the end of our trip.

As I’m sure you’ve probably gathered by now, Miniloc also has a sister island, Lagen and many other small islands that you are free to travel to and explore on your trip – do it! Make the most of free boat transfers and trips, wake up early to watch the sunrise (it’s beautiful) over the bay and kayak round to the small lagoon before 8am when all the other boats and tourists start to arrive. We did this and had it completely to ourselves; we’ve never seen mint green water or had such tranquillity like it! We also did the same for the big lagoon and stayed for the day on a raft there in complete privacy with a picnic lunch – all arranged by the resort. Where else can you do this and not pay any extra or have to worry about times, transport modes?! It’s all taken care of. If this was Jamaica you would feel the need to say ‘don’t worry, be happy’.

Choose from lazy or active days surrounded by so much wildlife that you feel you begin to learn more and appreciate the world and all its beauty. The resort actually give you a checklist which really gets you actively into finding monkeys (we saw them!), reef sharks (them too!) turtles (no such luck..) and many more. Keep an eye out for the huge sea eagle that swoops down most nights over the bay. You really do feel grateful for the opportunity to visit a place still rather undiscovered and even now whilst writing this review makes me feel desperate to return to island life.

I should also mention to enjoy the spa whilst the waves lap under you and send you off into a deep relaxing sleep, the facial was a total treat and nice after so much sunshine. And for those all-important room choices, I would suggest the beach cottages as they are smack bang on the beach (obviously) and central to the resort, even though it’s very small. We actually made this trip for our 2nd Wedding Anniversary and were very fortunate to be given an upgrade from a garden cottage. We only booked one of those because that was all that was left but if you can afford to pay the extra then do it, they didn’t look so great compared to the water cottages or beach cottage like we had and for our room (43) was on the 2nd floor and had fantastic views over the beach and the bay. Every morning I would rush to open the blinds and just lie in bed looking out watching the boats and people go by, it never got old. Bear in mind there are no tv’s on the resort but we never missed one instead you while away hours playing dominoes at the beach bar, walking the boardwalk to watch the jackfish, snorkel, sunbathe, relax, love it!

Although we visited Miniloc for our wedding anniversary it wasn’t just the anniversary day itself that was spectacular or special, the whole trip was! But for our special day the staff arranged for us to be taken to a private beach and private it was! Speedboat drops you off at a place that reminded me of something out of a Bond movie (or think more like the recent Bourne Legacy shot there in the bay) and you were left for hours to explore at your leisure before they return to serve you lunch. The same at night, we were taken to a different beach and had a full on staff cooking and catering to us, another special touch was we had told a Chef that we would love to try some Filippino Pork Liempo and that is indeed what they served and after dinner we were serenaded by guitar which was just wonderful, not cheesy at all – fun!

300 photos and even more memories later, we would like to extend a special thanks to Noel, the manager who runs Miniloc like a breeze and has all his outstandingly helpful staff around him. They really excelled themselves when I unfortunately dropped our camera and being on a remote island where am I to get another? So the resort lent us there one..no hire fee, no security deposit just lent it to us without any concern. This idea never even occurred to us but there they were with a solution. It was like this so many times for plans we made regarding the weather, on our anniversary it began to rain so we worried our special beach dinner could be cancelled, they simply moved it under a romantic canopy. They really were always one step ahead of you with an idea, with a plan, with a solution right up to the day you leave the staff come to take your luggage before you even think about how you will pull it through the sand!

We also want to thank all the staff especially Vokz on the boat trips for his knowledge, stories and tales. He gave us a tour around his hometown of El Nido which the resort do not promote but you should ask about it, hire a banca for the day and go see a traditional town. Also, Joel at the beach bar. Everyday we loved our daily happy hour watching the sunset, slurping a coconut and Joel was always there with a smile mixing my favourite cocktail (bluebird bay – try it!)

Miniloc is a wonderful resort, quirky, traditional and totally homey. If you want to try somewhere a little undiscovered yet clean and somehow familiar then this is the place for you. We felt Lagen was a little too ‘hotely’ for us. We have travelled alot but can honestly say this was our best ever holiday in the most beautiful location in the world – GO before the rest of the world catches on...

Room Tip: Beach cottage for central location on the sand and beautiful bay views :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

We had the pleasure of staying for 4 nights on Miniloc Island from Feb 9 - 13, 2013 and can't say enough good things about our accomodation, the staff, activities and the food. Noel Barrameda is their Manager and he has done a stellar job with the staff. They all work together as a team and go out of their way to look after you. The activities each day were well organized and it was great to see the other islands. The weather was superb and we would love to go back on day.

Room Tip: Go for a water cottage. The rooms are great and the views can't be beat
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

We spent 5 night in Miniloc Island over the Chinese New Year. Let start with the positives. The location is fantastic. Wonderful scenery, plenty of well organised activities buy the staff. If you are looking for helpful friendly staff then this is what you get. After talking to them over a week you do understand that El Nido resorts do value and look after there staff. They are payed well, have paid health insurance and are evening given free flights to see the family. What disappoints is the the price you pay for the accommodation and food, the price to quality is appalling. We both got food poisoning and even though you are surrounded by the sea, the seafood was terrible. Laden food and accommodation was far better. It surprises us to here that miniloc is better we did not see this.

Room Tip: Choose lagen
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quezon City, Philippines
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013 via mobile

The staff at Miniloc is amazing. Noel, their manager was extremely helpful and sincere. The island is beautiful and had a lot of natural surroundings to boast of. Miniloc is one fine place to build good memories with your loved ones.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to El Nido Resorts Miniloc Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Nido Resorts Miniloc Island

Address: Miniloc Island, El Nido, Palawan Island 5313, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Mimaropa > Palawan Province > Palawan Island > El Nido
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in El Nido
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — El Nido Resorts Miniloc Island 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Miniloc Island is a rustic and charming hideaway reminiscent of a coastal village. Miniloc Island is located in El Nido, in northwestern Palawan. It takes a 75-minute direct flight from Manila to get to El Nido or a 6-hour travel by land from Puerto Princesa City (Palawan's Capital City).Miniloc Island Resort is tucked within a beautiful cove surrounded by towering limestone cliffs and a vibrant coral reef. It is a gateway to popular activity sites in a breath-taking location known for its high biodiversity. The resort has 50 cottages and rooms built in traditional Filipino design over the water, beside the beach, or surrounded by garden and limestone cliffs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your El Nido Resorts Miniloc Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Nido Resort Miniloc Island Hotel El Nido
Hotel El Nido
Resort El Nido
El Nido Resorts Miniloc Island Palawan Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Nido Resorts Miniloc Island, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.