We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise found!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Qi Palawan

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Qi Palawan to your Saves list
Qi Palawan
Sitio Palabuyan | San Ferando, El Nido, Palawan Island 5313, Philippines   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
15% off room rate
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in El Nido
Chiang Mai, Thailand
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Paradise found!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

Fantastic experience, from the arrival everything was perfect. Fresh expresso local coffee and a lots of smiles. We could do a early check in because the room was free and they had it ready for us at 8 am. The room is spectacular, big clean and just a few steps from the sea, it was high tide and from the bed we could only see the sea, almost Iike being in a boat, the shower area is incredible, while taking a shower you can enjoy the birds and the sky, for sure the best i've ever seen. The staff is very well trained because the owners have a lot of experience in the hospitality business and you can feel how passioned they are in every detail of their place, always with a smile and always willing to help us in any needs we had. Bettina is the perfect host, always there, always with great sugestions about anything, doing a yoga class every mornig free of charge for us,and Ismael as a chef has created a fantastic menu due to the remote location. We were surprise for the amount of activities they offer. The island hoping was amazing, all the beaches we went were for us alone, no tourist, cristal water and a perfect picnic on the beach.
All and all the perfect stay. Great value, great experince. We'll be back some day for sure.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    12
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
11
50
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

I tried out Qi Palawan for two days last year. It was a last minute add-on from my family vacation. As a new resort, they did not have many reviews and I had very low expectations after staying at hotels 4 to 5 times the price for the rest of my trip. But, we wanted to kiteboard so we decided to ‘slum it’ a bit. What we found was a level of quality and service equal to the more expensive resorts where we had been staying.

The food was actually better than some of the other luxury resorts we had been. After enduring buffet lines at the so called luxury places we had been, we were glad to have menus filled with fresh fruits and salads. Everything was perfectly prepared.

While Qi Palawan is not an exclusive island resort, it has a distinct feeling of exclusivity. It’s the only resort on a very long beach. We actually enjoyed not being trapped on an island. We were able to walk for hours on the beach and see local fishermen and school children in the neighboring villages.

The resort itself is lovely. The beds and showers are first class and the activities are plentiful. While I was kiteboarding my wife enjoyed yoga and massages. We also tried stand up paddle and wake boarding. We did not have time to do the tours but we were surprised by the number of tour options.

The owners are very accommodating and always willing to go the extra mile to offer customized activities and service. In fact, all the service was excellent. The staff was very friendly and qualified.

As we plan our next vacation, Qi Palawan is the bar for the right mix of value and comfort. Its hard to beat!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

My boyfriend and I just finished a 10 day vacation in Palawan, where we spent 2 nights at the Qi Palawan Resort in San Fernando, about a 50 minute drive from El Nido Proper. This is the PERFECT getaway for those looking for peace and quiet, I can especially recommend for couples. It was the most romantic part of our trip and the owners are really sweet and helpful, doing whatever they can to make your stay memorable. The staff is also always smiling and very helpful and friendly.
ACCOMMODATION
*Room is very big and spacious, with a HUGE bed, modern, airy, and full of light.
Nothing in the room feels unnecessary or cluttered.
*Wi-FI is in the room, although during our trip it didn't really work. (Can't say we minded
much, as when you are in such a beautiful location, who needs internet! :) )
*Absolutely AWESOME walk-in shower outside of the room, separate to the toilet, but still
connected to the cottage. Absolutely incredible power and warmth.
* a small-tv with usb hook-up to watch films
* air-con

ACTIVITIES
*there is a really beautiful, long and wide white sand beach on the resort during low tide
that looks absolutely incredible. The water was very calm during our stay, although the
ground is covered in algae so there is no opportunity for snorkeling/diving right at the resort

*a bar and billiards table in the main hall. It's a very cozy place to eat, read a book or
socialize
*Bettina helped me to organize a romantic picnic lunch on a private beach about a 20 min
boat ride from the resort. The water was an exquisite blend of aquamarine and clear
turquoise, with lots of coral to view. Really the highlight of our trip.
*They have some usbs with videos already made so if you want to watch a film you just
need to ask and there are a bunch of films/shows on each usb to plug into your tv,
available in English and French.

Since the resort is 50 mins away from El Nido the only place you really can eat is at the resort, which you will find is an awesome treat. The food was absolutely incredible, and for the price, the portion is MASSIVE. Usually I find at resorts the food is either not very good or too expensive and not enough, but this is the first place I have stayed where you get so much delicious food for a fair price.

If you are looking for a place that has not been (yet) been ruined by commercialism, Palawan is for sure where it is at. I would recommend Qi Palawan hands-down to anyone visiting the area to find a little slice of heaven and comfort in a place that has not yet been spoiled by backpackers and monopolies.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fortaleza, CE
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

This place is such a wonderful haven of beauty and tranquility
All staff are so nice.
The owner Ismael is such great host and helpful to make your stay comfortable.
With only nine rooms, you're ensured your privacy and a feeling of exclusivity.

internet throughout the Filipine islands is very deficient
forget to internet, just enjoy the paradise

In Qui Palawan you can find a delicious "bocadillo" of Spanish ham
the best who prepares the Owner Ismael

will return for sure !

Enrique & Kelly

Room Tip: family room oceanfront, just 10 steps from the beach sand
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

A friend and I stayed here after our five-day Tao Expedition, needless to say we were absolutely delighted when we arrived at Qi Palawan.

The beach front rooms are spacious and clean and the amendtities are excellent, I particularly loved the outdoor shower room, such a good concept.

GIven the remoteness of the location, the beach is very clean and it felt like we had our own private tropical beach. The swimming pool was also a great way too cool off.

The owners and staff are very friendly and professional. They helped us organise flights back to Manilla from El Nido and let us stay an extra night - we coudln't have been happier. The food in the restaurant is also suburb. Was great to relax with a bottle of wine and a HUGE delicious cheese platter on our first night.

I can also highly recommend the massages.

Overall a perfect place to unwind and relax (and shower if you're coming off a Tao Expedition!!)

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macau, China
1 review
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

We spent 9 days in Palawan and 3 at QI Palawan. The place is on the opposite coast of the disorganized and dirty El Nido Town and is the only resort at the area. Getting there implies 50 more minutes travelling through relatively rough roads but it certainly pays off. The resort is very well organized and only has 5 beautiful cottages, built on the edge of a long and desert beach. Although the beach is not the best in El Nido (no reefs for snorkeling and the sand is not as white as in other areas) there are a number of islands in front of the resort absolutely amazing and within easy reach by boat. Island hoping here is also a different concept than at El Nido Town. You will not get a tour A, B or C with crowds of tourists converging to the same few spots. Here, you have the opportunity to just jump on a boat and explore completely desert islands, have a great lunch on a secluded beach and snorkel in great coral reef sites. You won't see any other tourist for sure...We wanted to see the other islands closer to El Nido Town (the ones you will see in most websites and postcards) and the resort organized a program for us. This is an aspect that could be improved as the tour was not as smooth at it could have been. Nevertheless, it is easy to do Island hoping at the northwest coast of El Nido while staying comfortably hosted on the opposite coast at QI Palawan. The magnificent scenery of El Nido is certainly worth the visit, in spite of the higher number of tourists. Still, the relatively unexplored Northeast coast of Palawan offers a privileged window to El Nido.

Some of the other activities you can do at QI Palawan are using for free the Bankas available at the resort and explore the shallow bay, swim in their great pool or just relax on the beach. There is also a big deck for Yoga and other activities and a SPA for massages.

The rooms are very comfortable and the whole place is decorated with very good taste. The owners, Ismael and Bettina, are fantastic in making sure all guests have a relaxed stay at "their" place. A large central cabana with cozy sofas, a pool table and the bar/restaurant offers a great place to relax at the end of the day. Talking about the restaurant, that was for us a great surprise. Ismael runs the kitchen and the menu is great, with very tasty Mediterranean style dishes and carefully selected ingredients. Breakfast is also very complete with a good variety of choices.

The fact that you are 1h from El Nido town, and actually from anything else, can be for some a disadvantage. You are limited to the restaurant of the resort and there is no offer for shopping! Still, at the end of our journey, this was by far the best place we stayed in Palawan. We felt that being further away from El Nido town was actually not a disadvantage but a great way to escape the crowds while having access to the best of both worlds, unexplored El Nido on the Northeast coast and the El Nido highlights on the northwest coast.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

We came here for 5 days at the end of our honeymoon travelling around the Philippines and it was a beautiful end to a fantastic trip.

The kitesurfing was good, we even got to kite in a 'typhoon' technically which was definitely on the bucket list! Kit hire was easy and we only paid for the time we used the kit for. They also had lots of other toys for light wind days including SUP's and mountain bikes - a trip exploring the local village is a must.

Highly recommended! Would go back :-)

Room Tip: All rooms seemed equally private and well equipped.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Qi Palawan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Qi Palawan

Address: Sitio Palabuyan | San Ferando, El Nido, Palawan Island 5313, Philippines
Phone Number:
Location: Philippines > Mimaropa > Palawan Province > Palawan Island > El Nido
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in El Nido
#2 On the Beach Hotel in El Nido
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Qi Palawan is small, remote resort situated on an expansive beach, offering the guests solitude and comfort. With only seven beachfront cottages, this intimate resort offers personalized service and gourmet food. As the only resort in the area, you can relax with peace and quiet and explore the real culture of Palawan. The resort offers island tours, swimming pool, spa and billiard table. Please note we are located on the east coast of northern Palawan, the opposite side of the island from El Nido town center. We are 36 kilometers, or a 1 hour drive from El Nido town center. Tours A,B,C and D in Bacuit Bay depart from El Nido town proper - one hour away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Qi Palawan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Qi Palawan El Nido, Palawan Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Qi Palawan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.