We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lonesome Carabao Lounge

Lonesome Carabao Lounge
Zone 3 Hama St. | Barangay Massagana, El Nido, Palawan Island 5313, Philippines
+63-93-9909-0085
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #23 of 40 Restaurants in El Nido
Price range: $3 - $10
Cuisines: Filipino, Mexican, Seafood, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night
Belleville, Canada
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Nice place...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

Good spot to have a drink. Relaxed and friendly. On the main street so also close to everything. Didn't eat there but food others received looked good.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    6
    8
    2
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
“Great Food, Great Service, Great People!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Loved it! I had been traveling in Asia for most of the year and was craving some mexican food and this place delivered. Great flavors, great presentation and great prices. It really brought a smile to my face. We tried many things on the menu during our stay in El Nido and they were all wonderful. They have a large menu that caters to every taste (Filipino and many different international foods as well). I can't say enough good things about the food or the people. The owners really go out of there way to make sure you are happy and make you feel at home. The free wifi is great too. Highly recommend to everyone!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“you'll keep going back!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

This was a great find in the 3 days we stayed in El Nido. The first time we went there was on the promising menu with a wide variety of Mexican and Vegetarian options (and many more). They fulfilled their promise on the food front and followed through with excellent service from a friendly team and an overall good ambiance.
Our second visit descended into late night whiskeys and guitar singalongs with the owner and friends. A excellent way to crown a wonderful stay in El Nido!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hebden Bridge, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“My favourite spot in El Nido!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

I stayed in El Nido for 5 months at the beginning of this year, and the place that I felt the most at home was the Lonesome Carabao! With friendly staff, great food, fantastic selection of music and cosy atmosphere, this is the place to visit! I miss this place dearly and cannot wait to go back there. Highly recommend if you are visiting el Nido to give the place a try :) Emma Leaper

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Nido, Philippines
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A place where you feel at home with the ambiance, great food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

I love the Lonesome Carabao. They make you feel at home from the moment you walk in. It is a fantastic place to have a beer or cocktail, enjoy some of their amazing cuisine and just hang out and lay back. My favorite is their mexican dishes like nachos or their nre Burritos - by far the best in town - but they also serve filipino and other great international foods. The owner Glezel is always there to greet you with a smile. Their staff is very attentive, friendly and corteous. It is one of those places that once you try it you keep coming back - their breakfast are also great with fresh brewed coffee. Great ambiance and music in the evening and a place to enjoy with your friends or make new ones. Do not leave El Nido without visiting Lonesome Carabao.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lonesome Carabao Lounge also viewed

El Nido, Palawan Island
El Nido, Palawan Island
 
El Nido, Palawan Island
El Nido, Palawan Island
 

Been to Lonesome Carabao Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lonesome Carabao Lounge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.