We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NO REFUNDS” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Garnet

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Garnet to your Saves list
Hotel Garnet
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Calle Hama, Barangay Masagana, El Nido, Palawan Island 5313 , Philippines   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 51 El Nido B&B and Inns
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“NO REFUNDS”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

As with many places in the Philippines, when you give them your money, it's very likely you will not see it again. I paid for a room but ended up finding a cheaper place, and when I asked for a refund they first told me they had to wait to get money, so I came back the next day and they something else, and a few hours later something else. It seemed to be their way of saying you're not going to see your money again, and since then I have been much more careful about spending money in this country. The one night I did stay here was alright, although my bathroom light went out about an hour after I'd turned it on, and not because the power goes out during certain hours in the day.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    28
    7
    7
    4
See reviews for
5
25
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Al Hofuf, Saudi Arabia
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
234 helpful votes 234 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

Not bad experience. if you wanna to have a sea view or partially view take high level room. There are couch and coffee/tea areas in the center of the building on each floor. Also, There is balcony on each level you can site there and have you coffee/tea while watching the outside view. They turn off the power of the AC from 6 am but yet still you can have the power they return back the power of the AC at 5 pm almost. The staff were friendly. The breakfast was on the restaurant at the beach. The hotel centrally located.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

Well priced, very clean, a/c, fan, ensuite bathroom, this place is basic but more than sufficient for a few days stay. WIFI provided, electric knocks off for a while in El Nido but this hotel maintains a back up generator to ensure the a/c keeps going. Staff were very helpful and welcoming, they kindly charged my camera every night from their reception computer and assisted with bookings for the island trips and transfers. El Nido is small so all locations are reasonably central, this hotel was a 60 second walk from the beach and breakfast is served in a little café on the beach and is inclusive in the price. I would have no hesitation in staying here again on my next visit.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandaluyong, Philippines
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
156 helpful votes 156 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

after the 3 hour rough road journey from taytay palawan, arriving at a decent hotel such as Garnet was a relief. We arrived late at night and allowed us for a late check in. There's no resto within the hotel vicinity.

Before hitting the sack, we went to the beach which was just in front.

They have well-furnished rooms and the view from the upper floors are better.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

I booked a Deluxe Room for me and my friend because of the average reviews.

Positive:
- location, second row, next to the beach
- friendly staff, helped

Negative:
- Definitely too expensive! (55€ = 3200 PHP/night).
- high humidity (and smell) in the room, they do nothing against it
- new towels, but cleaning the room not expensive every day,
- interior more or less average/old/simple

In the end I was disappointed for this price. If it would be half of the price I wouldn't complain that much. A real "Hotel" would offer more, especially more service and atmosphere.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boracay
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

Stayed here before. They use a back generator when there is no power. Great to keep the fan going when there is no wind and high humidity. They also have 24/7 WIFI which is important for me to keep contact with my office. Rates are great and the staff are friendly. Right in the centre of town so you can walk anywhere

Room Tip: If you like it quiet choose the centre rooms. Back rooms you can hear the generator. Frnt rooms you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Stayed 5 nights at this centrally located no frills hotel which is clean and readily accessible.
Check in was quick and easy, but don't expect help with baggage, there are very few staff. Rooms are clean and comfortable, with large bathrooms and are serviced every day.
Aircon is a basic wall unit but worked very well, similarly the TV was a small wall mounted unit, but it worked as required.
There was a lot of construction work ongoing next door (as is the case all over El Nido now) but the noise didn't bother us too much as we were out most days anyway. The communal area on the second floor where they have complimentary tea and coffee is also quite noisy, but this is due to inconsiderate guests and not the hotel fault at all.
The hotel has its own Generator which supplies basic power needs during the scheduled El Nido Brownouts (0600-1400+) but be aware, it doesn't run the Aircon or the Electric Shower.
Hotel has no restaurant facility, the complimentary breakfast is served in the nearby Habibi Restaurant overlooking the beach. Choices are basic but adequate and the food is well cooked. For other meals El Nido has many choices of reasonable restaurants.
Wifi is unreliable, as is elsewhere in El Nido, basically forget it for important communications.
All things considered, this is one of the best hotels to stay in El Nido, it doesn't overlook the beach and has no extra facilities, therefore it is a little cheaper, however it is very well situated and is clean, relatively quiet and comfortable. If returning to El Nido we would stay here again without hesitation.

Room Tip: Front Rooms have traffic noise, rear have adjacent construction work, middle rooms are better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Garnet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Garnet

Address: Calle Hama, Barangay Masagana, El Nido, Palawan Island 5313 , Philippines
Location: Philippines > Mimaropa > Palawan Province > Palawan Island > El Nido
Amenities:
Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 51 B&Bs / Inns in El Nido
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Garnet 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Garnet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Garnet El Nido, Palawan Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Garnet, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.