We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant surprise” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Garnet

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Garnet to your Saves list
Hotel Garnet
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Calle Hama, Barangay Masagana, El Nido, Palawan Island 5313 , Philippines   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 50 El Nido B&B and Inns
Satun, Thailand
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
81 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
“Pleasant surprise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

Only stayed here for one full night. Located in the heart of El Nido, the beach is across the street. Rooms have air conditioning and fans, soft mattresses, flatscreen TV's with some English options and heated showers in the bathrooms. My room had a window, but it was 6 inches from a brick wall which made it pointless. Each floor had a common area with comfy looking couches and a flatscreen, and a balcony that gave nice views of the bay. Staff were friendly, but everyone is friendly in the Philippines. Free wi-fi only worked in the lobby. Would have liked to have stayed longer, recommended.

Room Tip: Try and get a room with a window
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    28
    7
    7
    4
See reviews for
5
24
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ballarat, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

Overall the hotel was ok more of a backpacker feel. The furnishing are all relatively new and simple but the bed was very uncomfortable my partner hated it so much we had to check out a day early, it didn't help either that right outside our window at 6.30 am construction would start up and there was no way of a sleep in. On positive the room where kept clean, and the staff were friendly and helpful, and on a plus the rooms had ac, the breakfast was pretty good to. No a bad place to rest your head after a day of island hopping, just not great either.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grapevine, Texas
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

This is the only place I have stayed in El Nido, but I do recommend it.

The common areas on each floor has some couches, and a place to make coffee and tea.
The balcony is also shared, but offers a a nice place to relax and enjoy conversations.
The room I had easily fit 3 people. The AC was cold, and fan worked well when needed.
Bathroom had toilet, shower and sink/mirror. Water pressure was ok, and hot water worked well.

The hotel ran the generator most of the time when power was out (6am until 2pm daily), but
the sign in paper work states the generator might not be turned on. On generator power was the lights and room fan. Wifi worked, but was slow.

There was lots of construction near by which did cause extra noise but only during the day time
hours. In El Nido, it seems to be expected that one will be up at dawn and out on a tour for
most of the day.

The hotel service was excellent. Extra items were brought up quickly. The hotel staff was able
to help organize tours and give directions. I had some laundry done in the hotel, which
was quick and efficient (by the kilogram). I had no problems storing valuables with the
front desk attendant.

Breakfast was across the street and had a few choices. There are many places for lunch and dinner available, along with places to buy water, other items, get massages, and schedule
tours near by.

The top floor was closed, but I heard that a couple more rooms and a roof top deck
will be there in the near future.

I had a wonderful stay with no issues or complaints.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martinsville, Indiana
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

We stayed for 6 days at this hotel. The people were very friendly and helpful. Room was nice with hot tea or coffee every day at any time included. Hotel was kept clean which was not easy to do with all the sand that was tracked in. Enjoyed the sitting room that was on each floor and if you were on the third floor you could see the bay from the balcony. Bathrooms were nice but need more water preasure. Also had generator that would turn on durning the day so you could have electricity. All in all a good hotel to stay when in El Nido

Room Tip: third floor is the best, However, they were building a forth floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palawan Island, Philippines
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012 via mobile

My relatives and i were really satisfied during our stay last sunday. . The room was clean and the bathroom was spacious. Staff were very very friendly. there were sufficient books to read and the sofa was very comfortable. Free coffee is great. Free wifi. One of the best hotel in el nido. Good job Garnet.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vevey, Switzerland
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

good location, clean and having the AC is really a luxury in El Nido. After spending a night in one of the worst accomodation of my life with dirty shared bathrooms it was a joy to spend the next 2 nights at the Garnett hotel. staff was friendly and helpful. there is a tv and sofa on the 2nd floor.
a little bit expensive though.
breakfast was served in another building/cafe just in front of the beach, not really convenient but you get the nice view and the food was ok.
I would advise travelers to walk a few blocks away from the beach to find cheaper hotels or go to corong-corong (green view resort or talindak beach cottages) for better options

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

We just got back from the wonderful El Nido. We stayed at the hotel for 3 nights. Everything was perfect, my boyfriend and I could not wish for a better place to stay. Free coffee in the common room, fast wifi, hot shower from 2pm-6am, insulated rooms keep all the mosquitos out. Free breakfast across the street at habibi restaurant with the best view of the el nido beach. Our room was not facing the street, so it was very quiet the whole time. Staff were very friendly and helpful. They can book tours and transportations for you. We checked out 8 in the morning without noticing we left our home key in the room. One of the personnels ran to the bus station and gave us the key right before we left. Without a doubt, we would stay at this hotel again.
The myth about no power 6am-2pm. Supposingly, the entire town should be out of power during those hrs. Although, the garnet hotel only cuts the electricity for A/C, cable, and hot shower from 6am-2pm and everything else from 3am-7:30am. So you can still enjoy a hot coffee with wifi and fan in the morning. It really makes sense because El Nido 'beach' is hardly a beach, so all the tours go out around 9am and come back around 4pm.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for a AC room. AC can keep you cool and keep Mosquitos away.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Garnet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Garnet

Address: Calle Hama, Barangay Masagana, El Nido, Palawan Island 5313 , Philippines
Location: Philippines > Mimaropa > Palawan Province > Palawan Island > El Nido
Amenities:
Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 50 B&Bs / Inns in El Nido
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Garnet 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Garnet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Garnet El Nido, Palawan Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Garnet, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.