We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ipil Suites El Nido

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Ipil Suites El Nido to your Saves list
Ipil Suites El Nido
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Real St, El Nido, Palawan Island 1870, Philippines   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 57 El Nido B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Erieau, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

If you are looking for a/c, hot and cold showers, friendly staff, and of course, somewhere clean....this is a great place to go. For 3 of us we paid ph1500/ nt ($37.50 Cdn) and this included a buffet breakfast that was delicious. A nice break from some of the more traditional accommodations we stayed at during our 3 week tour of the Philippines. Oh ya, real mattresses, not just foam!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    63
    24
    7
    8
See reviews for
24
54
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
philippines
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

The staffs are courteous and hospitable. The rooms have no TV but comfortable and clean. Each room has its own toilet and bath with hot shower. They have a small balcony where you can hang your wet clothes.
They serve well prepared, delectable and fresh food. We availed their island tour package. They served lunch in the island since it is included in the tour package. The boat man cooked the food in the island while the guests are busy swimming.

Even thou the lodge is not in the beach front, the location of Ipil is very ideal. A five minutes walk and you are in the beach, stores, church, internet shop, parlor and the small restaurants. This is very important since you don’t want to spend your money paying for tricylce just to go to restaurants and at the beach. At night the street is quite which is also very important since you need to have a good sleep for tomorrow’s activities.

To the staff of Ipil travel lodge, El Nido, Thank you for making our vacation more relaxing and memorable! Keep up the good work!

Room Tip: choose a corner room at 3rd flr facing the sea and the islands. its a nice view to see in the mornin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St.Petersburg, Russia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

We were delighted with this hotel. Great clean rooms, helpful service, good location. There is a nice restaurant. We spent in this hotel 3 nights and we had no complaints. Except that it is located near the road, but at night life in El Nido freezes. We can definitely recommend this hotel to everyone.

Отличный отель с хорошими чистыми номерами. Отличный персонал. Есть свой ресторан, что удобно. Неплохие завтраки. Может быть шумно, так как рядом дорога, но ночью жизнь в Эль-Нидо замирает. Нам все очень понравилось. Рекомендуем.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Really pleased with the accomodation. Very clean, new and comfortable. Really nice breakfast and super friendly staff.

El Nido as a town may be a little grotty, but the hotel was perfect for us.

We arranged a kayaking tour through the Art Cafe. It was an amazing experience.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

They have nice rooms, though they don't have TV nor refrigerator inside. Bathroom is typical modern design by standard and the staff are excellent. Food for breakfast is buffet style but not too much selection. For a hefty price i expect a more higher standard (and a tv) for this hotel. Another disappointment is the airport transfer. We need to go to the terminal by ourselves (we hire a tricycle and we pay for it) hence the only thing they did was booked us a trip =( and also the van didn't brought us to the airport but to another terminal in Puerto Princesa only. So we need to ride another tricycle to bring us there which is quite pricey.

Room Tip: clarify the airport transfer before getting the service from the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei, Taiwan
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

ipiltravelodge, el nido is new, modern, and accessible. but DON'T get their tour package and island hopping tours--u will be dismayed. read further down our group tour experience.

also, stay away from room 203--the hotel power generator and kitchen is right below it. the loud generator and its smell will wake u up once it's turned on at 6am when power in el nido is cut off.

we've booked a tour package (4N/5D for 7 pax)--with it came hotel accomodation, van transfer (puerto airport to el nido and vice versa), tour A, private island tour (actually not an island but a private beach), daily breakfast and 2 dinners. we paid & sent the 50% deposit in sept. 2012 (4 months early) as per hotel booking instruction. i was in utter shock when asked a few days prior to our trip to send the booking deposit receipt again bcoz they couldnt find it from their emails. What? After a few days, they finally informed me they got it.

arrival at puerto airport--nobody picked us up upon arrival at 7:45am with several emails informing them about our flight. luckily, i bumped into a guy who worked as tour guide and called ipiltravelodge puerto branch for us. the driver finally came to pick us up and drove us to ipiltravelodge puerto not to el nido. there, we were told to wait for the van to take us to el nido. the waiting took almost an hour. i've kept asking the reception staff the same question--"when's the van coming to pick us up"? the repeated answer was---"it's on the way!"

finally, the van came and when we got in, other guests were already in it. moreover, the van had to pick up other more guests from 2 different hotels. woah! we were all crammed inside the small van with 14 people and our luggage on top of the van. all the while we thought the van was exclusive for us. the reason why we got the package was for comfort and convenience. who in a million would ever think a tour package would be like this? isn't a tour package exclusive and independent?

we got to el nido past 3pm more than 7 hours on the road including the waiting and the picking up of other guests. we had to take a tricycle to the hotel bcoz public vans weren't allowed to get to the narrow street where our hotel was on. we paid the tricycle driver from our own pockets.

when we got to the hotel, we told the reception staff of our own predicament and she was sorry about it. all she could say was sorry!

1st tour day--private beach (not private island as indicated in our itinerary)--the beach is owned by the hotel. we stayed on the beach the whole day and the lunch was a big disappointment--only 2 kinds of food were served (grilled pork and fish) and wasn't enough for 7 pax. pork had more fat than meat. there was salad and some watermelon as well. the only good thing on this tour was the fresh coconut water they served to us.

take note--the hotel had its own boat bigger than most boats for island hopping. big doesn't translate comfort and convenience. a big boat isn't convenient for guests bcoz it can't get to the shallow water of the beach or island. from our experience, we had to kayak or swim to the beach with our life jackets on which took lots of time and was quite unsafe bcoz the waves were big. we envied those tourists who took the small boats and who didnt have to do this "ordeal". if you're older and with kids, don't ever take the big boats. if u like kayaking or try to learn it, this may be a good treat. otherwise, don't play with ur life.

2nd day tour--(tour A)--with the shortage of food on the 1st tour, we decided to buy some seafood and fruit and took them with us. this time, with our stomachs full after lunch, we had but 1 thing to complain about--the big waves.

3rd day tour--(tour C)--we booked servant tours this time. i've read some positive comments about it. food was a lot better--3 kinds of food and 2 kinds of fruit were served and they were plenty. i've shared our experience particularly with food to servant tour guide and he told me that some tours deliberately stay away from those tours that serve more than 3 kinds of food during lunch for fear that their own guests will see the real lunch situation. what a shame! hope ipiltravelodge is not one of those. besides the plentiful food, our servant tour guide helped us know more about the islands we would see. we had a great and memorable day with servant tour.

my take--food at epiltravelodge is a bit pricey bcoz 10% service charge is added. try other restaurants in el nido--they're cheaper and food is yummier. ipiltravelodge breakfast is ok--they serve the same kinds of food, bread, toast, jam, fruit, etc. every morning. we ate the same breakfast for 3 consecutive mornings.

suggestion: plz don't serve the same fruit (watermelon) every morning. to us (coming from taiwan), philippine mangoes are the best and they were seen everywhere in el nido. are they more expensive than watermelon?

one more thing--i've told reception to give us a morning call b4 the early morning trip back to puerto but she never did.

one thing good though--ipiltravelodge tour guide, richard--he was very helpful, friendly, and polite. hope this review will help those who are looking for accommodation and tours in el nido. have a pleasant and enjoyable trip!

Room Tip: stay away from room 203--the loud power generator and kitchen are just below it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

This "hotel" provides you with basic amenities -hot water, air-con and fan. Very ordinary hotel - nothing interesting or special to speak of but nothing to complain about too. Service was alright, i did not book any tours with them coz I stayed in another acc before IPIL and they did an excellent job with the island hopping tours so I struck with them.

Breakfast was not good - limited selection and crowded. Think this is a hotel used by tour groups - noisy.

Room Tip: Do not take a room facing the road... it was very noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Ipil Suites El Nido? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ipil Suites El Nido

Address: Real St, El Nido, Palawan Island 1870, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Mimaropa > Palawan Province > Palawan Island > El Nido
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 57 B&Bs / Inns in El Nido
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ipil Suites El Nido 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Ipil Suites El Nido reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ipil Travelodge El Nido Hotel El Nido
Ipil Suites El Nido Palawan Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ipil Suites El Nido, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.