We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best service and amazing diving experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Submariner Diving Center

Submariner Diving Center
Hama Street | Brgy Masagana, El Nido, Palawan Island 5313, Philippines
+63 905 484 1764
Website
Improve this listing
Book Now

Ranked #1 of 20 activities in El Nido
Type: Water sports
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: SUBMARINER DIVING CENTER is the first and only PADI 5 Star Dive Resort in El Nido, Palawan Philippines, which is operated by the German Ronny Oliwka who is PADI MSDT and TDI AN Instructor. Submariner is also certified as AQUALUNG PARTNER CENTER who offers high standard in Diving and Education as well as diving gear branded by AQUALUNG and APEKS. We are committed to 100% PADI AWARE. Not only the Equipment considers a high standard. Also the staff is highly qualified and we keep international standards. For us diving is Fun and Joy and that´s what we want to experience to our Guests. We are located directly in the middle of the Main Beach of El Nido. Just visit us and learn more about us and diving. Submariner is also offering Palawan Diving Safaris to the World famous WW2 Wreck destination Coron with a 60ft. Liveaboard. After Diving we welcome you at the 1st floor in our Bar & Restaurant “Habibi Restaurant & Shisha Cafe” where you can hang out and enjoy great Food, Drinks and maybe a Shisha after your Dive or in the evening and chat with great People.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Lockers / storage, Bathroom facilities, Stairs / elevator
Shanghai, China
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Best service and amazing diving experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

The Best dive center in town. As we went to check out dive centers on our first day in el nido, Ronnie the owner happily explained to us anything we needed to know.

We booked 2 discover scuba diving and one fun dive. Joy the receptionist who booked us and helped us try the equipment is a high energy woman, she just made a laugh so much when she was making jokes with my dad. She definitely make you feel comfortable immediately.

On the day of our dive Windel was our dm and he's great, speaks slowly, explain clearly and always smile and making jokes which makes you feel more relaxed. as it was our first time for 2 of us we didn't have knowledge.
Once in the water he was very careful and always checking on us showing us the fishes and we even got to see sea turtle on our first dive which was amazing!

My dad who is himself a dive instructor in the army was with us but on the last dive he let us go with Windel only as he said this dm is great and really proper on the safety side.

Memorable experience that makes me want to continue diving.

Thank you to the all team, good work and service. +Their prices were cheaper than other centers we visited.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    235
    6
    1
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
1 review
“Wonderful dive experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Just went with a buddy for 3 days of diving earlier this week. Submariner is very well-run and efficient, right from when I emailed them before I flew in, when u get there and when u actually dived.

DM was Win, and he's extremely thorough in his pre-dives safety briefings, very alert in showing us all the good stuff in the water during the dives, as well as ensuring logistics are taken care of while we're waiting in-between dives.

El Nido's a really great place to dive with loads of beautiful reefs and huge varieties of marine life (don't miss the tunnel dive!), and it helps that the experience with Submariner made it memorable.

Will definitely dive with them again!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Excellent service for all levels of Divers”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

I went diving with Submariner over 1 year ago, so sorry for the late review.

Overall it is one of the best diving companies I think you will find in Asia/Pacific and philippines area. As an instructor myself, I have dived in many locations around the world and on this occasion wanted to set up a discover scuba dive for my girlfriend, her first diving experience.

The shop is very well set up, with the owner running a precision company with a very high level of customer service. The dive team there are all highly trained, very familiar with the local area and for first time divers I noticed a very high level of training and competency. We had 3 dives and they were all very good with a great abundance of marine life.

A very comfortable day with a good lunch and lots of happy customers. Thanks for a great day!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iloilo City
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Projects the image of being the best in El Nido. It is.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

El Nido is not the most glamorous resort place, unfortunately. In the midst of poor buildings, small not so well built and maintained houses, shops and businesses appears Submariner. Clean, nice, organised and on the beach. Not very large. You will feel a bit tight if you like to clear your own gear but why bother, they will do it for you! It projects professionalism and as much as we can say (diving for almost 20 years now), it is. After all it belongs to and it is managed by a German national! El Nido diving bancas are by far not the best we had in the Philippines but Submariner's are probably the nicest. Day out dives are well organised (with good lunches taken on island beaches), the DMs are pleasant and know well the otherwise extremely nice diving spots in the area. If you like small stuff (half a centimeter shrimps and rare nudibranches) ask for Instructor Ben, a young nice very attentive and professional Swiss chap. If you want to improve your photographic skills, ask for Natalia, a Russian (blond of course!) instructor who makes amazing snap shots. This just to mention that Ronny (the German boss) picks his stuff very carefully and arguably has the best of the place. A nice final touch they offer: the free beer while you fill in your log book with unforgettable dives... Highly recommended

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best Dive Center in El Nido. Hands down.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

I dived with Submariner Dive Center last July 15, 2013. I'll tell you this, don't waste your time canvassing prices with other dive centers. If you want to dive happy, go with Submariner. Ronny and Charo (the owners) are very accommodating. They preached safety and ensure that you are relaxed happy and have no worries. They are eager to answer questions with regards to dive techniques and etc. Submariner is a class organization. They were not rated a 5 star padi center for nothing. They know the dive sites very well. Just judging the weather conditions they know which dive sites are most suitable for the day. From start to finish I had a great time with all of them. Great value for money! If I get an opportunity to dive again in El Nido, it will be with Submariner Dive Center. I wish Submariner all the best!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Submariner Diving Center also viewed

El Nido, Palawan Island
El Nido, Palawan Island
 
El Nido, Palawan Island
El Nido, Palawan Island
 

Been to Submariner Diving Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Submariner Diving Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Submariner Diving Center to your Saves list