We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Below expectation” 3 of 5 stars
Review of La Salangane Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added La Salangane Hotel to your Saves list
La Salangane Hotel
3.5 of 5 Small Hotel   |   33 Serena Street | Barangay Buena Suerte, El Nido, Palawan Island 5310, Philippines   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #43 of 57 El Nido B&B and Inns
Paris, France
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Below expectation”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

I have only tasted the "french restaurant" it s ok for some dishes, in fact i come back because i liked the croque madame but the other dishes i tastes where average and below for the expensive prices. The burgeroise with onion jam is not so tasty and the auvergine caviar neither , i did not like the bread for the sandwiches, too much bread and not so much inside. there is a Nice ambiance in the place, nice music and sure good wines and europenas drinks i did not tasted but seen the bottles. Of course i did not taste all the menu so there are maybe great things to discover, the meat dishes looked good. The service is good, tha staff is very cool. The best thing of the restaurant was speaking to tom and listening to the music selection he played.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    13
    12
    6
    16
See reviews for
2
41
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

We spent 4 nights in this place in April , the room was facing busy road with rubbish stored next to us , asked to change , told Sorry you booked budget room , no electric for hours daily so no fan or air con , showered in salted water rinse in fresh water , toilet would not flush , and the food , Oh my French ran so if you like onions garlic and mustard fine as everything covered in it at European prices , Fine if you are French I guess , Staff did their best ....but the Management could not run a bath ,I do not recommend this place to anyone , hot and smelly , avoid it , also family of cats living under our room , so you can imagine the sweet smell coming in when windows open ,,,,total disaster

Room Tip: Find another
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Krung Thep, Thailand
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

I know this is a 2-star hotel and I shouldn't expect much, but still it did not meet our expectations. The water in the shower was so salty it was impossible to get clean, not to mention it just trickled out of the tap. We stayed in room with working AC, definitely better than standard. The rooms are quite noisy: motorbikes, boats, etc. Our room was the only one facing the sea and it is the only decent room there. The sound of the waves helps drown out the other noise (except the boats blaring music at 6am). There is no safe in the room. The local staff were quite friendly, but the expat staff was very rude.
We organized island hopping trip through them and it was really good. Highly recommend the speed boat trip.
The restaurant is very good, especially desert.
No ATMs in El Nido and the hotel/restaurant does not accepts credit cards. Plan accordingly.

Room Tip: Get the beach front quite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

A beautiful place, great staff, fantastic food and the most welcoming bar staff (you know who you are).We are sad to be home and cacan't wait to return. Get the room at the front for thr view, ignote the crap reviews and enjoy..

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiba, Japan
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

Let's face it, you're really paying for the view in the one beach-fronted room at this hotel. Once you get over that, you see that the room isn't really worth the money you're paying. The bathroom is ultra-basic with brackish salt-water showers. I had a big spider as a shower guest that the cleaning staff seemed to live and let live. The bed was decent, but the bamboo/nipa construction means you hear every sound from the bar about 1 meter from the room all day and night. And the Internet SUCKS. One reason I chose this place is I assumed for the price they would at least have decent wifi. Wrong. When I tried connecting and couldn't, the owner told me to basically sit exactly under the router. Super inconvenient. And there is no wifi in the room. The staff are all traveler types and quite friendly. But this is essentially a good French restaurant with a few rooms on the side. You can get much better accommodation for much less in El Nido. So eat here, but stay elsewhere.

Room Tip: My best tip for choosing a room here is..don't. Find one at another place, and just come here fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012 via mobile

We really enjoyed or stay here. The basic rooms are just that and the more expensive rooms are great. The view is stunning. You will find that all the tours in El Nido are the same (can choose one of four) but this hotel offers an inland tour that is fantastic and will take you to see the real El Nido. They also offer all four tours in one day for those that are short on time. However, we saved some of our money for the local tour guides around town. Would recommend and would stay again

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beijing
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

I spent several nights at this hotel and I ate most of my meals at their restaurant and I was always satisfied.
The staff is really nice (French and Philippino as well), they really care about your stay.
You can see how clean is the kitchen (they made a window), you don t wait to get to dishes (which is rare in Asia...) and the food is excellent!
The rooms are clean and cosy. You get the choice bewteen rooms in town if you prefer to have easy access to bars and restaurants or you can also sleep in their second place which is quiet and more isolated.
The bar can be animated but what can you do when you have so great homemade rhums for the thirsty customers! Anyway you will enjoy your evenings!Here you'll find a familial atmosphere and you'll meet people that are willing to share.
I recommend this place and I'll come back for sure :) Thank you La Salangane!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Salangane Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Salangane Hotel

Address: 33 Serena Street | Barangay Buena Suerte, El Nido, Palawan Island 5310, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Mimaropa > Palawan Province > Palawan Island > El Nido
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 57 B&Bs / Inns in El Nido
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — La Salangane Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Salangane offers a variety of accommodations according to your wishes and budget, either near the beach in the pretty village of El Nido or along the beautiful beach of Caalan where you will bathe in the calm, tranquil and rejuvenating atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and Despegar.com so you can book your La Salangane Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Salangane Hotel El Nido, Palawan Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Salangane Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.