We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Know before you book...” 2 of 5 stars
Review of El Nido Beach Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added El Nido Beach Hotel to your Saves list
El Nido Beach Hotel
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   El Nido, Palawan Island, Philippines   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 51 El Nido B&B and Inns
Montreal
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Know before you book...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2011

Cons:
- very expensive
- hard bed
- cold breakfast
- the beach infront is not the type you'd lay on, a bit dirty.

Pros:
- nice views
- clean hotel
- nice staff

For westerners, this is a 2 star equivalent.
For Filipinos, a bit expensive for what you can get- 3500Php per night deluxe room, view of the sea and Cadlao Island.

El Nido, one of the most beautiful seascapes in the world. The place will not disappoint. A very fragile paradise. Please keep this place safe and clean. When you go island hopping, bring a plastic bag for your trash and bring it back to town then dispose in a proper trash can. I love Palawan!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    37
    28
    13
    8
See reviews for
17
57
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Taunton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2011

My wife and I stayed at the El Nido Beach Hotel for 3 nights. We had a great time! Although relatively expensive (compared to the other accommodation in El Nido town), the hotel was very clean and our first floor room had a fantastic view. The room was small but very tastefully decorated, with a comfortable bed and a nice hot shower.

The staff were very helpful and arranged island hopping tours for us. The manager also took the time to tell us about the various sights, things to do, etc.

The location is also perfect, at the quiet end of the beach, but only a short walk to the bars and restaurants.

Only one negative comment and that was the breakfast. It was fine, but not quite what you would expect from a hotel of that cost.

Overall, I would highly recommend the El Nido Beach Hotel.

Room Tip: It's worth paying the extra for a room on the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Xiamen, China
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2011

Upon arrival at the El Nido Beach Hotel, we were disappointed.
By the time the sun started setting as we finished unpacking, we were won over - happy to be there!
What you need to know is that this is almost the best of what El Nido has available right now (if you can't afford the expensive resorts). If you compare it to El Nido, it is wonderful. If you compare it to other parts of the world, you could do much better.
We had booked a seaview with two beds, we had a seaview with one small double bed. The accomodating staff quickly found us a seaview room with two beds. Problem solved! Well, that room had the loudest air conditioner I've ever encountered. My earplugs didn't help. Once we told them about it (during the day - the reception closes up around 10pm), they got it fixed, but until then sleep was difficult. Next, the water heater didn't work. Again, they fixed it, but we had to wait around while they did and deal with a then-muddy, messy room from their work. (since they were working, the cleaning staff never cleaned the room until that evening after we asked).
The rooms are very basic, and oddly accessorized. Ours didn't have a drying rack. We laid our constantly wet & sandy clothes (from the wonderful excursions) on furniture for days, until we discovered there were racks available, we just didn't have one.
So, the staff fixed everything that went wrong, but a large amount of things went wrong while we were there!
The breakfast was delicious, except for the coffee. The pancakes are a must-have! But all of it, eggs, meats, fruits, etc., was fantastic!
The sunsets are spectacular. The beach right outside is a little narrow, busy, and dingy, but still a great place to stroll.
Their employees that run the tours are WONDERFUL! We had a great time taking their speed boat on excursions, with wonderful guides and mouth-watering meals prepared out on the islands.
Note: We did check out the alternatives in town, although we stayed put. The El Nido Garden Hotel seemed to be very nice - one step up from the El Nido Beach Hotel in price & amenities. There was a lot of work going on throughout El Nido to build, remodel, or expand hotels. I suspect there will be more great options soon!

Room Tip: You MUST get a sea view or there is no point in paying the price to stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2011 via mobile

We arrived to this hotel and was greatly surprised, for the good.
As most hotels in the Philippines they asked us at first to send a down payment through money transfer or paypal, when we had problem doing that, they agreed to save us the room anyway.
When we arrived, they gave us 500 php discount when we didn't even ask for one!. We got a room on the ground floor, facing the beautiful bay of el nido. The room is quite big, very clean. The service is great!! Every question answered with a smile, the owner is Korean and I think he is quite strict about the service.
All in all we stayed for four nights and loved every minute of it!!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2011 via mobile

Spent 4 night here, the rooms are nice and clean and location is excellent. We found it to be very overpriced in terms of el nido prices. The goin rate for a room in el nido would be at least half the price the beach hotel charges.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2011

Last June, I stayed 11 nights to El Nido Beach Hotel.
I had a room on the top floor of the building.
That place was very clean ! Sheets and towels was changed every day and the room had all the modern amneties : A/C, safety box, TV (only few channels), hot water, fridge and a very good matress. The room was not very big but confortable.
The view from the balcony was superbe and every evening I had the sunset just in front of my balcony.
Because I stayed a long time I had the room for a good price : 3000 PHP/night including breakfast.
Breakfast was good but you gonna have only instant coffee.
The hotel is located at the end of the beach but close enough to enjoy bars and restaurants. Because of that, the place is more quiet as if you stay in the center of the beach.
If you are diver, Palawan divers is just few steps from El Nido Beach hotel.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dragoer, Denmark
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2011

We arrived in an unstructured way to this hotel. One person in our travelling group had caught some kind of infection on the way out of El Nido, and we therefore arranged to stay and booked a room at the El Nido Beach Hotel.

When the hotel manager found out that a person in the group was ill, he came with several kinds of treatment, all founded in traditional Korean medicine. Our patient had a map of heated stones to lie on and another heat dedice to threat the belly. Special servings of nutricious and easily digestive food were prepared and the patient was ordinated warm footbaths and even got accupuncture in the thumbs!

Besides this extraordinary treatment, the hotel is super. Perfectly cleaned rooms with huge windows, which gave us an excellent view of the bay. The staff is very friendly and they did everything to comfort us. The best breakfast in the Philippines.

It is obvious, that in the El Nido Beach Hotel the owner is present, he cares for the well-being of all his guests and for the staff, and it generates a very warm and polite atmosphere. If we ever come to El Nido again we will surely stay at El Nido Beach Hotel. And we can give it our best recommendations. Thanks a lot to the manager and the smiling and helpful staff.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to El Nido Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Nido Beach Hotel

Address: El Nido, Palawan Island, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Mimaropa > Palawan Province > Palawan Island > El Nido
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 51 B&Bs / Inns in El Nido
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — El Nido Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda and Despegar.com so you can book your El Nido Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Nido Beach Hotel Palawan Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Nido Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.