We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, properly prepared.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Artcafe

Artcafe
Sirena St. | Buena Suerte, El Nido, Palawan Island 5313, Philippines
+63 920 902 6317
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 40 Restaurants in El Nido
Price range: $4 - $15
Cuisines: Filipino, Seafood, International, Pizza & Pasta
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Large groups, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Artcafe is a popular restaurant, opens the doors early morning to serve great breakfast with the best homemade bread, homemade Yogurt, Swiss Muesli etc. It's a perfect hangout place for the whole day and taste the best comfort food, book a tour, a flight and get some good quality information. At night the place lights up, live music begins and you can enjoy delicious international specialities and a great variation of salads that are grown on their own organic farm or sio a cocktail and meet people at the Bar. Solar powered Wifi all day - Book exchange - Foreign exchange - Travel & Tour booking desk - GSA for Flights El Nido to Manila - Van and Boat tickets - Lots of good information..
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great food, properly prepared.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

Loved it here , a bit of civilization. Great food, service, a decent cup of tea! Lots of info at the travel and tours counter, a money changing service( there are very few) a really well organized place. Congrats to whoever runs it.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

545 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    218
    189
    98
    24
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Princeton, New Jersey
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Overrated - good food but crowded, loud, overpriced, inattentive service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

My girlfriend and I ate here half a dozen times around New Years 2014. This is pretty much the hub of the tourist community in El Nido; it would be nearly impossible to travel to the town and not spend some time here.

I understand the draw, as there are some good things about this place. (1) Most of the food is pretty good (especially breakfast). (2) The menu is enormous, so you can come here several times and get something new every time. (3) *They accept credit cards.* This can be extremely important in a town half a day's drive from the nearest ATM. (In fact, this last reason was why we ended up eating here a lot at the end of our trip.)

But pretty much everything else about the restaurant is disappointing. (1) Its always crowded and loud. (2) It can be very difficult to get the attention of the waitresses, and they always seem so morose when you do. (3) Since the restaurant is surrounded by other buildings, there's no special view. (4) The wifi was *always* broken (we were in El Nido for nearly two weeks and it did not work once). (5) The prices seem a step above comparable restaurants in town. (6) The baked goods are really disappointing; don't order them.

You will certainly find yourself here on any trip to El Nido, as well you should, but there are better options in town.... unless you are low on cash.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nha Trang, Vietnam
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

Very nice restaurant. We had brekky there a few days. Always good service. Wine by the glass in the evening, overlooking the beach. Highly recommended.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasig, Philippines
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Go early to get the best seats”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

I had to go to the place at 7pm because the waiters said the place gets packed by that time, especially when there's a live band. True enough, by 730, there was hardly an available seat in the house.

Ambiance was great, very nice decor. Food was not spectacular but not bad either. The tomato pesto pasta was good, and though they say it is for one person, two people can easily share the one serving. Drinks are pretty expensive, almost approximating Manila prices.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Variable food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

We had lunch here, my boyfriend the fish and chips, me the tomato pesto spaghetti. The fish and chips was good, the spaghetti was terrible. They served it swimming in water, they obviously hadn't drained the spaghetti at all. I poured off a whole bowl of water. The pesto was horrible. I even heard the waitress tell the kitchen staff she wasn't happy with all the water I poured off it, but no hint of a discount or refund. To add to the ambiance one of the waitresses was in tears and still being made to stand out serving people. We found the tour bookings staff quite rude and generally stuck up, I think all the positive reviews went to their heads, this place really isn't that great. My advice: eat at Altrove, it's he'd and shoulders above this place.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Artcafe also viewed

El Nido, Palawan Island
El Nido, Palawan Island
 

Been to Artcafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Artcafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.