We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb location, more electricity needed” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Dolarog Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Dolarog Beach Resort to your Saves list
Dolarog Beach Resort
El Nido, Palawan Island 5313 , Philippines   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 11 Hotels in El Nido
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Superb location, more electricity needed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2012

We spent four nights at Dolarog in December. I wouldn't describe the resort as luxurious, but it's certainly comfortable. The rooms were spacious and clean, and well-maintained. The staff were really friendly and helpful. We also enjoyed the meals: they were tasty and there was plenty to eat. OK, there was no choice at dinner time, but at least the food came quickly. In many other resorts in the Philippines, you often wait ages after you order.

As for the location: superb! It's on its own private beach, with lots of palm trees (but beware of falling coconuts!). El Nido must be one of the loveliest spots in the Philippines, and from Dolarog you get great views of the sea, islands and sunset. The island-hopping included in the room rate means you can enjoy all this up-close each day. We really enjoyed this, although the snorkelling in El Nido is pretty so-so compared to some other parts of the country.

The cost was quite high. But then again, most Philippine resorts are expensive at peak holiday times and Dolarog was a lot less than we were quoted for the more famous high-end resorts in El Nido or Coron. For me, the main problem was the lack of electricity, except in the evenings. This is justified by Dolarog calling itself an eco-resort, but personally it was just too hot to have a good night's sleep even though this was not the hottest season.

Two tips if you're planning to visit: first: you can get to Dolarog (and the rest of El Nido) easily by road from Puerto Princesa. It only takes four hours, including a stop for lunch, and the resort can book the minibus for you. I think that's a lot easier than some of the other options, as you can book a scheduled flight from Manila to Puerto Princesa and back. Second: the mosquitoes are a big problem in El Nido. Go prepared, with repellant.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    27
    16
    19
    27
See reviews for
13
72
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012

We agree somewhat with Adellapedro’s review, but do have some other points to make.

To summarise:

Pros: Beautiful location & views, Rooms clean, Bathroom modern & hot shower, Delicious 3 course dinners and Fantastic service from the Dutch couple

Cons: Expensive (charged per person), Electricity on only 6pm-midnight, Extra charges for best island hopping tour, Owner rude & greedy, Swimming pool was salt water & not very clean, Snorkel gear mostly broken, Seclusion at times as you could not visit El Nido very freely and were encouraged not to.


Firstly, to stay at Dolarog it was expensive, they charge per person rather than per room.
However, we were happy to pay the price as our email correspondence promised us various things which we were pleased were included (outlined below).

The location was stunning, beautiful sunsets and the island hopping was fantastic. The resort is very secluded, you have to take a 5 min tricycle ride from El Nido to Corong Corong beach then a 30 min boat trip to the resort.

We found the food to be very good, Breakfasts were lovely – good choices, Lunches were ok – Salads very nice, Sandwiches quite dry, Dinners were delicious – 3 course meals with plenty of variety.

The Rooms were very clean and serviced daily, the bathroom was modern and we always got a hot shower.

In emails prior to arriving, it was stated that all of the Island hopping trips were included in our room rate but on arrival we were told the Hidden Beach/Secret Beach trip (the best one) would cost an extra 800 pesos due to a fuel surcharge. This angered us as we had already paid an awful lot of money to stay at the resort and were not told of this surcharge in the emails. Other guests felt the same way about this.

We were also told prior to arrival that there would be electricity from 6pm to 6am but when we arrived this changed to 6pm to 12midnight. Having electricity meant a lot to us as we found it very very hot at night and extremely hard to sleep without a fan.
We asked the staff for a mosquito net and left the windows open at night. We also had to put wet towels on ourselves to keep cool and get some sleep!

Our dinner on our very last night was sadly spoilt by the Italian owners’ ludicrous ranting to his staff. It was so loud that all the guests heard and everyone was very uncomfortable.
To the owner – that was extremely unprofessional and a disgusting way to treat your staff.

If it wasn’t for the Dutch couple that appeared to be managing the place, we don’t know how it could possibly run at all. They were fantastic help to us through various issues and communication breakdowns and were always so friendly. The Filipino staff were also very friendly.

Based on this experience, we would not stay at Dolarog Beach Resort again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012

First of all, I would like to say that for 4 nights, we have paid 36900 pesos for a deluxe room, i.e. 874USD. This include a 10% rebate because we came with 12 friends.

All the recent bad comments are 100% accurate:
- Unprofessional scarce staff
- The owner don't say anything to you, don't welcome you, don't ask you if you are happy. He just hangs around all day doing nothing and nothing matters to him. He just address you to a so-called manager if you have a problem
- No AC/fan when needed because as the electricity runs just a few hours per day
- Not hot water for our whole stay
- The food is at most OK but is scarce
- The mineral water is never cold.
- Falling coconuts are everywhere and extremely dangerous
- Swimming pool is dirty and filled with salted water

I would like to add that towels all have dirty brown/red stains.

After a week spent at El Rio y Mar in Coron Island, I cant describe our disappointment. Dolarog was as expensive but with such bad services and facilities.

Great view and rather spacious rooms though. Island hopping also included.

You can definetely find much better deals. If it was not for our friends who wanted for some reasons to go there, we would rather have avoided to cover for the owner's retirement allowance through its high margin overpriced rooms.

AVOID IT

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2012

If you are after a relaxing staying in a secluded paradise...this is the place for you! The resort is only reachable by boat but you can also walk (about 1h) to El Nido city...very nice walk on a very long beach stretch. We did it once and only met local kids from the fishing villages.
The right place to recharge from every day stress...each cottage (very clean and with beautiful views...at least ours) has their own patio outside, including seating area and a hammock. Loved it!
I honestly didn't expected such a nice place, considering that prices in El Nido are among the highest in the Philippines.
you will really feel like a 'survivor' in this place..away from the flood of tourists typicalnof El Nido.
We also spent a few days in Miniloc El Nido Resorts...which was a different experience. Also beautiful but 3 times more expensive of Miniloc and you will loose the 'survivor' atmosphere. Great though for island hopping & water sports & 5 stars experience.
So it really depends on what you are after.
I'd definitely go back to Dolarog...and hopefully by then they'd have fixed the problem with the falling coconuts & food (the only 2 points I agree with the review before mine)
Enjoy El Nido! I'm sure that whatever place you'll decide to stay you won't be disappointed by the Bacuit Archipelago, the beauty of this place and the kidness of the Philippino people.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 11 and it was very nice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lloret de Mar, Spain
2 reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

Before we booked, we had read the comments on tripadvisor. The last comments were very possitive, so we've decided to go to Dolarog resort.
BUT what a disappointment!
You must pay a lot for a room. And what you've got?
-unprofessional staff, nothing seems to be organised.
-nobody was friendly or helpful, also not the boatman for islandhopping (once we were going with a boat that Dolarog hired for us and those boatmen were friendly and helpful)
-the owner don't say anything to you, he just hanging around and nothing matters to him.
-nearly no AC/fan, because the electricity runs just a few hours per day (only until 11 pm, not during the night, also not when it is very hot and it was very hot!)
-the food was not good at all, f.e. the grilled fish was very dry and tasteless, beefsteak was not tender.
-the sandwiches, which you take with you during the islandhopping, were too dry anymore.
-the mineral water was not cold.
-also for 2 days we didn't have hot water (shower), it didn't work.
In all those days we didn't noticed the dutch couple (new management?).
If we asked to the staff where they are, she only replied that they don't work there anymore.
The only good thing was the view and the rooms.
The view is amazing. The rooms are clean and spacious.
Even the swimming-pool was dirty.
It's a 5-stars payement for a 1-star resort.
One advise; AVOID it!
There are much more very good resorts with lower prices and a lot of more good and friendly services.
Beware of the falling coconuts!
Ask for a mosquito-net, during the night there are a lot of them! (IF you go)

Room Tip: The rooms in the garden have not a nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint-Denis, France
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2012

We spent 4 nights at Dolarog. We had not made any booking in advance. Don't expect to negotiate any discount, prices are fixed even though you arrive last minute.
There is not that much bungalows on the resort, so you have the feeling to be quite alone.
If you look for quietness and relaxing moment, this place is for you.
Food is good and you can have diner in front of the see, amazing experience.
A new manager arrived mid-Jan 2012 (coiple of dutch) and they are al lot in the recent improvements made to the resort (compare old comments with recent comments, there is huge difference!) To be improved : The snorkelling gear is not good enough. I would definitely recommend this resort, it's far less expensive than Miniloc resort and comparable.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Varsity Lakes, Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2012

We stayed for 3 nights at Dolarog Beach Resort. It is about half an hour from El Nido by boat and there is a pick-up service organized by the resort.

The management couple (from the Netherlands) are very friendly and sociable and will try their utmost to take care of your needs.

Although it is a very quiet place, there are lot of activities:
- Kayaking
- Waterskiing
- Snorkling
- Island-Hopping (There is one trip per day included).

We loved the place at spent most of our time just relaxing and enjoying the beautiful weather and surroundings.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Dolarog Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dolarog Beach Resort

Address: El Nido, Palawan Island 5313 , Philippines
Location: Philippines > Mimaropa > Palawan Province > Palawan Island > El Nido
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in El Nido
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Dolarog Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dolarog Beach Hotel El Nido
Dolarog Beach Resort El Nido, Palawan Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dolarog Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.