We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An tropical island resort complex far from the maddening crowd.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of El Nido Resorts Apulit Island

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added El Nido Resorts Apulit Island to your Saves list
El Nido Resorts Apulit Island
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Apulit Island | Taytay, Palawan Island, Philippines (Formerly Apulit Island Resort)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 92 Hotels in Palawan Island
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“An tropical island resort complex far from the maddening crowd.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013 via mobile

It takes a while to get to Apulit. A prop flight from Manila to El Nido, a two and half hour drive to Taytay over broken roads, and an one hour boat ride to the resort using 2 boats. After this hassle, we were welcomed by the singing staff with some ginger tea and shown to our stand alone bungalow, reaching out on stilts into the sea. The room is comfortable and the terrace has a great view over the craggy island studded bay. The bathrooms are however too small for a luxury hotel. Another criticism was the food. Though plentiful and with variety, it did not reach a gourmet standard.
On the plus side, the young staff are eager to help and very friendly. service is prompt and excellent. As we arrived during typhoon season, a lot of activities had to be cancelled, but the island hopping excursion was delightful combining snorkeling and sand beach sites. A myriad of other activities are available including diving and rappelling. Although not at the top of the scale for luxuries, it is a delightfully relaxing place in a paradisiacal setting.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    215
    59
    20
    5
    2
See reviews for
60
164
6
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Came over here for three days just after New Years and had an amazing stay. The Resort was gorgeous, food was absolutely amazing. Rooms were nIcely made up, and coming in each evening to a story left on the pillow was very cool. Went out on a snorkelling trip with the resort and did some of the best snorkelling I've ever done. Well informed guide, beautiful crystal water. Loved the entire stay

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

We stayed here as part of a group of 4 just after New Years with the aim of relaxing before our flight home and have to say it was perfect.

The transfer via private plane, jeep, and boat went smoothly and was well organised. The luggage restriction on the plane is an unavoidable annoyance but wasn't too much of an issue. I wouldn't like to do the boat transfer in rough whether though as when the wind gets up it's really choppy out there.

The rooms were spacious and very clean. We stayed as a group in the deluxe cottages which are a little round the corner from the main beach which afforded us a great view of the sunset and we had access to the water which the other 2 person rooms do not. the only let down was that the 2 downstairs beds are actually the sofa as well which is a little annoying. Both my partner and i also got extremely bad throat infections on our last day which we believe was the result of the air conditioner not being clean as it was blasting straight on to the bed the whole time.

We found the food to be excelent, esspecially the seafood which they cook on the Bbq for you right then and there. They also arranged dinner on the beach for one of the nights which was fantastic.

The pool at this place is absolutely stunning, right on the beach with the palm trees! The cocktails were a little expensive but considering the isolation that's not surprising.

We only stayed for a couple of nights but thoroughly enjoyed ourselves and would love to go back. I can highly recommend the sailing excursion offered also!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freetown, Sierra Leone
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Stayed in the resort for 3 nights in mid August. Like others have stated it was a bit of a travel to get to the resort and since we were travelling in August, I was also worried about possible flight cancellations due to bad weather. Fortunately nothing of that sort happened and the transfers worked like clockwork. We took the early morning ITI flight at 7 am, which left on time. Upon arrival in El Nido airport, had to wait for about 30 – 45 minutes (we were waiting for another couple transferring from Miniloc) then boarded a tired looking van on a 2 hr ride to Taytay. The road is being rehabilitated so I assume the ride will be much smoother and faster once the rehabilitation is complete. After arriving in Taytay jetty, we were transferred to a traditional boat for a 45 minutes ride to the resort. When we came close to the resort, the sea got a bit rough and it started raining so we had to transfer to a speedboat in order to get close to the resort pier. Finally we arrived about 12.30 in the afternoon to dancing and singing from the hotel staff.

We stayed at the loft cottage that had direct access to the sea through descending stairs. However few of those steps are really slippery and I almost slipped and fell, but somehow managed to steady myself at the last minute thus narrowly avoiding a potentially bad accident. This is something the management really needs to pay attention to. However it was really a nice experience to see baby sharks swimming from your room balcony. Also they have free wi fi around the restaurant area, it would have been nice if that was extended throughout the resort.

I was personally very happy with the food at the resort, as there was plenty of fresh seafood available. However, my wife who is a strict vegetarian had very limited choices, although the chef did try to make some special vegetarian dishes/soup for her. Probably due to lack of the number of people staying there, one night we had 4 course meal instead of the normal buffet which we found to be way better than the buffet.

We also had private dinner in one of the beaches, which was fantastic. The other thing that makes this resort really special is the service of the staff. Although the resident manager (who spoke to us only during check in and check out), never once during our stay came and spoke to us, which we found very strange. The resort also has plenty of activities and we really enjoyed the island hopping, cave exploring and snorkeling (some of the best we have ever done.) The staff/guides accompanying us on these trips were absolutely wonderful. We couldn’t try the diving as they were fully booked, but tried their massage, which we found to be very good.

So in conclusion, although there were some minor negatives, overall we did really enjoy the stay in Apulit and the stunning scenery and would highly recommend the place for anyone looking for a relaxing holiday in a beautiful island.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

I returned to the Philippines for a good family reunion just a week ago. My brother booked us all at the Apulit Island. It was the most awesome vacation. A real getaway from the hustles and bustles of life. The islands were kept natural and we appreciated how the whole place was into eco-friendliness. If you want real fun for the family, its the place to go. The rooms were big (we shared a suite), chefs were excellent. We had private lunches in another island and private dinners with everything from appetizers to deserts prepared for us (we just have to show up). Activities is not a problem. Snorkled everyday in different areas, kayaking, swimming at the beach or their outdoor pool, hiking and trekking and repelling, and cave exploring. Their staff were very well trained and and service oriented. Special thanks to our guide Clark (who hiked with me and took my family almost everywhere), Mark (who took us repelling and snorkling), Angel who arranged for all our activities, Diver Johann for showing us the basics in diving and to Gloria and Alen for serving our meals extra special and to the rest of the staff at Apulit Islands Resort. We would certainly return there on our visit back to the Philippines.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

August 13-16, 2013

After having a wonderful time at El NIdo, Miniloc for 2 days, we continue our adventure at EL NIdo, Apulit (previously Club Noah Isabelle). The rain bid us farewell going to the main island, back to Lio Airport, El Nido (45 minutes boat ride).

The staff at Miniloc briefed us thoughroughly about the 2 hours off-road ride we were about to experience from Lio AIrport. The minivan already stand by to take us to Apulit with breathtaking view in a not so smooth road, we arrived at Tay tay pier, then transfer by boat to Apulit (another 45 minutes).

Apulit is a much bigger El Nido resort compare to Miniloc. Much better for couple and family with older children. Bigger beach, nice pool to chill, a walk to the secluded west beach or just chill at the bar, snorkling around the area or just by your room, kayaking by the beack area....anything you wanna do in just a blink away.

Again, we chose the water cottage. The room was not big, but eanough and cozy. NO TV guys! So perfect for me and my husband! The balcony was amazing, you can just practically jump over the balcony and snorkle. You can see coral baby sharks below, parrots fish and we saw blue spots stingray too!

If I have to choose, I love Apulit much better. Coz it has more space to explore, more activity to do anytime of the day, the island hoping activity to the extraordinary secluded beaches and islands....and the weather is finally so friendly with us!!!

Room Tip: The Right wing was water cottage for couple. The West Wing was for group/family. THey dont have gard...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I stayed 4D 3N on very beautiful and exclusive resort island. Despite the strong waves and wind of September, our stay here was nothing short of magnificent.

The resort has abundant of activities from snorkeling, island hoping to trekking on the island. The staff are well trained to make the activities safe yet thrilling. I managed to do rappelling down a 70m cliff and had a adventurous ride on hobbie cat with the monsoon wind pushing the craft at neck breaking speeds.The snorkeling around the island and sister island were simply breathtaking and is one of THE BEST experience we had. From green sea turtle to The spotted Eagle ray, it was nothing short of a visual spectacle. The underwater corals were bustling with richness of a multitude of exotic fishes, shrimp and marine life.

The early morning light blue sea under our water cottage was nothing short of breathtaking. The interior of the cottage though small was cosy. It was kept and maintained very well indeed. There is no tv sets thus it's just gentle waves that Keeps you well occupied. As you wake up to these waves, you wld be greeted by baby black tip sharks no longer than your forearm. It was honestly a delightful experience to see them swimming nonchantly from the comfort of our balcony.

Last but definitely not the least!!! The staff: very well mannered and warm. They took the liberty to greet us by name and make us feel at home. Truly professional be it at the activities session, front desk, bar or buffet area. They are polite and efficient in the service to the guest. A resort of of such elegance and beauty was made even more special and memorable by the wonderful staff. A special mentioned of names is in order here for Angel, Mario, Arjun , Eddie and Oliver, who went that extra mile to make our experience in Apulit, El Nido entrenched in our memories.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to El Nido Resorts Apulit Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Nido Resorts Apulit Island

Address: Apulit Island | Taytay, Palawan Island, Philippines (Formerly Apulit Island Resort)
Location: Philippines > Mimaropa > Palawan Province > Palawan Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Palawan Island
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Palawan Island
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Palawan Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — El Nido Resorts Apulit Island 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Apulit Island Resort is nestled within a pristine cove with a backdrop of sheer limestone cliffs. Apulit offers a wide expanse of white-sand beach lined with coconut trees. It has 50 cottages built over the water in traditional architecture mixed with contemporary design. Apulit Island Resort is part of the El Nido Resorts group of eco-island resorts. It is located in Taytay, northeastern part of Palawan. It takes an hour flight from Manila to El Nido, and an hour and a half van ride, or a 4-hour land trip from Puerto Princesa City (Palawan's Capital City). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Splendia, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your El Nido Resorts Apulit Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apulit Island Hotel Palawan
Club Noah Isabelle
Hotel Noah Isabelle
Resort Noah Isabelle

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Nido Resorts Apulit Island, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.